We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Saturday night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Ranked #36 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Saturday night”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Stayed for one night, found the room clean, quiet and the bed very comfortable. Staff at the reception quick and friendly. The hotel was known as The Norfolk Hotel and must have been quite splendid back in the day, the old initials are still inscribed on the stairs. Breakfast was served in what must have been a ballroom, well laid out. Food on offer good lots of fresh fruit and cereal to choose from as well as the usual fry up. Would stay again

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear June555,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Should i be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards
Peter Nye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    476
    522
    261
    190
See reviews for
242
847
64
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
somerset
Level Contributor
130 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I stayed here for a works conference and found the room to be clean and comfortable. Breakfast was nice with plenty of choice with options to order eggs Benedict and kippers. Dinner in the hotel was good, as was the buffet lunch. The bar area is small but all staff were very friendly and efficient. You can walk into town easily and the pier is a 20 minute walk away.

The hotel is an older property and the layout of the rooms is unusual but lifts are available so not a problem. It is not a luxury hotel but for a couple of nights I found it to be adequate.

In summery I would recommend for a short stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Sarah075,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel..It is always a pleasure to receive feedback. be it positive or negative,

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Upkeep and maintenance are an ongoing process here while we still try to maintain the original character and charm.

Should i be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards
Peter Nye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Faded grandeur. The hotel is perfectly serviceable, but with an awkward layout and dated feeling rooms. Friendly staff and efficient service. The hotel is located on the seafront but a walk front the centre of town.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear MattD,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback be it positive or negative.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Should i be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards
Peter Nye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

As a frequent user of Mercure (and Accor) hotels around the world, I must say I was v. disappointed by the offering at this location and it is nowhere near the standard of other UK Mercure hotels I have stayed in. The hotel has an uncared feel and is shabby round the edges; indeed it feels like a lot of UK hotels used to feel - days I thought we'd left behind us. The TV picture was poor, the carpet in the room was worn in places, the bathroom had seen better days,

Tea and coffee were provided in the room, so I made myself a cup of coffee. I then thought a biscuit would be nice (usually provided in the room) seeing that there was nothing on the tray, I phoned down and asked if I could have a biscuit or two or a bar of chocolate, answer came back "No biscuit, only crisp" Nothing sweet? "No, only crisp."

At breakfast the next morning, they apologised that there was no hot buffet breakfast, only cold, but offered to cook anything I wanted. I asked for porridge, which took 15 minutes to be delivered, slow considering there were only two other people having breakfast. Honey to go with my porridge? Sorry, no honey. Butter for my toast? No, butter (only margarine). Judging by the guest manifest on the waitresses desk there very few people staying in the hotel and after a probably busy New Year,they had decided not to have many staff on or to re-order food supplies. Staffing levels were clearly low as I had to wait for one of the waiting staff to come out from the breakfast room to check me out.

Next time I'm in Brighton, I'll try somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jones125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Jones125,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback be it positive or negative.

I was disappointed to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. Please accept my apologies in the first instance.

I have noted all your comments and will be sharing them with the relevant department heads to ensure improvements..

Kind Regards
Peter Nye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Birthday weekend for my partner. The welcome gift was a bottle of Water and a small bar of chocolate, (not worth it). The breakfast was not replenished in time - DISSAPPOINTED and no reply to my complaint


  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Lisa L,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at the Mercure Brighton Seafront, It is always a pleasure to receive feedback be it positive or negative.

I was disappointed to hear that you did not feel that there was value associated with your stay. I shall investigate as to what is the status of your complaint.

If i can be of further help please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards
Peter Nye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.3 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,047 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel

Property: Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Address: 149 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location doesn't come much better than this, right on Brighton seafront with fantastic views of the beach and out to sea. Close to the Brighton Centre and the town centre this elegant Regency style hotel is perfectly situated for business and leisure guests. Each of the 116 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high-speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press as well as tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel has limited parking on site and this is charged at £25.00 Per car overnight and is payable at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Brighton
Brighton Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing