We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“consistently fabulous”
Review of Tookta's Cafe

Tookta's Cafe
Ranked #84 of 1,120 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $13
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Tookta's authentic Thai cafe` and restaurant offers cuisine of a high standard ,many dishes originating from my own contemporary style ideas and recipes. A family friendly cafe`, Tookta caters for everyone. Spicy, mild, the lot. The customer is our number one priority and Tookta cooks to satisfy everyone's tastes. With a lifetime experience of fine thai food, which some of you may have already encountered at Tookta's Sunday Menu, The Office pub, sydney street, Brighton. Tookta is expert in using only fresh ingredients of the highest quality available. So Come along to Tookta's cafe` and experience the fine, Thai cuisine for yourself!
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“consistently fabulous”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This is very local to me and I’ve been here numerous times over the years. I’ve never had a bad meal! Tookta herself is absolutely delightful and she makes everyone feel so welcome, nothing is ever too much trouble and the Thai food she produces is as authentic as anything you can get this side of the Andaman Sea.
I shall continue to come here again and again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrancesYoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    58
    18
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Even better than before”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Booking essential, so many people turned away on a Saturday evening. I absolutely love this place and the food is simply delicious. Returned to this beautiful little front room restaurant with the good lady wife; her first time. After all that she'd heard about Tookta's, she was expecting a good meal and wasn't disappointed.
Mixed starters and the chilli prawns, WOW, so delicate yet deep with flavour. Chicken Panang for the lady, and Prawn Thai green curry with extra chilli for myself. What can I say..just heaven for anyone who likes proper Thai food cooked as it should be. I should also say how charming and warm the owners are, nothing is too much trouble, they come out and mingle with the guests, and really go the extra mile to talk to their guests and make you feel welcome. Genuine people, just wished I could go there more often. Can't wait to return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 5redmarbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“a true gem”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

this is truly a great little place, food is freshly prepared and the service is warm and friendly ,been here before we visited this year and will be back next . when you're in Brighton for two days only you have to pick your meals wisely and this is definably one

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gary t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Lovely food and nice atmosphere!”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Me and my boyfriend went to Tootka's Cafe and had a really lovely experience. The food was delicious and the restaurant was really cosy and comfortable. I would recommend this restaurant wholeheartedly!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebeccaford89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Superb, small, simple Thai Cafe”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

The best Thai food in Brighton in a very simple, small café style set up. Had spicy squid and spicy prawns to start and they were divine, the lightest batter, just the right amount of flavour. A really good meal. Booking essential as the venue only has about 20 covers.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DVP72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tookta's Cafe also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Tookta's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing