We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Things will only get better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Courtlands Hotel
Ranked #32 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Felixstowe
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Things will only get better”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

A lovely Victorian building, and its location made it great for exploring Hove which we wouldn't have thought of doing. It's a fascinating area in its own right full of great and diverse architecture, a lovely park and querky little streets as well as impressive boulevards. Our room was impeccably clean, and had clearly recently been redecorated. Free parking was a real bonus because parking is usually an expensive nightmare around Brighton and Hove. It was great value at £85 the night for the two of us including breakfast. The breakfast was excellent, and the staff welcoming and helpful. On the down side we felt the images on their website were a bit misleading - I suspect they show recently refurbished and upgraded rooms rather than those that might be more typical. We did enjoy our stay - the room was big, it was very quiet (not overlooking the street) and the bed was amazingly comfortable. However, the bath was very small and my wife (who is not exactly huge) had some difficulty getting out, given the way it was jammed up against a wall window with little are for hands and downward pressure. Impressive tap display, but a thin trickle of hot water from bath and washbasin taps. Despite these niggles, it was great value. I'm sure the management are working hard to improve and upgrade it. A tip to management - either water your indoor and outdoor plant displays. Or throw them away! Sadly neglected plants give a poor impression - either initially or on reflection.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
We really appreciate this review and many thanks for your custom and kind words

There are plenty of positives here and some great pointers for us to further enhance the Courtlands for the hotel has a great deal to offer. The staff are committed to doing even better and it is this kind of feedback which makes all the difference

Hopefully we can see you again before very long and renewed thanks meanwhile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    135
    115
    75
    80
See reviews for
76
190
29
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I had the privilege of organizing a group reunion at this Hotel. I chose it because of oldie worlde feeling, nice comfortable leather chairs and sofa's in the bar, which all are European guests enjoyed and they immediately felt at home. It is true that some of the rooms need some TLC but please don't alter the charm and character of this hotel. The staff were exceptionally helpful, courteous and willing to join in to make our stay all the more enjoyable. The bar staff were kept very busy, and we apologize for his late nights. Breakfast and evening meals were of excellent quality and quantity and enjoyed by all. I would recommend this hotel. Many thanks to all staff who made our reunion a memorable event..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank engonronay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for being such delightful guests and your kind words. The staff are so pleased by the warmth of your remarks and we very much look forward to hosting your Reunion again

The refurbishment of the Courtlands is ongoing and very much a labour of love given the grand Victorian buildings the hotel occupies along The Drive

Renewed thanks for your custom and letting us contribute to the success of your gathering
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Whole place needs serious makeover . Everything looks tired and unloved. Room was poorly appointed and as if nobody cares. V shabby. Bed creeky and uncomfortable. Horrid pillows. I have no problem with basic but this just looks nasty. Staff seem v nice. But not appropriate to have a small child running around and behind reception desk. Didn't stay for breakfast. Would not go back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Sadly we cannot identify with this review or the situation being described and as such there is no point commenting further
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Have just returned from an overnight stay at the Courtlands Hotel. We found it to be ideally situated only a few minutes from the beach and promenade with off road parking. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful, our room was clean and spacious and the breakfast more than adequate. We shall most likely visit again as we have family living locally.

Room Tip: Room 107 at the front (but not noisy) is twin bedded with a new bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berkshiresammi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
We really appreciate this review, thank you and having recently refurbished room 107 your kind words mean a great deal. The staff are also tickled pink and we are looking forward to seeing you again before too long

With renewed thanks for both your custom and generous endorsement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Booked last minute and stayed from Friday to Sunday in room 107, room was a good size and looked quite newly decorated (New carpets and bathroom) Adam on reception was absolutely lovely and really helpful, even stopping and offering to take photo's for us as we were leaving all dressed up to go out on our friends hen night! Couldn't have asked for better service and would definately come back next time for a quiet weekend with partner. The hotel is far away enough to be away from all the noise of the various hen and stag do's but not too far away from the sea front and is quite a pleasent walk.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Adam is absolutely tickled pink over this review and thank you so much for your kind words and custom. The Courtlands has a great deal to offer and is also blessed with a first rate team

Hopefully we can see you back again before too long, dressed of course in all your finery

with kind regards and renewed thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We arrived about 6:45pm on 11/05/2013 to find a space available to park the car as agreed. This alone is worth its weight in gold in this area. We were greated by two really helpful and friendly members of staff.
The room was clean and served its purpose well and I think for the price we paid there can be no complaints. We would gladly stay here again with no problems and the bar stayed open until 2:00am another plus if thats what you are after. On checking out a member off staff thanked us for our stay and apologised that he never really got the time to meet us on our arrival due to shift patterns. Another nice gesture.
Thanks for a lovely overnight sat. We will definately stay here again next time we come to Brighton

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RICHARD W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Absolutely delighted you had such an enjoyable stay and hopefully you will be able to visit again before too long. The staff are thrilled by your remarks with the Courtlands also purring with satisfaction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Good location in Hove. Free parking (a big bonus anywhere in Brighton). Very pleasant and helpful staff. Nice public areas. Bedrooms (we stayed in 206) not bad - clean, quite well furnished, slightly tired looking, awful view from windows, extremely small (room 206 showed signs of having previously been a single room which now has a small double bed in it), soundproofing between rooms poor, bathroom fairly good although the toilet cistern was the slowest filling cistern I've ever encountered. Breakfast (small continental only) - a rip off at £9.95 per person (£7.95 if ordered upon check-in) plus a £3 'tray charge' for room service. Likewise, a £3 tray charge for bar snacks/food - naughty! Don't be fooled by the sign above the entrance saying there is a swimming pool as it doesn't exist - we were informed by reception that it had been under construction (although there was no evidence of it) for two years. Overall, a nice enough hotel but lets itself down with small guest rooms and too many overpriced extra cost items. Doubt would stay again or recommend.

Room Tip: 'Book early and you MIGHT get a better room' - this, rather surprisingly, was the comment re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
While we are naturally pleased that you found many positive aspects of your stay, equally there were a few areas which you felt impinged on your ability to give us a 'high five' rating

I am not sure when you booked but we have a range of rooms and suites to suit all tastes and budgets. Our breakfast chef of 29 years offers a superb Full English for the tariff you mention so we were a little puzzled by your remarks here. In keeping with industry standards, a tray charge is made for guests wanting the convenience of eating in their room

We will of course look forward to welcoming you back at some future time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#26 of 44 in Brighton
561 reviews
0.2 mi away
Langfords Hotel
Langfords Hotel
#29 of 44 in Brighton
468 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Brighton Hotel
The Brighton Hotel
#22 of 44 in Brighton
1,277 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
1,578 reviews
0.8 mi away
West Beach Hotel
West Beach Hotel
#35 of 44 in Brighton
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Courtlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Courtlands Hotel

Property: The Courtlands Hotel
Address: 19-27 The Drive, Brighton BN3 3JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Courtlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a hotel; The Courtlands is an iconic piece of Hove's history, stretched contentedly along a prestigious tree-lined avenue within a short walk of the famous promenade and shingle seafront. Quietly grand by nature, this is understated splendour and restful style, with friendly and professional service. We offer comfortable accommodation with style; each of our sixty-three en suite rooms are different – some traditional, with an eclectic mix of beautiful and authentic antique furniture, some contemporary with chic and minimal style – whether old or new, each room has complimentary wifi... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Courtlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtlands Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing