We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“functional - but good cooked breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Imperial
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Leatherhead, Surrey
Level Contributor
156 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“functional - but good cooked breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

stayed over night on a weekend for a friends do. I had stayed before at the Imperial so knew what the place had to offer. The stay was £35 , hotel is lean but a little tired.My room was on the 4th floor, with lift access. and if you craned you neck a litlle you had see views. The room was warm and bed comfy. The only criticism would be the v small ensuite shower / WC. However I have paid more for a room in Brighton without ensuite ( WC & Shower down a hall) so good value for money.
The hotel is approx 15 mins walk along the sea front to WEest strett / the lanes area - or buses from the end of the street.
I parked in the street outside - got there at 1740 so managed to find pay parking for £2 from 6 to 8 pm that gives you parking to 9am the next day.
Overall value for money, clean and you do not have to pay the ridiculaous parking costs a little clloser in to the center of Brighton. My 4 star rating is based on the value for money

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
A well-balanced review thank you. The Imperial offers a combination of a good location and value for money and with the improvements we have planned, we should be able to offer our guests even more

Your custom is much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again before too long
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    187
    119
    72
    65
See reviews for
62
190
79
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
548 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Our stay at this hotel was very nice, very relaxing, and we really enjoyed it, little pricey, but nice all the same, parking as usual is a bit hit and miss, but ideal location to get around and about, some lovely coffee shops around too.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malc1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for this review and your custom. We are very much looking forward to seeing you again when next "down South" and delighted you enjoyed your stay and soaked up the many great things about Hove and our City

Renewed thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambodia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Low cost hotel within a 20 minute walk of the Lanes. Nice area with lots of restaurants and coffee shops close by. It pays to shop around for price. The single rooms are very narrow as the building is a conversion and some of the facilities need upgrading. The front desk is friendly and helpful. Once got an upgrade to a double which was comfortable and lots of space

Room Tip: Single rooms at the front are bright but small. Rear Rooms are dingy and may be bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Many thanks for your positive review and taking the time and trouble to write. We aim to offer value for money and are currently looking to re-configure some of our single rooms into family suites with the adjoining double. The first one should happen during March and if successful with our guests, we will look to convert more

The Imperial has a great location and Brighton & Hove is usually buzzing with energy

Hopefully we will see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my partner for one night, Saturday 16th Feb 2013.

There are quite a few negative reviews on this website so I was expecting the worst, to be honest - and it wasn't quite as bad as expected.

I booked this hotel as I only wanted to stay in the area for one night, and 90% of the hotels/B&Bs want you to stay two nights over the weekend. It was also on budget, although I believe slightly more expensive than usual (I paid £116 for a double with breakfast - although it was the weekend after Valentines, the Half Marathon was on and so was a Tattoo Convention further up the road).

Pros:
Right near the seafront, room (319 I think) was quite spacious and we actually had a partial sea view.
The breakfast was included in my room price and although I wasn't quite hungry enough to really make the most of it (we went out for a meal the night before), I think it was good compared to other hotel breakfasts I have had.
The room was clean.
Although the floors are creaky (it is in a Georgian building so it was not unexpected), I slept well (although that may have been the wine I had at dinner!)

Cons:
Could really do with a makeover as it looks rather tired - especially the outside (I have stayed in neater looking hostels!) - missing tiles, cracked steps and a ancient looking stair lift (and I thought weirdly, a hairdressers taking up part of the hotel frontage!).
On arrival, the receptionist seemed to get me confused with another guest with the same surname (who had a definitely male first name - I am most certainly female!) and we were then told we could not check in until after 15.00, well after the after the advertised 14.00 which I thought was quite late anyway. I have a sneaking suspicion this is because the room they had reserved for us was a twin rather than a double and on seeing myself and my partner, they realised they would have to move the beds together (we discovered the quite uncomfortable join in the middle of the bed when we retired later that night!). If this was the case, I wish they would have just told us rather than be secretive about it.
The shower in the room was barely adequate to be honest - drips of lukewarm water from a showerhead attached straight to the taps. They could really do with fitting some power showers.
Upon checking out, the man on reception was on the phone and did not even deign to acknowledge me when I handed him my key, which I found rather rude and unprofessional.

Basically, the hotel was fine for us as we stayed one night and we were out and about for most of the day/night. I would not recommend it for anyone staying for more than 2 nights. Room was worth more like £60 a night, at £116 it wasn't worth the money so I don't think I will return. Although clean, It sorely needs a refurb and some staff training.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We apprecaite such a detailed and candid review, thank you and take considerable comfort that, overall, you enjoyed your stay. Weekend accommodation in Brighton & Hove is usually at a premium particularly with two big events on. We understand the tattoo convention was great fun and something completely different - even I was tempted!

The maintenance issues you highlight about your room are being addressed. As to the hotel in general, we have an exciting program planned with the entrance and front terrace being top of the list. Internally too there is work to do and being the "grand dame" of First Avenue the Imperial needs constant love and attention to ensure she ages well and keeps giving. We are also tackling the training issues you highlight regarding our newer receptionists so that they make the right first and last impression - that is so important

Hopefully we will see you again when you next visit the City and renewed thanks for both your custom and feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The imperial is a nice clean hotel with very friendly and helpful staff, We would most definitely stay here again.
The staff really go out of their way to help you, the rooms are very clean and comfortable and the buffet breakfast is a must..
This hotel caters for one night stays unlike a lot of hotels who have a minimum 2 night stay.
There is plenty of parking, the hotel offers a permit for 6 pounds a day which is reasonable,
There is a stair lift from roadside to reception and a lift inside the hotel.
I would most definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bronco_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for such a positive review - just what the doctor ordered and a real tonic for our staff who do their best to welcome our guests. Hopefully the London to Brighton run will see you back with us before too long! Renewed thanks for your kindness and support
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

There was a group of 12 of us as we were celebrating a friends birthday, we had booked for 2 nights. The lift cannot hold any more than 1 person and 1 suitcase very squashed, when you do get out of the lift we had to lug our cases up 4 steps then down 4 steps through a fire door to get to our rooms, the staff did not offer to help. The rooms are awuful, wallpaper coming off the walls, floor boards creek all the time, shower was useless and you have to be very nimble to get in the bath very tight fit the shower screen hits the sink, cracked tiles on the floor makes the place feel dirty. Very nervous that I might catch something from the bed. One of our party had to change their room as soon as they got there because of the smell of rotting food. Overall very very disappointed , would never go there again or recommend it to anybody. Why should you pay to park at a hotel when you have paid to stay there.

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanA2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Clearly something of a mixed review and while we appreciate all guest feedback some additional clarification may help here, especially concerning key health and safety issues such as the lift where strict guidelines are in force by both our service provider and insurer

The Imperial being the "grand dame" of First Avenue is a wonderful old building but inevitably ongoing maintenance and sympathetic renovation will be required. The cleanliness of our rooms remain of paramount importance and while saddened by your remarks, our head housekeeper simply cannot identifiy with them, more so as we have an excellent relationship with our laundry company which operate to the highest standards

We offer off-street parking as an alternative to paying £6 per day to street park under the Council scheme - a two night stay would have meant your paying £12 so we would imagine you made a choice to pay an additional £3 for the convenience, comfort and security of using our hard standing. Naturally we were pleased we could support you in this regard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We booked this hotel as a last minute.....the hotel is very tired looking from both inside and out. The reception staff were friendly, although we got hit with a £15 charge to park on the hotel premises, although we had paid £65 for a room!

The room was small, smelly and very old. The shower was awful and water was spurting from everywhere in the hose other than the shower head!

I must say, it was very disappointing, and I will never return....I thank god we didn't book breakfast also....

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mismisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for this review; naturally we were pleased to be able to help you last minute. The Imperial has much to offer but as with any old building, maintenance issues are always to the fore and remain a priority for us

We offer our guests off street parking as an alternative to using the street where permits cost £6 so we imagine you chose our hard standing for a variety of reasons. We hope too that you would have enjoyed breakfast where our recenlty appointed chef is making a name for himself
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
Langfords Hotel
Langfords Hotel
#31 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#21 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Courtlands Hotel
The Courtlands Hotel
#33 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Brighton Hotel
The Brighton Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
0.7 mi away
Britannia Study Hotel
Britannia Study Hotel
#22 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.7 mi away
West Beach Hotel
West Beach Hotel
#32 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial

Property: Imperial
Address: First Avenue, Brighton BN3 2GU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel in Brighton & Hove mixes tradition and function with a light, fresh airiness. Its ideal position – at the end of the broadest of avenues – with its uncluttered outlook by the sea, is situated alongside Hove Promenade and The Lawns. This functional, exceptionally good value hotel is of the Regency period; its high ceilings and spacious bar and lounge are noticeable, as is its still, calm ambiance. The Imperial provides an excellent level of customer service and its conference facilities, coupled with a smart bar and an attractive restaurant, make it an equally popular venue for a variety of functions. Ample Parking is available on the street and surrounding areas using our low cost residential permit scheme at just £6.00 per day. We also offer spaces on a 'first come first served basis' on our hard standing area at £15 per day. The Imperial Hotel is the perfect choice whether you are visiting for pleasure or business! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing