We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK But could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Courtlands Hotel
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Good location in Hove. Free parking (a big bonus anywhere in Brighton). Very pleasant and helpful staff. Nice public areas. Bedrooms (we stayed in 206) not bad - clean, quite well furnished, slightly tired looking, awful view from windows, extremely small (room 206 showed signs of having previously been a single room which now has a small double bed in it), soundproofing between rooms poor, bathroom fairly good although the toilet cistern was the slowest filling cistern I've ever encountered. Breakfast (small continental only) - a rip off at £9.95 per person (£7.95 if ordered upon check-in) plus a £3 'tray charge' for room service. Likewise, a £3 tray charge for bar snacks/food - naughty! Don't be fooled by the sign above the entrance saying there is a swimming pool as it doesn't exist - we were informed by reception that it had been under construction (although there was no evidence of it) for two years. Overall, a nice enough hotel but lets itself down with small guest rooms and too many overpriced extra cost items. Doubt would stay again or recommend.

Room Tip: 'Book early and you MIGHT get a better room' - this, rather surprisingly, was the comment re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

While we are naturally pleased that you found many positive aspects of your stay, equally there were a few areas which you felt impinged on your ability to give us a 'high five' rating

I am not sure when you booked but we have a range of rooms and suites to suit all tastes and budgets. Our breakfast chef of 29 years offers a superb Full English for the tariff you mention so we were a little puzzled by your remarks here. In keeping with industry standards, a tray charge is made for guests wanting the convenience of eating in their room

We will of course look forward to welcoming you back at some future time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 477 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for two nights with my boyfriend, and overall a pleasant stay was had. We stayed in room 307 and I can only assume that this has yet to be updated. However, saying that, yes the room was dated and needs a lick of paint, but the linen was clean and the water was hot. If I had one complaint, it was the room was far too hot with the radiators on full. (We did try to turn off).
Cooked breakfast was good and there was plenty of it.
I would say that this hotel was value for money in a good location and the car park was handy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mintevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thank you for visiting us from Norwich and for such a thoughtful and kind review. The weather has been a challenge this year for lots of reasons with managing the heating being one of them. We appreciate your input and have discovered that the existing thermostatic valve in your room had seized up so please accept our apologies

Hopefully another visit to our City will beckon before too long and we can look forward to seeing you again. The Courtlands is waiting

Renewed thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

An awful experience! I had booked for myself and my partner to stay in the hotel the night before running in the Brighton Marathon. Upon returning from a meal in town I decided to have a shower to help calm the nerves before sleeping. Unfortunatley the shower did not prodcue any hot water and the same then happened the morning after when I had to wash with a hand towel from the basin. As the least I would expect from a hotel would be clean rooms and a hot shower I felt utterly dissapointed at the facilites and services on offer. We have not even been offered any compensation or refund despite several protests. If customer care is high on your list of priorities then avoid at all costs! What should have been an amazing experience in running my first marathon was almost ruined by a faulty electric shower and diabolical customer service. Go elsewhere!

Room Tip: One away from this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

This is a disappointing review and naturally we were sorry to learn that the guest felt issues within the hotel in some way detracted from the amazing experience of participating in the Brighton Marathon - a great event. We were fortunate to host a good number of the runners and their families though were unaware of any material issues

Even so we appreciate the candour of this review and as we have made clear before, we have a thoughtful program of maintenance designed to enhance the fabric of the building

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed at Courtlands for two nights as I had business in the area. I would sum it up as being perfectly adequate and clean, but in need of a little TLC in places. Bed very comfortable. Bathroom somewhat dated with bath and shower attachment, but no fitted curtain or screen. Water pressure in my room was very weak. (Plan for a bath rather than just jump in!). Free wi-fi which worked fine in the room but too weak in the bar/restaurant.
Only food I had was breakfast both mornings which was of a good quality.
Convenient central Hove location with on-site free parking at the back of the hotel. Tip: avoid parking under the trees or suffer the consequences of our feathered friends!
Welcomed and checked-in by a most helpful receptionist called Adam. Many would benefit from following his example.
Would I stay there again? Yes.

Room Tip: My room was at the back. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IsleofWightTrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

A really well balanced and positive review thank you. We have exciting plans for the Courtlands especially when the extension to the rear is complete but meanwhile maintenance and upgrades will continue. Adam is delighted by your kind remarks and as you say sets a great example

Hopefully business or pleasure will bring you back to the City before too long from the Isle of Wight, a great place to live

Renewed thanks for your custom and comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The website has an access policy which states the bar and restaurant are on the ground floor implying that it is fully accessable to disabled visitors. What it does not mention is that the restaurant is accessed by a short staircase, which we discovered when we went for breakfast! The waitress was quite rude to us because my husband could not climb the stairs. The best comment she made was "we can't move the restaurant for you!" Needless to say we didn't want it moved, we only wanted breakfast!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Candr6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

While we thank you for both commenting and favouring the Courtlands with your custom, we were naturally sorry to learn that your stay was not entirely positive. As a Victorian building the hotel has certain constraints but we will always do our best to make guests feel welcome. For those who find the dining room harder to access we are only too pleased to serve all meals in the Hamilton Bar and Club Room which has an enduring charm

Hopefully you will feel able to visit us again at some future time. Renewed thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

A rarity in that it has its own off street parking in Hove. Quiet location but easy to find. Staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful. Breakfast was excellent. Our room was very large with an en suite and was clean and tidy though the decoration was a bit tired. The bed was king size but unfortunately the duvet was only a double and despite extra blankets this meant duvet wars! For this reason, only four dotts.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 13thEarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Really pleased you enjoyed your stay though sorry 'war' erupted over the duvet - your feedback here is really helpful

The Courtlands has much to offer and hopefully when you next visit you will see further improvements. We aim to provide value for money and have a great ocation in central Hove with parking a bonus

Renewed thanks for your custom and kind words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed here for one night, great fact the hotel having on site free parking, based on first come first served. The rooms were OK, stains on the walls from possibly an old damp problem. Bath room was lovely, and everything else was good. All what you would expect for a basic old building hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ehmahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

We appreciate your taking the time to review the Courtlands and are heartened that you found many positive aspects about your stay. Hopefully we will see you again as the year progresses

The hotel is a labour of love in terms of maintenance and refurbishment which is ongoing. We are part way through a major extension which when complete will allow us to lavish attention on the older parts of the hotel and restore them to their former Victorian glory - the Courtlands has a great deal more to give

Renewed thanks for your custom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brighton
0.3 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#28 of 43 in Brighton
590 reviews
0.2 mi away
Langfords Hotel
Langfords Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hove
513 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#15 of 43 in Brighton
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
West Beach Hotel
West Beach Hotel
#37 of 43 in Brighton
355 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#21 of 43 in Brighton
1,638 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Courtlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Courtlands Hotel

Address: 19-27 The Drive, Brighton BN3 3JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: $71 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Courtlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a hotel; The Courtlands is an iconic piece of Hove's history, stretched contentedly along a prestigious tree-lined avenue within a short walk of the famous promenade and shingle seafront. Quietly grand by nature, this is understated splendour and restful style, with friendly and professional service. We offer comfortable accommodation with style; each of our sixty-three en suite rooms are different – some traditional, with an eclectic mix of beautiful and authentic antique furniture, some contemporary with chic and minimal style – whether old or new, each room has complimentary wifi... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Courtlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtlands Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing