We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Ranked #37 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Cheshunt, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Would not return”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I would say this is an average hotel, but no better really then staying at a Travel Lodge, and I would have preferred that for the value for money, the hotel entrance looks dated and same with the room. the hotel is very close to the seafront and easily to get to everywhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew-Huddart, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Jessica K
Thank you for your review.
I’m sorry that based on your experience you wouldn’t come back although I do thank you for pointing out the positives in your mind of our location.
We do try to meet all guest expectations and I’m sorry that you were not able to bring your disappointments to our attention whilst in the Hotel.
Kind regards
Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    491
    546
    288
    212
See reviews for
257
893
66
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I booked the Mercure as a 'Top Secret Hotel' deal so paid about half the normal price for my room. Even so I think it was poor value for money. The bed was clean and comfortable but the room smelled a little fusty, the shower was only luke warm and there was no bottled water provided. it was a hot August day but sadly no air conditioning, although there was a plug-in fan in the wardrobe which I used. The public areas such as the lobby and bar also needed some refurbishment - the furniture felt a bit worn and old-hat. Breakfast was ok - but nothing special - typical serve-yourself buffet, but not very high quality. Breakfast didn't start until 8.30am on the Saturday by which time there were quite a few early risers like me pacing the lobby waiting for it to start. The small underground car park costs £15 and it's first come, first served - so don't count on getting a space. If I'd had to pay full price for my room - normally around £200 - I would have been appalled. As it is, I've stayed in some small boutique hotels in Brighton for around £80 a night and had a much better room and breakfast. On the positive side, most of the staff were very friendly and when I filled in a post-stay questionnaire, the manager responded to my negative comments straight away - so full marks for damage limitation!

Room Tip: Avoid one that opens onto the fire escape - you don't feel safe leaving the window open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew-Huddart, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Jane M
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us.
I do try to respond to all feedback regardless of content personally and thank you for acknowledging my separate response!
I’m confident our ‘normal’ rates are competitive compared to similar midmarket hotels although I’m pleased that you were able to take advantage of one of the limited offers we participate in.
As you state breakfast usually starts from 8.30am at the weekend although we do offer room service for those needing to get away early.
Thank you once again for sharing your feedback and I hope that based on our actions you might consider coming back to see us again sometime in the future.
Kind regards
Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here early August for one night, 2 adults and 2 children. We arrived around 1.45 to the car park being full, but lucky for us someone come out as I was looking for some where else to park. But be aware there is very little parking and it is expensive to park in the NCP car park or street it's £25 for 24 hours.

Once in our room it was very large but no view we was facing some flats court yard so nothing to see but as we did get the room on a special offer I wasn't expecting a sea view. It was very warm with only one fan so asked for a another one which was brought to our room. But the room was comfortable and clean with everything we needed.

In our deal Dinner was included, this is where I feel the hotel lets it self down. There is not enough staff. Our dinner took over two hours, breakfast was the same. Not enough staff to keep up with the flow of people. No juice, no food everything was waiting to be filled up or brought out. Even when it was it was minimal not enough for the amount of people waiting. You can see the staff are working tirelessly but there just is not enough of them. We did complain and I must say the manager was fantastic he did compensate our unfortunate experiences and could not be more apologetic.

The hotel over all was nice, the staff were brill couldn't do enough for you but there are a few issues and I can see why people are upset on here especially if they paid £225 a night.

I would strongly suggest though if you do have any issues or there is something you are not happy with speak to the staff/manager as they really will try to rectify it and will go out of their way to resolve any problems you encounter. For this reason I would stay again if I got the same deal as I know if there was anything I wasn't happy with it would be dealt with instantly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nettesteve1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew-Huddart, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear nettesteve1
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay and in particular for highlighting that we do our utmost to meet expectations and on the occasion we need to put things right we aim to do so as quickly as possible!
I have commented much before on parking and the lovely weather recently, however I was pleased we were able to supply an additional fan for you to make your stay more comfortable.
Thank you once again and we do hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I booked the mercure hotel through late rooms secret hotel, so didn't know where we were going until booking. We were visiting Brighton for pride weekend, therefore I was very pleased to secure the room so late in the year and for a reasonable price for this weekend!
The hotel was easy to find and my partner had already emailed to see if we could leave the car early as we were arriving hours before check-in, she was told if there were spaces this would be fine. On arrival the receptionist was very helpful and friendly,accommodating our every need and making the start of a great weekend even better.
When we finally got to our room, it was clean and the bed was very comfy(welcomed after a day partying!)as stated in other reviews it was warm but it is August and the fan cooled us down so no problems. Breakfast was good with a huge variety,we didn't eat the cooked breakfast but everything else was more than acceptable.
Check-out was as easy as check-in and the friendly receptionist just as happy and helpful(sorry we can't remember your name,but you were working early morning 3rd/4th and you deserve a mention!)
I'm not sure how much the negative reviewers paid but for our price we were more than happy with a city seafront hotel with great staff! Thankyou Mercure.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LFC_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew-Huddart, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear kara722
Thank you for your most valued review of your recent stay with us.
I was delighted to read that you received our usual friendly and helpful welcome when you arrived which made a great start to your break and I also note your comment that check out was just as good. (I have tracked down the person on reception to extend individual thanks!)
It was also great to read that the fan helped cool you on what has been a longer than expected run of good weather.
Our breakfast does offer a large array of choice and I’m glad you enjoyed the continental selection.
Thank you once again and we hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We booked 2 hotel rooms 19th-21st of July. Arrived and parked with no stress although car park is very small, and I think we were lucky to get a space on a weekend. We arrived to check in and get changed after a 5 hour car journey, it would have been nice if the room was ready as it was after the check in time, but it was not ready.
The receptionist apologised and we were offered a round of drinks on the house in the bar while the rooms were being prepped.
We had drinks in the bar, and then went to check in again, there was about 5 people in front of us in the queue, and it took almost an hour for them to get round to us. When they did, they gave us the key cards for the 2 rooms, we went to put our bags in and one of the rooms they had given us was already occupied! there was a bra on the bed, someones laptop on the desk and things everywhere. We quickly left the room and went back down to see what the hell was going on. The receptionist apologised and said the other woman was new. This is no excuse really, I would hate to think of people going in my room, and for the poor people whose room it was, they were none the wiser. No kind of compensation was offered to us, just a rushed apology to get the queue down.
Everything else with the hotel was fairly average - no aircon on the hottest weekend we have had too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prettyfeet123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew-Huddart, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear prettyfeet123
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us.
I was sorry to read of the frustrations experienced upon arrival although I was pleased to note that an apology was initially received as a result of the delay for your room.
If you would like to get in touch with me at the Hotel (061gm@jupiterhotels.co.uk) I will investigate the circumstances and offer you my personal apologies for your disappointments.
Kind regards
Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Just come back from a two night stay and was pretty impressed. At the time of booking I was taken back by the price but that was for all the hotels in Brighton not just this one, I do wonder if it puts people and families off now a days?
Anyhow back to the hotel... Reception staff were very nice and the bar man is by the far the friendliest and politest bar tender I have ever encountered. Breakfast was very nice apart from the bacon but we both like ours crispy and I am sure if we had been that bothered the staff would have made us some to our liking as I noticed they were very attentive to other guests needs.
The room was nice, it was hot but its a listed building and air con would be impossible, the only thing I could suggest is a plug socket nearer the bed to get the full impact of the fan. My only bug about the room was there was not any draws anywhere so small items needed to be placed on the desk and small items of clothing in the top of the wardrobe which us ladies do not like as we like to know our "smalls" are safe.
Over all - very nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannah o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew-Huddart, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear hannah
Thank you for your review of the recent stay with us.
I was thrilled to read that you were ‘pretty impressed’ after spending two nights at the Hotel especially as you note that you were slightly cautious at the time of booking. Accommodation both at weekends and during the summer is at a premium and I’m confident that our prices are really competitive. Just like overseas holidays the off peak times represent even better value so if you can avoid the busy times even better!
Thank you for your kind words regarding the service received, particularly from the Bar. We’d have loved to have made your bacon crispy and it was also great to read that you observed the level of service delivered to other guests.
I do not your comments regarding one’s smalls – the rooms in the modern Mews are open plan and for those that prefer wardrobes and drawer space our other Classic Doubles might suit better!
Thank you once again for a most constructive review and we’d love to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We really enjoyed our two night stay here while in Brighton for our son's graduation. The hotel is brilliantly placed on the seafront but a little way out from town centre. This is good as we have stayed in other hotels nearer the centre and these can be very noisy until the small hours with all the clubs and bars in the central area.

It was the middle of a heatwave while we were there which did highlight the lack of air conditioning but then again I don't have air conditioning at home.

The beautiful Victorian building does retain some original interiors - namely the the reception with the magnificent staircase and the ballroom where we had breakfast on the first morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Man_of_Kent2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew-Huddart, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Man_of_Kent2003
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent experience at the Hotel.
I was pleased that your visit for your Son’s graduation was a success and thank you for pointing out the positives of our location. Yes – we are a touch away from the City Centre but as you state there can be issues with the liveliness when you are a bit closer!
Thank you for your understanding regarding the temperature during the mini heat wave (lasting longer than most would have thought!).
It was also great that you were able to spot a number of the original features around the Hotel. The façade is largely original and you may have noticed the ‘NH’ inscriptions both on the balustrades and in the Ballroom which link back to the originally named ‘Norfolk Hotel’
Thank you once again and we hope you might be back to see us again sometime in the future.
Kind regards
Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,178 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,157 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
1.0 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel

Property: Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Address: 149 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location doesn't come much better than this, right on Brighton seafront with fantastic views of the beach and out to sea. Close to the Brighton Centre and the town centre this elegant Regency style hotel is perfectly situated for business and leisure guests. Each of the 116 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high-speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press as well as tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel has limited parking on site and this is charged at £25.00 Per car overnight and is payable at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Brighton
Brighton Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing