We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Small but perfectly formed!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tookta's Cafe

Tookta's Cafe
Ranked #79 of 1,092 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Tookta's authentic Thai cafe` and restaurant offers cuisine of a high standard ,many dishes originating from my own contemporary style ideas and recipes. A family friendly cafe`, Tookta caters for everyone. Spicy, mild, the lot. The customer is our number one priority and Tookta cooks to satisfy everyone's tastes. With a lifetime experience of fine thai food, which some of you may have already encountered at Tookta's Sunday Menu, The Office pub, sydney street, Brighton. Tookta is expert in using only fresh ingredients of the highest quality available. So Come along to Tookta's cafe` and experience the fine, Thai cuisine for yourself!
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Small but perfectly formed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Tucked away on what looks like a residential side street is one of the friendliest restaurants I've ever been to. The staff were great and the food was faultless. Great great flavours, very decent portions and pretty tiny prices. Tooktas's is probably only a four star restaurant as the setting, although very charming is a little basic but it's definately a five star cafe and as that's what it advertises itself as, five stars it is. Highly reccomended for a relaxing, chilled out evening with friends. We'll be back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank H4ppydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    57
    17
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome Thai green curry but get there early!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We visited Tookta's in March on a trip to Brighton. We were encouraged by the trip advisor reviews and, had a really good meal there. The menu is limited but, they do a few dishes awesomely well.
The good points:
Best Thai green curry I have EVER eaten. You won't be disappointed.
Friendly service
The not so good points:
The restaurant is very tiny so get there early if you want a table.
They normally don't take bookings unless you are a large group.
I think Tookta's may be a victim of their own success, the food is gorgeous but the staff seemed really rushed off their feet when we were there and were preparing for a very busy night. I would go back but, perhaps not at a weekend as I think I may have enjoyed it more if it were quieter.

Helpful?
Thank moomooblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent service, hot-hot-hot food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Tookta's Cafe is a little, tucked-away gem off of the main shopping street of Brighton. We decided to give it a go as we really wanted to see if the other reviews were right - and yes, they were.

The service is impeccable - the waiter was polite, encouraging and helpful, as well as being personable. He went out of his way to ensure that our meal was good, and we enjoyed ourselves, recommending beers and dishes for us to try that complemented each other well.

My squid starter was delicious - cooked perfectly, but boy, was it hot! Scorching, in fact - the chillies had been added in high volume. Great for me, but not so great if you're not a fan. The paneang curry was also scorchio, but delicious - the coconut and peanut was just right to offset th heat, even if I did feel the burn! The massaman curry was delicious and like none I'd ever seen before - a smooth, deep brown with loads of fragrant flavour. Still hot, though!

To give them their due, we were told that if you ask the question, the kitchen are happy to tone it down - can't say fairer than that. However, I recommend you order as is - it may be tough at first, but once you get past the heat, the food is exceptional.

The place itself is tiny and intimate and a great place to go on a date - I fully recommend it. The price is right, too!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebbyface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polegate
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“SussexTraveller12”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Wow! This restaurant is easily missed. You'll find it up a side street and blending in with the surrounding houses. Superb welcome, friendly staff and Tookta's wonderful cooking. It was lovely to have squid with chilli and garlic without batter. The seafood and vegetable cooked with red chilli paste was very tasty and comes with plenty of rice for those who are hungry.
We finished off our meal with jasmine tea. What a find!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Just average. Confused by rating!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Went with a group of 6 friends on a Saturday night. Had a good time. The food is just OK and good value. Certainly not a prime example of what Brighton has to offer by any stretch of the imagination. Bit of a weird setup too. Service, although adequate, felt a bit Fawtly Towers and amateurish. Music too loud too.

I'm a little bemused as to why this restaurant is so highly rated!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 6ft3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tookta's Cafe also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Tookta's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing