We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stairs Stairs”
Review of Adelaide House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Adelaide House
Ranked #72 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Manchester United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Stairs Stairs”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

When I arrived at the B & B was a little disappointed as the frontage looked a little grubby.On entering the hall it looked fine didn't see anyone immediately but went to the reception at the back where a grubby,unshaven man was sitting behind a stable door with radio on.
He got up confirmed my presence said there was a few stairs to climb of which I was aware but didn't expect the amount and especially as my knees are very bad it wasn't pleasant.
He carried my case upstairs which was very nice of him.
Room was ok. A few repairs are needed,ceiling plaster in room and bathroom. Dresser draw broken. Pillows cheap no volume in them. The shower was dire drip drip drip took a while to get a decent one. Tea tray was fine. TV fine. A recent magazine would be a nice touch. When asked for milk it was brought pretty quickly. Breakfast was the best everything on offer and the cooked breakfast was good and hot. Although no atmosphere you could hear a pin drop and there was carpet on the floor. Maybe a radio on a low volume would break the silence. No WI FI access in room so would have had to travel downstairs to use lap-top so didn't bother. The thought of the stair climb put me off. I was at the top of the hotel maybe it was the only single room. Female staff wasn't very friendly towards me just making pleasantries. More happier to see another customers dog (LOL). None of the staff asked if I had travelled to Brighton before which I hadn't nor offered information regarding Brighton although they were some leaflets in the foyer to take away to read ? Had to bang my case down all the flights of stairs. The banister from my room was very loose so if youhad slipped,grabbed it there would have been a major accident. The place just needs some DIY jobs doing to get rid of the shabby look. Money I suppose is tight !!

Room Tip: A good power shower ie good water pressure
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oistins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    28
    17
    16
    19
See reviews for
14
52
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Adelaide house was welcoming, clean & homely. On arriving to our pre - booked room, we signed a form and was in. Our room was very cosy & homely with a king size bed,and on suite with a bath. For our dog was fresh water and biscuits !
The location is 2 mins from the town centre & sea, parking 1min!
The family that runs the hotel were polite and friendly without being over the top.
I would recommend staying and will be back during the summer, thanks again A+++
p.s, great breakfast!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

I am so pleased I decided to stay here and not any of the national hotel chains that are dotted around Brighton. The staff were helpful and friendly and gave me loads of great advice of things to do around Brighton including good places to eat. The breakfast section on offer was great, with a wide choice to suit everyone. The hotel is based on four floors and has no lift but this is mentioned on their website and I was told again when I phoned to book so I knew what to expect, it also gave me a great workout every day!!!!! The location is great walk out the dor and you can see the sea, the hotel is only a couple of mintues away from the seafront and main shopping area. Brighton's lanes are also worth a look if you have time so many little shops selling everything.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyns1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Adelaide house was just great to catch all the sights of Brighton close walking distance to everything and surrounded by beautiful buildings. The service was good with helpful staff and owners and the breakfast was very good which was enough for the whole day. My wife and I will be back as we did not allocate enough time to see everything in wonderful Brighton

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vango40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

This B&B is located in Regency Square which is a couple of minutes walk from the beach. It is situated in a great location as it is very central to the shops, nightlife and beach. It takes about 15-20 minutes to walk from Brighton station with luggage. I do not normally stay in B&Bs however when I was looking for a hotel for one night on a weekend for one person, it was a minimum of £80! I am not sure if there was something going on that weekend as I have paid less before. I looked at other options like B&Bs and found Adelaide House. It had great reviews and was £55 for a night. I received a text on the day to confirm my arrival time. When I arrived the door was shut but someone came as soon as I rang the bell. I "checked in" and was given keys to the front door and my room. I booked through Adelaide House website which was slightly cheaper than other websites and chose room 25 on the third floor. I was taken up to my room. There is not a lift but it wasn't far. The woman who showed me to my room kindly offered to carry my luggage. The room was a bit on the small size but fine for me. It had a warm feel to it and was very cozy. There was a luggage rack for a suitcase and a desk. I thought the kitkat bar and offer of fresh milk for tea (during certain hours) was a nice touch. The bed was super comfy with lots of pillows/cushions and the shower in the bathroom was powerful. I did not get up in time for breakfast the next morning although I hear it is good! I really enjoyed my stay and would recommend this B&B to others.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muldr4Scly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

I recently stayed here with my sister, we were greeted with very friendly staff and a lovely warm atmosphere. the room was very clean, modern and the nice personal touches like the kitkat bars were very lovely. the best part about the hotel is the location...right in the heart of a beautiful city! if you are visiting brighton there is no way you could find a better spot. located in a beautiful, historic square and just a short walk from the train station, shopping mall seafront, etc! you are literally no more than 5 minutes away from all the best things brighton has to offer. breakfast was very delicious and we were served imediatley when we went down the next morning by a very polite waitress, we were offered a very wide range of breakfast choices and beverages, my sister and i both had a full breakfast that was very much enjoyed. i was born in brighton but sadly i no longer live in the uk, however everytime i return i wouldnt stay anywhere else! we had a wonderful time and enjoyed returning to the hotel every night it was a very pleasant experience!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahWay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

It was fine.... Perhaps a little expensive as it was very basic. I was on the third floor, there were 67 stairs from the breakfast room to my room - I was exhausted! But to be fair, there is ample warning when booking online, to advise of the stairs.
The room was okay, although, I agree with a previous review in that the plastic under the sheets was not good. The shower was hopeless, with hardly any water coming out of it - I wondered if it was because I was so high up! And it was freezing cold during the night.
I've stayed in worse, and I've stayed in better. I don't think the owners do all that they could to make it an experience worth repeating. I, too, noticed the filthy reception room.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natashawilson37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Topps
Topps
#27 of 44 in Brighton
119 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Beach Hotel
West Beach Hotel
#34 of 44 in Brighton
343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Motel Schmotel
Motel Schmotel
#34 of 94 in Brighton
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Brighton House
Brighton House
#13 of 94 in Brighton
618 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cecil House Hotel
Cecil House Hotel
#68 of 94 in Brighton
112 reviews
0.8 mi away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#25 of 94 in Brighton
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaide House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide House

Property: Adelaide House
Address: 51 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2FF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Adelaide House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run guest house in a fine Regency-style square opening to the sea front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Adelaide House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelaide House Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing