We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Ranked #36 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

From the moment we arrived the helpfulness and professionalism of the staff was apparent. Apart from getting an upgrade to a seafront room (due to a misunderstanding at booking) the entire experience was fantastic. The room was well equipped, clean and comfortable although a little on the warm side (better than being too cold though!).
The bar is available to residents 24 hours and even at 1am after a night out the service is willing and friendly.
It has a small (and tight) car park so i would advise dropping your bags off and then park at the regency square carpark which is less than a 5 minute walk from the hotel. I parked there at around 3pm, collected the car at 10 am the following morning and all it cost was £12:50.
A very good hotel which i highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew-Huddart, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Dear Alan B

Thank you for posting your review following your stay at the Hotel.

I was delighted to read you positive comments regarding you experience and will
ensure that they are passed to my team.

Thank you for pointing out the tip for other guests on dropping off bags first! We are
lucky to have our own parking on site and I do acknowledge that it could be bigger.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Brighton Seafront sometime
soon.

Warm regards

Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    467
    492
    248
    183
See reviews for
228
814
62
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

We were visiting Brighton to see our daughter and stayed over at the Mercure Brighton on Christmas day and Boxing day. We arrived midmorning, and although too early for check in, the receptionist was very helpful and checked us in straightaway. The room was really comfortable and a good size. It also overlooked the sea which was a nice bonus. Breakfast was part of our package and was more than adequate. There are some parts of the hotel which are a little tired looking, but this takes nothing away from its overall quality. I think the best reason for staying at this hotel is the staff, from the reception desk to the breakfast staff, who were always most helpful,

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael Anerley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew-Huddart, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear Michael,

Thank you so much for your continued support and review!

We are always trying our utmost to deliver the best service to our guests, and I am glad that we have made your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards

Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed in the Mercure Brighton late December 2011 for two nights. It was previously known as Ramada.
Booking-in was pleasant, and we able to occupy our room well before the prescribed time so this gave us more time to explore Brighton, our first visit.
We paid the premium for a room with an "ocean" view, and it was well worth it, not only for the view but we discovered it was considerably larger than most other non sea-view rooms (evident from the plan hung on the wall showing emergency routes). The bed was very comfortable and spacious, being two singles anchored together. Room TV was good providing internet access either via the TV or via one's Laptop which could be connected via a USB cable(?). Bathroom was clean and shower good. Coffee and tea were provided together with some tasty biscuits. The towels were replaced each day!
The restaurant service was very good, and whilst the menu was somewhat limited it was good quality food; so was the wine, being very drinkable. The bar was pleasant, with friendly service, but no real ales on draught. In fact I could only find bottled Speckled Hen, but it was good.
We plan to return when the weather is warmer and not so windy!

Room Tip: Having booked via the central system and having received the email confirmation with the local hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CliveAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew-Huddart, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear CliveAC

Thank you for taking the time to post the review of your stay it is much appreciated.

I was delighted to read that you were pleased with the upgraded room booked. As you state these are generally much larger than some of the standard rooms and the view of the beach and sea is usually worth the little bit extra – even if the sea is somewhat dramatic on windy days!

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel.

Thank you once again.

Kind regards

Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

Myself and my bf stayed at this hotel for new years eve we booked the James Bond package which included dinner,dance,bed and breakfast in a sea view room at £145 per person which was a bargain compared to other hotels!
We arrived at 3pm the only downside to this hotel is the parking they charge £15 per night but the car park is very very small can only fit about 20cars so we ended up having to park at the NCP about 200yards we were told by the hotel it would cost about £12.50 for 24hrs infact cost us £25!!
The reception staff were very freindly the only critism I would say is they did not give any details about what tgime we should be ready for to start the evening I had to call down to reception later on that evening.
We arrived in our sea view room 209 which was lovely spacious,airy and well decorated and all the amenities we needed. The evening started at 7pm and had drinks on arrival and then a 5course meal then dance the only extra we had to pay was for drinks. At midnight there were fireworks on the seafront which we could see from our room.There was quite alot of noise from the room opposite us which woke us up quite early in the morning they did have children so obviously were up earlier than us.We ordered the continental breakfast in the morning at first on the room card it only gives options for cereal but i just put a note on there to bring some toast and croissants to which they did and was right on time 10am! They do not offer full english in the rooms that was the only downside as I know i would prefer to eat in the room so you dont have to get up as early especially after a night like nye! Check out was 2pm which was great I wish more hotels offered a late check out at no extra charge.All the staff were friendly and helpful at the hotel I will defiently be staying here again and recommending to friends.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KC_TravelBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew-Huddart, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear KC_TravelBerkshire

Thank you for taking the time to post the review of your stay and I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the New Year’s Celebration with us.

I was sorry that there was confusion regarding the prices of parking outside the Hotel. As you state we do currently charge a highly competitive £15 per night, and I will ensure that my front office team are fully aware of the prices of the alternatives.

Thank you for your comments regarding breakfast and I am pleased to confirm that we are just about to include Full English breakfast served to the bedrooms!

Finally thank you for your kind comments regarding the service received. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel.


Kind regards

Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed at the Mercure Hotel Brighton for their New Years Eve Ball. We had the most fantastic time. The staff were superb and could not do enough for you. We arrived early expecting to wait some time for our room but were informed our room was ready immediately. The room was excellent, very clean, fabulous view and facilities, the bed was very comfy (room 311). The NYE ball was good fun and the food was of a very high standard. Once again the staff were extremely helpful. Breakfast was also very good. There were 6 adults (3 rooms) in our party and all 6 of us were very happy with the whole Mercure experience. We would all highly recomend this hotel and hope they have another NYE Ball in 2012!. Many thanks Mercure, Brighton! Mrs A. Regelous

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew-Huddart, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear AmandaR

Thank you for taking the time to post the review of your stay and I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the New Year’s Celebration with us.

We are taking bookings for 2012 already so please let us know if you’d like to return for this year’s theme of Black, White and Diamonds!

Happy New Year to you!

Kind regards

Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

Pretty disappointing and expected same standard Mercure but pretty awful. Run down and refurb. Staff not at all friendly, especially at reception. Will not be back for sure!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Effico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew-Huddart, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for posting a review of your stay at the Hotel.
I had just spotted that I failed to respond to this review so apologies for not acknowledging sooner.
Whilst we do have ongoing improvement plans for the Hotel we do work hard daily to provide the best possible service possible.
Hopefully the more recent feedback we have received will confirm this and perhaps you will be willing to try us again if you need to stay in Brighton.
If you do have requirements please feel free to contact me personally.
Kind regards
Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glos
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

The rate we paid for this room was okay but considering the difference we paid for this (a superior double) from what we would have paid for a standard double the room was disappointingly small, really only just the right side of pokey. The decor was in good nick and clearly quite new but really rather dated in style. Still that's just me. More than ample storage with, joy of joys, ample hangers, but in fact they might consider losing one or two of the storage units and so make way for a larger bed (this was a standard double...many hotels of this standard go for queen/kingsize especially in premium rooms).

The bathroom was fine, mostly sparkling but with a couple of small but perfectly formed patches of mould on the grouting. The shower was adequate but really only just a notch or two above gutless in delivery and the towels while large and clean had something of a worn sandpaper quality to them.

And I always hate to complain about the television because obviously I do not go away to watch the tv, but the choice of channels (particularly radio) was tiny. With Freeview etc pretty much universally available there doesn't seem to be much excuse for this.

Breakfast again was acceptable but nothing to write home about and my husband says the coffee was awful (don't ask me, coffee is coffee is coffee, but he seems to think there's a difference!).

There were some better than expected bits: daily replenishment of bottles of water (I have found the norm is one starter bottle on arrival) and certainly the receptionist who checked us out was exceptional and seemed genuinely to care about the fact that we weren't hugely impressed. She made the perfectly fair point that we could have said something on arrival and they would have moved us. Fair enuffski, and certainly our bad for not speaking up initially, but even after all these years I still have this naive expectation that we will be allocated the best available on arrival, not the worst they think they can get away with and will move us if we complain. Well we won't be making THAT mistake again!

So while I have nothing really bad to say about this hotel, and would probably not kick up against staying there again, we have come to expect a little bit of a wow factor from the Accor group which was a bit lacking here.

Room Tip: Check the room out before unpacking and speak up if you don't like it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elaine4648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew-Huddart, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Dear Elaine4648

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent stay at the Hotel.

I was sorry to learn that your bedroom allocated did not fully meet your expectations. Due to the age and layout of the Hotel all of our bedrooms do vary in terms of size and appointment and availability permitting we are always happy to offer alternatives to meet individual guest requirements.

I have noted your comments regarding the quality of the linen in your bathroom and will monitor this with our linen suppliers.

Thank you for all your positive comments regarding your stay and if you do have future accommodation requirements in Brighton please do not hesitate to contact me so I extend a personal welcome to you.

Kind regards


Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.3 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
0.6 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#14 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel

Property: Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Address: 149 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location doesn't come much better than this, right on Brighton seafront with fantastic views of the beach and out to sea. Close to the Brighton Centre and the town centre this elegant Regency style hotel is perfectly situated for business and leisure guests. Each of the 116 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high-speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press as well as tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel has limited parking on site and this is charged at £25.00 Per car overnight and is payable at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Brighton
Brighton Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing