We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely coming back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Courtlands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Courtlands Hotel
Ranked #32 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Rainham, Kent United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Definitely coming back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

I booked here for my 30th birthday celebrations with 10 of my friends & i'll be honest i was dreading it because of all the bad reviews i read on here.... We got there & instantly fell in love with the place and that was before seeing the rooms... The guy on reception Adam was so lovely, very helpful, polite & a great sense of humour...
We went up to our rooms & were really surprised how big they were & CLEAN despite the reviews.. Yes they are a bit dated but if you want perfect rooms there's a Hilton on the front.. Great value for money i think...We all had family rooms & they were equally as nice.. Food was lovely, bar reasonable, staff so polite

I'd highly recommend coming here and I WILL definitely be coming back and all my friends said the same...

Only tiny downside night porters were a little rude..

But Adam was great and really made my birthday celebrations complete... Anyone who can put up with 11 giggling girls is a saint in my eyes...

Cant wait to come back thank you everyone xxx

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda-Courtlands, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Really appreciate your choosing the Courtlands to help celebrate your 30th. Your kind words mean a great deal and looking forward to seeing you and your friends again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    135
    114
    75
    78
See reviews for
75
186
29
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sittingbourne, Kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed at the Courtlands Hotel for a friend's birthday bash - 11 of us in 3 rooms for the weekend. It was all booked via one of those weekend party package companies so we didn't get any choice in which hotel we stayed at but nor did we pay the actual room rates.

Overall I was very pleased with everything. I stayed in one of the suites located a couple of doors down from the main hotel. It had a large, high-ceilinged, 4-person bedroom / living room and a decent sized bathroom (complete with bidet!), and there was a large fully mirrored wardrobe in the hallway between the bedroom and bathroom. Everything in the suite was clean and worked; the beds were nice and comfortable; and it was lovely and warm. OK, the decor may not have been to everyone's taste, but it was clean and well maintained, didn't look grotty or shabby, no peeling wallpaper, ripped curtains or anything like that.

I had two breakfasts; one was a table service and the other a buffet, both were perfectly acceptable; in fact the table service one was very nice indeed.

All the staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Adam on the front desk who couldn't do enough for us and made us feel very welcome.

It's in quite a good location, close to the sea, local shops and lots of restaurants with a very nice half hour or so walk along the sea front to Brighton itself (or a 5-10 minute cab ride).

Unfortunately there was a small issue with the front door being a bit difficult to open and close sometimes, but the staff were perfectly happy to come and assist if we needed them to and at the end of the day, having something go wrong isn't necessarily a problem; not having the issue dealt with in the right way is the problem, and that certainly wasn't the case here.

I would have no hesitation in staying there again.

Room Tip: My review is based on the Fontaine Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda-Courtlands, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
A great and well balanced review thank you Yvonne. Really looking forward to welcoming you all back. The staff are on "cloud nine" having read your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

we booked this hotel for new years as our friends have previously stayed here and said it was value for money...how wrong was we....

we booked a family room suitable for 3 - 5 adults ( when we booked we stated four or five people may be attending).We checked in and the decor was so dated i felt like we were i the 80's, the room was big enough to accomodate us all.

We left at 10pm and returned at 4am on new years day, to find that only four of us were allowed in when we said there may be five people.

They stated we had to buy another single room at £80 to accomodate the fifth person even though their was enough room in our room. if we did not pay the £80 they advised one of us to stay in our car as we couldn't drive.

THIS IS JANUARY IT WAS POURING WITH RAIN AND COLD AND THEY EXPECTED THIS!.

We were forced to pay the money and the hotel is not offering any form of refund for the inconvenience caused.

Extremely dissapointed at the lack of support from staff.

AVOID at all costs

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank naomi c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda-Courtlands, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
While we appreciate the candour of this review, New Year's Eve is an enjoyable if demanding time of year in the hospitality business. For a variety of reasons, not least those concerning fire safety, we are obliged to operate within certain strict guidelines to ensure the comfort and protection of all our guests

For everyone who saw in the New Year with us we hope 2013 will have started well and be a rewarding year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Felixstowe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Apparently the Blairs stayed here earlier in the century (even though the decor belies it, their stay was in the 21st century).
The place is drab, in dire need of decoration and hugely under-staffed. The'Boss' seems to have his office spread out in the corner of the restaurant/bar area and guests are 'invited' to watch his personal selection of programmes on the TV. The menu choice is very limited and although very plain the food, in the main, was well cooked although as I said before, the shortage of staff (the receptionist doubled as a bar tender and waitress - should that be trebled? meant meals were slow in arriving resulting in my ordering a sweet onjust oneoccasion. Probably a blessing as you can only eat so much sticky toffee pudding (limited choice again) .
The room itself was small but satisfactory although also in need of a redec. The bath had a shower, of sorts, but the head was hanging from the wall making a stand up, 'hands-free' shower almost impossible. The taps were loose and at trhe point of seperating from the tap itself!
A short stay, one night, would have been tolerable but four nights was really three too many.
I'm sure there are better hotels in Brighton and if Ihave to come here again (for business and certainly for pleasure) I will try to find one.
On the positive side, the small TV had free-view and the room had free wifi internet access.
I stay in many hotels throughout the year but have never been moved to write a bad review before. This review is not a knee-jerk reaction.
I will not be coming back and would urge would-be guests to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Look for a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda-Courtlands, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We appreciate such a detailed review and as ever with a grand Victorian building, refurbishment and upgrading the fabric of the property is ongoing. It is also a labour of love

Regrettably staff sickness played its part inbetween Christmas and the New Year and we are sorry for any inconvenience this caused

We take comfort from the positive remarks concerning the bedroom facilities which our regular business customers welcome. They also enjoy unwinding in the bar after a busy day though even then are sometimes tempted to do a little more work!

The New Year has also seen some great changes to the menu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Don't touch this place withj a barge pole !

£90 a night tired decor no service and worst of all the night after I stayed I came out in bites (APPROX 20 OF THEM ) still scratching 5 days later !

The only thing I can put it down to is that the bed had bugs

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikeb1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Regrettably while we note this feedback, we cannot not identify with the situation being described or, after extensive research [and hence the delay in this response], the actual booking. Mindful how seriously our housekeeping staff take their responsibilities and the robust arrangements we have in place with our laundry company [and pest contractor] we consider these comments to be apocryphal and of course upsetting given the good people we have on "team Courtlands"

We have never made any bones about the Courtlands being an ongoing labour of love in terms of renovation and maintenance but we remain 100% focused on ensuring our guests enjoy their stay as these improvements take shape
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

I live a few roads away from this hotel , but booked in with my four year old son for a night whilst having some building work done . The room rates are very reasonable , but after reading the reviews on here I was dreading my stay .
What a surprise ! We were greeted by an utterly charming gentleman at reception called Adam who treated us like royalty . He explained everything and made it clear that nothing would be too much trouble during our stay . We went up to our room , and although the decor was a bit dated , it didn't look tired . The room was spotless and the beds were comfy . Very spacious room .
We went to the bar for a while and it was a nice atmosphere with attentive staff .
The shower in the morning was hot and powerful .
Check-out was quick and Adam was again very charming ,
I'd say this was top notch for a three-star hotel .
I would recommend this for friends staying in town and can't understand why this has had such a bad rating on this site

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raychel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Great and well balanced review, thank you. The staff are tickled pink by your kind comments and very much looking forward to welcoming you back in 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Definitely THE WORST hotel I have ever stayed at. No heating on in December, extremely unhelpful staff and being shouted at and asked to leave the hotel by the manager because we dared ask for the heating to be turned on. Being asthmatic sleeping in a room where you can see your own breath is not good and no heating in December is just totally crazy. AVOID!

Room Tip: don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Unfortunately we cannot identify with any of these comments though are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. While with any old building there will be maintenance and related issues form time to time, our staff remain committed to helping our guests which I think is widely acknowledged
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brighton
0.2 mi away
Langfords Hotel
Langfords Hotel
#33 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.3 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#26 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.8 mi away
West Beach Hotel
West Beach Hotel
#31 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#22 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Princes Marine Hotel
0.7 mi away
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Courtlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Courtlands Hotel

Property: The Courtlands Hotel
Address: 19-27 The Drive, Brighton BN3 3JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Courtlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a hotel; The Courtlands is an iconic piece of Hove's history, stretched contentedly along a prestigious tree-lined avenue within a short walk of the famous promenade and shingle seafront. Quietly grand by nature, this is understated splendour and restful style, with friendly and professional service. We offer comfortable accommodation with style; each of our sixty-three en suite rooms are different – some traditional, with an eclectic mix of beautiful and authentic antique furniture, some contemporary with chic and minimal style – whether old or new, each room has complimentary wifi... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your The Courtlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtlands Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing