We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location for visiting Brighton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Courtlands Hotel
Ranked #31 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights..4+5sept. Firstly it was the parking that made us chose this hotel.I do think the hotel could do with a bit of TLC but having said that it is an old victorian building with original features.As for the seagulls,yes they were noisy but what do you expect at a seaside resort!!
This hotel suited us for what we wanted. Free parking, ideal location for walking into Brighton Centre.
My view is if you want 'comfy mattresses'and 'home from home luxuries' they come at a cost,they are not reflected in the price at this hotel or maybe you should stay home.
We would have no hesitation in staying here again and i'm glad we didnt listen to other reviews and found out for ourselves.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwynjones40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

We loved reading this no nonsense review and can't wait for you to visit again

Your custom and kind words are really appreciated and mean a great deal

Renewed thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (480)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 480 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

The free parking is what attracted me to this hotel, as its very rare to find in Brighton & Hove areas. The check was quick and the staff were very friendly.

Although the room was clean, it was basic, run down, old and in desperate need of TLC. I was in the Single room (103). The view from both my windows were of a pigeon infested building site. The £60 per night charge is a little steep to be honest. If the price was £30 this would truely reflect value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

We are very pleased you found so many positive aspects of your stay and as you have shrewdly assessed, parking is worth a great deal. This put in the context of the amount you paid would suggest good value for money especially given the Courtlands commanding location along The Drive

As we have made clear in other reviews the Courtlands is very much work in progress - once the extension to the rear is finished this will be the catalyst to further upgrade the existing bedrooms as we have a clear vision for the hotel and building on its long heritage

Hopefully we can see you visiting again from Dover before too long and maybe try a room overlooking The Drive and its quiet grandeur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We arrived early at this hotel as we had a long way to travel as we expected it was too early to check in so we were allowed to use the free car park and went off to explore the area. The Pier and main area seemed a very long way away and was a good half hour walk away when on the web page said close to seafront!! Mnnn not quite!! We caught a taxi back to the hotel from the pier which cost £8.00.
Once we arrived back at the hotel we checked in and we given our room keys. The receptionist was very helpful and polite and greeted us with a smile. Once into the room I was slightly disapointed with the room it seemed very dated and in need of some TLC. The view from one window was scaffolding and building work which was not a welcoming sight. The shower was a trickle hardly any water came out. The room was clean however and spacious. Noisy seagulls could be heard but this is expected as its a beach resort.
we had a drink in the bar where I felt the prices were very reasonable for hotels and the young lad behind the bar was excellent very helpful and nothing seemed to much trouble for him. The downstairs decor was lovely in the bar area its a shame our room did not look as grand as the downstairs area.
Overall a nice hotel although I felt for the price we paid it needs some serious updates to make it more competitave. Also location was an issue.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheepygirl911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you for writing. The Courtlands car park is always popular with our guests with the hotel located no more than five minutes [two blocks] from Hove's famous Seafront and Lawns. The Brighton attractions including the Pier are perhaps a mile or so away but a delightful stroll for those guests wishing to walk

We have a clear plan in terms of further upgrading the hotel which includes finishing off the extension and then making further enhancements to the Victorian parts of the building

Hopefully we can welcome you back before too long and many thanks for your kind words about our staff which are much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The room ( 303) looked a bit tired and I was surprised it had a sky light and windows that opened out on to a half built building. The first evening was horrendous as sea gulls called all night and at sun rise the room filled with light and a gathering of pidgeons started calling aswell. We asked to be moved to another room as we had not had much sleep and did not want another night like that . The receptionist said she could not give us another room as her manager had a day off and she was unable to help, to cut a long story short we were given a choice of two rooms which were better. This hotel has a good location easy to get taxi's and buses and brighton is just a few miles down the road. It has many original features which are attractive but overall the place needs upgrading and a bit of money spent on it.
T

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of hotel. It is in Hove not Brighton. Breakfast is good, be prepared f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wsm62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

We appreciate this review and were sorry that your initial choice of room did not pass muster. As we mentioned in an earlier review, once the extension is complete the hotel will have even more to offer and, inter alia, will allow us to further enhance the existing rooms

Clearly your stay became most restful once in your new room. Sadly the seagulls, in particular, have been very vocal this year

Thank you for your custom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

we arrived at 10am and was able to park in there car park free of charge which was handy ,as check in was not till 2pm ,so we had a long walk in to brighton town along the sea front .i found it a good distance from the action although on booking this hotel it said good location ..all staff seemed friendly and professional and all spoke good english .the room we had 208 was cleanish few stains on wall and headboard ,the veiw from window was scaffolding and a building site covered in pigeon poo ,which i found depressing to look at .the furniture in the room was old pieces pine and maghogny .we were woken by our neighbours at 2 am ,walls are not sound proof ,the breakfast was good enough at a cost of 7.95 each .i would not stay there again but did us ok for one night .

Room Tip: well ours did not resemble the one on the advert
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 41mjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

We were naturally pleased that you found so many positive aspects of your stay. As a grand Victorian building, the Courtlands retains its own charm with the ongoing refurbishment of the hotel a labour of love. With so many different rooms we cannot showcase all on our website

Once the extension, to which you refer, is complete, the hotel will have even more to offer and commands a great location along the Hove's most prestigious address and has its own car park

We appreciate your custom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I enjoyed very much as the location spot on, very clean everywhere, reception staff was very helpful to direct me to the handy car park which is a bonus to find parking in the area, nice cosmopolitan bars and buildings, Breakfast was good selection, we will recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

I visit the North East regularly to see my godchildren so great to see some guests from that part of the country. It was a delight hosting you and many thanks for such positive feedback. Our reception staff, especially, are tickled pink. We really appreciate your custom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights, Thursday till Sunday 25th to 28th July. The staff were vary helpful but the building is very tired which is a shame because its in an excellent position. We had breakfast on the first morning but it was chaotic. We got there at approx 8.45 having been told it ended at 9.30. There was very little left.The lady in charge ran around finding us eggs and bacon and for some reason underdone toast. Other guests were having similar problems. We ate elsewhere after this. The hotel needs to sort out its rutted carpets. Someone will get hurt.No air-con so we had to open windows and slept little because of noisy gulls. The staff could not be faulted, attending to every need no matter how trivial. If you ever get round to finishing the revamp we will stay again

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you for a such a candid review - the hot weather is great but it has made the gulls especially vocal. Our staff are so pleased by your comments, in fact they are tickled pink

Sorry we let you down over breakfast which was very much a one off. Our focus remains on completing the extension while maintaining the rest of the property in good order

Renewed thanks for your custom and comments. Hopefully a visit from Bath will beckon again before too long

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brighton
0.3 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#27 of 43 in Brighton
598 reviews
0.8 mi away
West Beach Hotel
West Beach Hotel
#36 of 43 in Brighton
364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Langfords Hotel
Langfords Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hove
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#21 of 43 in Brighton
1,675 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Brighton Hotel
The Brighton Hotel
#24 of 43 in Brighton
1,322 reviews
1.6 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Courtlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Courtlands Hotel

Address: 19-27 The Drive, Brighton BN3 3JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: $74 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Courtlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a hotel; The Courtlands is an iconic piece of Hove's history, stretched contentedly along a prestigious tree-lined avenue within a short walk of the famous promenade and shingle seafront. Quietly grand by nature, this is understated splendour and restful style, with friendly and professional service. We offer comfortable accommodation with style; each of our sixty-three en suite rooms are different – some traditional, with an eclectic mix of beautiful and authentic antique furniture, some contemporary with chic and minimal style – whether old or new, each room has complimentary wifi... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Courtlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtlands Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing