We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting use of the front room! Cosy.”
Review of Tookta's Cafe

Tookta's Cafe
Ranked #92 of 1,140 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Tookta's authentic Thai cafe` and restaurant offers cuisine of a high standard ,many dishes originating from my own contemporary style ideas and recipes. A family friendly cafe`, Tookta caters for everyone. Spicy, mild, the lot. The customer is our number one priority and Tookta cooks to satisfy everyone's tastes. With a lifetime experience of fine thai food, which some of you may have already encountered at Tookta's Sunday Menu, The Office pub, sydney street, Brighton. Tookta is expert in using only fresh ingredients of the highest quality available. So Come along to Tookta's cafe` and experience the fine, Thai cuisine for yourself!
Perugia
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Interesting use of the front room! Cosy.”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We had a good meal here. The restaurant has been converted from the front room of a small terraced house, so there's not a lot of room and the lighting was pretty dim, but good for a romantic dinner!
The food was simple but fresh and very tasty, the menu was limited but different meats are offered for each preparation.
Service was excellent, very attentive and efficient

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jillmkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    58
    18
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“fantastic flavours”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Did not book Thurs 18.10.12 nice welcome by Paul the waiter, sat near the window, a small but cosy relaxed place with a nice atmosphere.Great smells coming from the kitchen, you can see them cooking your food. Both had spring rolls and chilli dip for starters, wife had the prawns for main course i had the chicken stir fry. It was like soup, but the taste the flavours were fantastic, hot and spicy. Only disapointment they do not do desserts. Cannot wait to visit again, this very value for money little gem of a place. John T.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JOHN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful food, Beautiful Host”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I keep going back to this restaurant, the salt and pepper squid melts in your mouth, delicious. The host is such a welcoming and friendly lady with a wicked sense of humour. Everytime the food has been perfect and very reasonably priced. Go for the squid alone!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trudytrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, friendly staff and a great value for money.”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

There are no words to describe the treatment you get at this place, really. You have to come see and taste it yourself. Its a small, cosy place, with great service and even better food. My favorite in Brighton.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Srdjski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best tai in town... by far !”
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

This tai was our local the food is fabulous so much flavour and cannot fault anything, other than its so good we had to stop ourselves from coming here too often :) we now live a bit further away but whenever we fancy a tai we travel here the food is soo worth it and you can take your leftovers home... they do takeaway too :) ... my personal favourite is the massaman curry

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank weewillamwallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tookta's Cafe also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Tookta's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing