We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal as always!”
Review of Tookta's Cafe

Tookta's Cafe
Ranked #93 of 1,154 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Tookta's authentic Thai cafe` and restaurant offers cuisine of a high standard ,many dishes originating from my own contemporary style ideas and recipes. A family friendly cafe`, Tookta caters for everyone. Spicy, mild, the lot. The customer is our number one priority and Tookta cooks to satisfy everyone's tastes. With a lifetime experience of fine thai food, which some of you may have already encountered at Tookta's Sunday Menu, The Office pub, sydney street, Brighton. Tookta is expert in using only fresh ingredients of the highest quality available. So Come along to Tookta's cafe` and experience the fine, Thai cuisine for yourself!
Highlands
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Lovely meal as always!”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We went again to this Cafe as the food is great as well as the service! Its like eating in someones living room (but in a good way). I would highly recommend this place and Im really picky...

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank madones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    58
    18
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Special! You have to visit if you're in town.”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Walking through the door to Tookta's cafe I was immediately transported back to my visit to Bangkok. I enjoyed every second of being in there. The dining area is quite small and seats about 18-20 at a time, which means you'd be advised to make a reservation to ensure you get a seat. For such a small space there was loads of atmosphere but we never felt overpowered by noise and really enjoyed ourselves. The food was full of flavour and so fresh you could taste every bit of it. I had a red curry and my partner had a stir fry, they both tasted incredible! The owners were very friendly and easy to talk to. We will go out of our way to visit here again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FluffandPomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamonix, France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superb Thai Food”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Trip advisor strikes again, we're new to Brighton, followed the reviews about this restaurant and they were spot on, Only they missed about the superb personality of the servicing staff and head chef, who obviously enjoys coming out into the restaurant and having a bit of fun with her customrers, very thai and very appreciated. All food was beautiful, very well priced....both the beef stir fry and the duck red currry were amazing....... we left feeling very happy, and enjoyed a lovely autentic thai meal. Great job all of you involved. Arroy Mak ( Yummy thai food )

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great food and well priced”
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Lovely find tucked away off Western Rd. Food was fab. You could watch the chef chop and cook each meal. Mixed platter for starter melted in mouth. Curry and stir fry very tasty and fresh. Lots of ginger. Wine list limited and music suspect. Good service and full - book a slot or you could be disappointed for the 9 or so covers

Helpful?
2 Thank Phil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“consistently fabulous”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This is very local to me and I’ve been here numerous times over the years. I’ve never had a bad meal! Tookta herself is absolutely delightful and she makes everyone feel so welcome, nothing is ever too much trouble and the Thai food she produces is as authentic as anything you can get this side of the Andaman Sea.
I shall continue to come here again and again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrancesYoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tookta's Cafe also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Tookta's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing