We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Imperial
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station(Brighton)(Great Value!)
$104
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Granville Hotel(Brighton)(Great Value!)
$127
$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$135
$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront(Brighton)(Great Value!)
$157
$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$133
$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel du Vin(Brighton)
$197
$177
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
My Brighton(Brighton)(Great Value!)
$140
$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$126
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$70
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (615)
Filter reviews
615 results
Traveler rating
114
215
133
79
74
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
215
133
79
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssingle roombit datedstreet parkingfour poster bedroom was largebank holidayenjoyable staycentral brightontown centresea viewa lovely stayseafront
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
456 - 461 of 615 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Me and my Husband decided to book a last minute brake in Brighon and stumbled upon The Imperial on Booking.com.
It was a bed and breakfast deal two days /two night in which one would jump at. (bargain).
We arrived after 5pm and felt very welcoming with the two Ladies at Reception desk. Room was very clean with a see view and on the 3rd Floor.
After the long flight we needed a drink. We didn't know the Hotel had a Bar and yet it was a God send. We was entertained on a basis that i had tears in my eyes from the abnormal bar man. Breakfast was very good and even at 10am.
We explored Brighton and had a wonderful time. (Brighton is the place to be for a great escape)
Overal the Hotel and Brighton was superb.We will be back again very soon.


Kristina

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albertas12_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

A great review thank you so much. The Imperial has a great deal to offer and with several great family rooms, next time why not bring the kids too?!

Renewed thanks for your custom and kind words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

If you are looking forward to enjoying your weekend away or spend a night and relax, Imperial Hotel is NOT a place for you!!
Awful service and rude staff, is just the one issue out of a million.
The worst presentation. Not even going to mention the hygiene factors!!
Not worth £10... SAVE THE MONEY.. SLEEP ON THE BEACH!

If you have a complaint, do not expect anyone to care..

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dmitry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

We have delayed posting a response to this review which we view as disingenuous and cannot identify with any guest fitting this description. Our staff and the Imperial, being the Grande Dame of First Avenue, really do their best and it is unacceptable to have these genuine and thoughtful endeavours undermined in this way

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Without doubt an experience not to be repeated...On arrival welcome was superb and off I went to my room...Dropped my stuff off and headed back into the centre of Brighton...Which by the way is a 20 min walk or a £7.00 cab fare each way,Centre of Brighton this is not despite being told different on the phone.

My room in a nutshell stank of smoke,Furniture was covered in nicotine it was vile although Credit where due the room spotless.I finally got moved after some discussion and this room slightly better but like the rest of the hotel very outdated and In need of some money being spent on it.

Breakfast save your £7.95 eat elsewhere it was not great and you can get better and cheaper elsewhere..In adding the Hardcore House Music quiet Loud on Sunday morning at breakfast may wanna rethink that seeing the average age was 40+

On leaving the receptionist was rude to be blunt.

Avoid this hotel it is miles from Brighton Outdated and Breakfast bland and is being polite

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FatboyMRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

We have struggled to identify with much of this review and given the longstanding and stringent no smoking policy maintained throughout the hotel we do not feel any further comment is necessary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Room acceptable but breafast service is a farce, Ran out of the basics and then when asked to provide them wanted to make it seem as if it was the customers fault for being there. Save your money and eat out in nice cafe.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank BobCYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Something of a mixed review and while we are sorry that the guest felt breakfast did not pass muster, by the same token it has not proven easy to identify the specific situation being described

Even so we of course appreciate the custom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights during the Brighton Festival. The hotel is in a good location, near to the town centre but far away enough to be quiet and peaceful at all hours, and just round the corner from the beach. The staff are also very helpful - we were early for check-in and able to leave our bags in a room behind the front desk, then when we didn't return til late that night we got our bags easily and checked in quickly with the night porter.

I went straight to bed and had a very comfortable first night's sleep. When I woke up the next morning however, in the light of day I noticed several things that weren't quite right with the room (no. 309). The wallpaper was ripped and heavily stained alongside the bed, the sheets were torn and bloodstained(!!!), and the toilet seat came off in my hand when I went to lift the lid. Extremely off-putting as I immediately felt little care had been taken to make sure the room was fit for a paying guest. I reported the problems to reception on my way out that morning, and when I returned the same night the sheets had been changed and the toilet seat fixed. A bad experience for a first night though. And I can't understand why someone doesn't just take some scissors to the wallpaper to tidy it up - see picture.

A few other things came to light during the stay. The same cup, saucer and spoon were left in my room for the whole stay; I won't go into how I worked this out as it's pretty lengthy, or what I'm guessing the room staff did to 'clean' it each time between me using it and the previous/next room occupants... but clean crockery and cutlery is a basic thing which should be attended to for reasons of hygiene (got a bit hyped on hygiene after what happened with the sheets but still). The internet access was very poor and I didn't get 15 minutes free as advertised (it's one free login - which I used for about 2 minutes - didn't get the rest of the 15 minutes' worth), not great as I was there on business and really needed to work on emails. Could've gone to Starbucks I guess but had paid £5 and just couldn't get a signal most of the time. While I was in reception 3 separate parties of people complained that they received parking fines because the night staff had written out incorrect permits (one reading '2014'), yes they should've checked thoroughly themselves before parking but it seems to be a recurring problem there. And finally - a guest had vomited several times on the main stairs leading up from reception on Saturday night, and by check-out on Sunday at 11am this had still not been cleaned up. The receptionists seemed weary of receiving complaints about all these things, as if they happen all the time - a bit more care and attention would make guests (and probably the receptionists!) feel much more comfortable.

I wouldn't stay here again until all the rooms have been brought up to standard (it sounds from other reviews like there are some nice ones, which is why I decided to book in) and there's a better level of cleanliness and hygiene. I'm not a picky traveller, and haven't written a TripAdvisor review before, but I was seriously put off by the state of my room and lack of attention to basic details. A shame as the location is great and it could be a really lovely traditional sea-front hotel for visitors.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingJB_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Something of a mixed review though we were pleased we were able to provide this guest with three nights accommodation at an extremely competitive price. Have investigated matters fully, we are at a loss concerning the issues around cleanliness as we have a longstanding, hardworking and committed housekeeping team who take serious pride in their work. Similarly our laundry company operates to the highest standards and cannot identify with the situation described - indeed we and they are keen to see guest linen rejected if there are any issues whatsoever when we make up the rooms. Where a guest causes a problem in the common parts of the hotel through sickness or otherwise, of course it is resolved immediately

Parking in the City can be an emotive issue and as responsible hoteliers we make it clear to all guests that they must take time to understand the Council's rules if they choose to park on-street. We do however offer off-street parking on a first come first served basis which is a great alternative. That said it is not at all clear on what basis the reviewer feels there is a "recurring problem" or that they even had a car

We have never made any bones about the Imperial being the subject of an ongoing refurbishment programme which we very much view as a labour of love. She remains the Grande Dame of First Avenue and has given a great deal over the years and has so much more to offer

Naturally we are delighted that you found so many positive aspects of your stay and we appreciate your custom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews