We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor value..... exploiting its position and not living up to corporate image”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Ranked #35 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed August 20, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank gudniteout
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Matthew-Huddart, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,815)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,286 - 1,292 of 1,816 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

I chose to stay at this hotel as it is one of the few in Brighton that allow stays of only one night at the weekend and the location was fine, about 15mins walk to the centre of Brighton.

The public areas are ok, they look a bit shabby but staff are friendly. When we checked in we were informed the bar is open 24hours, this is technically the case but in reality the night porter will open the bar for you 24hours and get you a drink- a process which takes approx 30minutes!

My problem with this hotel was our room, it was cramped, poorly laid out and very noisy. The bathroom was the same.

I would not rate this hotel as a 4* and in my view it is only suitable for a short stay where you will be out and about most of the time

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimoneyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew-Huddart, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear SimoneyUk
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us.
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our location and that you were able to stay for one night without restriction.
Your comments regarding your room are noted. Our rooms do vary in terms of size and we do aim to control noise as far as practicable throughout the Hotel and I’m sorry if you were disturbed in any way during your stay.
Residents have access to the bar 24hrs a day which as you state referred to night service after hours. I am only further sorry if you experienced a delay in service.
Thank you once again for your review and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the Hotel sometime in the future.
Kind regards
Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Was supposed to stay for 3 days but left after 1 noises room next door so no sleep no parking available on second night even though I made them aware on day 1 I needed disabled parking!
They actually parked ordinary guests in these spaces

Room Tip: Do not let them put you in the annex
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rudolf L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew-Huddart, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Rudolf L
Thank you for your review although I am sorry to read that you experienced noise disturbance and frustrations with parking arrangements.
I am currently reviewing internal feedback from guests and I would appreciate if you could contact me personally (061gm@jupiterhotels.co.uk) so that I may extend my apologies personally.
Best regards
Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Very nice stay only problem was the room size for the price and bathroom not designed well breakfast was ok but the fried bread was like bricks the eggs were hard so I went continental instead. Very good location though very relaxing

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bromleyboy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew-Huddart, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear bromleyboy4
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I was delighted to read that you had a relaxing stay with us.
Our rooms do vary in terms of size and I’m sorry if we were not able to offer an alternative to better suit your needs.
I was also slightly disappointed to read that you didn’t fully enjoy breakfast, but pleased you enjoyed the continental selection.
Thank you once again and we do hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Bente J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Matthew-Huddart, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Silver0607
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Matthew-Huddart, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Paid a fortune for the room, but Brighton is very expensive at the best of times and this was on a Saturday in August. The hotel is very nice, very attractive building from the outside and pleasant inside. Our room was very small but perfectly clean and pleasant. The location is great, right on the seafront. It was lovely just to walk out of the hotel cross the road and wander along the beach. The breakfast room was very pleasant and the food served was of good quality with plenty of variety. Staff were friendly and helpful. Nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FelixNottinghamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew-Huddart, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear FelixNottinghamUK
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent experience with us.
I was thrilled to read that you had a great stay with us and in particular that you were aware of the hotel prices across this City in the summer months!
It was also great to read you received not only our usual high standard of service but also the variety offer at Breakfast.
We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel soon.
Kind regards
Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 43 in Brighton
2,242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
2,207 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,697 reviews
1.0 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel

Address: 149 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: $73 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location doesn't come much better than this, right on Brighton seafront with fantastic views of the beach and out to sea. Close to the Brighton Centre and the town centre this elegant Regency style hotel is perfectly situated for business and leisure guests. Each of the 116 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high-speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press as well as tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel has limited parking on site and this is charged at £25.00 Per car overnight and is payable at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Brighton
Brighton Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing