We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remember You Get what You Pay For”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Courtlands Hotel
Ranked #33 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed July 25, 2014

This was a last minute booking at what can only be described as a budget Hotel. The place was clean and the staff excellent, the hotel could do with a lot of TLC and a coat of paint would make a huge difference. Location was good away from all the noise and bustle, yet close enough to restaurants, bars etc;

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RicRicardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

We appreciate your choosing Courtlands on your trip away from the West Country

Equally we are truly appreciative of your candid and no nonsense review, especially from such a prolific and thoughtful TripAdvisor contributor

We are under no allusions about the opportunity the hotel presents and, as well as the ongoing maintenance works, we now have a clear 'route-map' to complete the extension and further enhance the hotel. Meanwhile, and by way of example, we continue to invest with the current month seeing a massive effort in renewing mattresses and headboards - really important aspects of a comfortable stay

Renewed thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 481 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2014

After reading some of the awful reviews on this site we were a little worried about what we would find but can honestly say that we were very satisfied with the hotel. We had room 303 (which has been mentioned by others unfavourably) and were perfectly happy with it. It was large with plenty of storage space. As for the seagulls we always find there are lots at the seaside!!!! The hotel was very clean, the staff very friendly and the breakfasts of a high standard. Being able to park the car in the hotel car park was one of the main reasons we booked the hotel. We would certainly go back again and have already recommended it to friends of ours.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front obviously have a nicer view over the street but after all most people only use th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank diane w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

We were truly humbled to read this review and thank you so much for your thoughtful and kind remarks. Nik and his team are ecstatic too

We are in no way complacent about making further improvements to the hotel and value more than anything genuine guest feedback, such as yours

Hopefully we can see you back from Wales before too long for the continued return of a loyal guest is the highest honour we can earn

Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I booked the Courtlands Hotel for my parents for a two night stay to come and visit me. I booked the closest hotel, which was the Courtlands. First of all which I thought was a bit odd, they took a 15pound deposit from me to secure the room. I have never had this happen to me before in any hotel I have stayed at. Then when I when back to cancel the room as my parents couldn’t make it. I was told, they will take my 15 pounds but also have to charge me 70pounds on top of my 15 pounds to cancel the room. This was annoying, but ok If it there policy but the customer service I received was shocking. One receptionist Jullian, has he was explaining this policy to me was laughing whilst doing so. Also The other receptionist which I didn’t manage to get her name. (Slim with dark hair) didn’t say anything just grunted at me. She processed my card from the slip from the 15 pounds despot but she didn’t ask whether I wanted to use that card still, Nothing! they got handed a bit of paper that she had written cancelled onto it! Really not happy with the level of customer care. I will not be ever using this hotel in the future for family stays as I would not want to put my family in a place where they will not be looked after. My suggestion to anyone if your thinking about the Courtlands would be just Don’t. There are plenty of Hotels in Brighton and Hove. That you would be looked after properly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

The hotel's cancellation policy is clear and while we are very sorry this dear lady's parents were unable to visit, at all times the hotel behaved professionally and properly. Taking a deposit is standard practice in the industry and had the booking been cancelled 48 hours before arrival no further cost would have been incurred

While we can understand why this customer might be upset with her family's travel plans changing last minute, equally she did not stay. Our earnest wish is that we can host her parents at some point so that they can provide genuine feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We are laid back with the places we stay around the world BUT this hotel has been a let down.

Initially after an error over the booking where I try to correct it with a male receptionist who then was very rude and slammed the phone down on me!,

Ugne spoke to my partner and handled the confusion with extreme professionalism ..Thank you Ugne!

We are now staying at in room 301 where the house keeping is rubbish.

We had requested a week before our stay that the General Manager Mr C Hugh get in contact with us and again on Saturday night,.. yet to our surprise it seems that Mr Hugh has not contacted us although he seems to be an expert on answering feedback on this site !!!!

We have specifically requested a meeting with on Tuesday the 22nd July hear our complaints and constructive criticism from someone in the trade.

In my honest opinion this hotel has great staff but lacks leadership from the top and the hotel although tired in decoration could do with getting the basic cleanliness of rooms right .

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Clearly this is a disappointing review. The reality here is that the hotel bent over backwards to accommodate an initial error made by these customer when they made their booking on line. On arrival they were provided with an upgrade to one of our best rooms in a further effort to help

Our housekeeping team are truly disheartened by such dismissive remarks and have been left wondering as a result

Courtlands takes genuine guest feedback seriously and greatly values the forum TripAdvisor provides

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

A beautiful hotel, nice facilities, polite and helpfull staff, pigeon got in my room they came straight away and got it out and cleaned up mess it had made, even offered me a fresh room tho in a sister hotel, was a fare jaunt from hotel into Brighton of which I have blisters to prove, but there are buses some open top buses can use, situated in a very nice area not to far from beach and shopping high street in Hove. free parking available, tea and coffee replenished and bed made daily all in all good service, I would defo recommend and use again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

We really enjoyed reading this review and thank you for such fulsome praise. The staff are over the moon too and we are very much looking forward to your visiting again from the West Midlands

The Courtlands strives to provide a value for money experience and we greatly appreciate your custom, especially when there is plenty of choice in the City

Renewed thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

In general it is a very expensive hotel for what it offers.
I will start basically with the issue that impressed me the most. The attitude of the staff. When we came for check in, the lady in the reception Lynn was not friendly at all not rude but not even one smile or explaining the rules of the hotel. we had to ask for details( for parking - keys etc). We said 3 times thanks with no getting back even one. We felt like doing a routine and nothing more. A little smile never bothers anyone
.The room we were given was quiet but you need a map to find it. Anyway.. At least it was quiet. The building very old and the room old and of average cleanliness. Mattress very heavy. Bathtub very cheap like being glued to the wall. No room for toiletries or ladies cosmetics. The mirror on the bathroom was moveable!!! not attached to the wall. Left beside the window.
When we went for check out again there was no thank you from the reception guy Musa or asking if everything was ok, just ok next please.
The staff is the reason for my average review. If the staff will be trained to be more friendly and customer focused it will be quite ok for the money you pay , but now its not. 85 pounds per night you expect more than the basics...
Thumps up
Quiet room
3 parking areas
Good location - Close to beach - town of Hove
Please avoid and search for sth better with same money.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Kostas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

We were truly disheartened in reading this review and are sorry that you feel the reception team were not more welcoming which, in turn detracted from your overall experience

Given its central location, free customer parking and a fast and secure complimentary guest WIFI, the Courtlands strives to provide value for money and we thank you for highlighting these positive aspects of your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Stayed with my husband. Staff very professional. Breakfast good choices. Room very clean. My only criticism was the stairs for me. But I was able to use another door which was close to our bedroom.
We would stay again. Well done Courtlands, Brighton

Room Tip: We stayed in 501, I think!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank urma2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Thank you so much for leaving this review and giving such positive feedback, which is much appreciated

It was a delight hosting you both and hopefully your plans will allow a return visit from Berkshire before too long

We truly appreciate hearing from satisfied guests and renewed thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brighton
0.3 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#27 of 43 in Brighton
605 reviews
0.2 mi away
Langfords Hotel
Langfords Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hove
514 reviews
0.8 mi away
West Beach Hotel
West Beach Hotel
#36 of 43 in Brighton
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#22 of 43 in Brighton
1,710 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
1.1 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Courtlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Courtlands Hotel

Address: 19-27 The Drive, Brighton BN3 3JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: $74 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Courtlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a hotel; The Courtlands is an iconic piece of Hove's history, stretched contentedly along a prestigious tree-lined avenue within a short walk of the famous promenade and shingle seafront. Quietly grand by nature, this is understated splendour and restful style, with friendly and professional service. We offer comfortable accommodation with style; each of our sixty-three en suite rooms are different – some traditional, with an eclectic mix of beautiful and authentic antique furniture, some contemporary with chic and minimal style – whether old or new, each room has complimentary wifi... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Courtlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtlands Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing