We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value - good position - good pick for Brighton!”
Review of Kings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kings Hotel
Ranked #21 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Enjoyed a short break with my sister-in-law and twenty two year old son. Two rooms - one double, one twin. The hotel decor is kept simple and most importantly clean. White cotton bedding, comfortable beds and adequate bathrooms. Would have liked a sea view (only 'superior doubles' have this), but the plus side was that our rooms (129 & 124) were quiet. Despite it being half term and quite busy, the breakfast staff remained cheerful and efficient. The hotel is in an excellent position - just a little way along the seafront from The Grand Hotel. The King's Hotel is not The Grand, but it was heartening to stay somewhere relatively cheaply in such a popular English seaside resort and be so pleased with our choice of accommodation . For two nights B&B we paid £270 (including parking). A problem with the light in our lobby was dealt with within half an hour of reporting it - that's good service.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank infrequenttraveler56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,675)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,422 - 1,428 of 1,675 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2011

We stayed here for valentines day. On arrival directed to the £15.00 per day parking space. Which is located just around the corner from the hotel. However we were given parking bay 7!! beware your passanger door will be up against a wall. We asked to change to bay 1 which was much better.

Our room was not available on arrival although we were quite early. We went for a walk and returned and told that the room I wanted wasnt available so would I like a part sea view... reluctantly I agreed (Part sea view means that you have to put your head out the window which is also not possible as the windows only open a little about 2 inches). The room on first glance was very small which is deceiving as the hotel looks so big from the outside. The room looks nothing like the one advertised on the interenet. Its dated furniture and size looked similar to a B&B or a travel lodge?? The room also for some reason went down at a slant others may have complained about this because to counteract it they have removed the wheels on one side of the bed so it doenst move! lol sort of like being on a boat. The toilet was poorly decorated with most of the paint ending up on the floor and the edges un trimmed after the lino being placed down.

The TV is flat screen although very small... also to bear in mind the doors are all very close to each other and very noisy at night with people coming and going, Also the rooms are not sound proof... the staff in the hotel are friendly enough although I did complain about the lift as we were on the 5th floor and it didnt appear to be working as waited for almost 10 mins for it to come down. I explained that my partner struggled with the stairs and would it be possible to move rooms her response to this was "the cleaners have gone for the day now, and I cant resell your room sorry".

Its quite a good location for the old pier however, the new one is about a 15 min walk and the lanes about 20mins keep this in mind if you have kids or people with disabilities.

The breakfast is precooked and mearly heated up on your arrival. Also expect to do your own toast at the toaster while a huge que builds up behind you...

However if you want cheap and cheerfull with no frills and dont mind walking this is for you. Its clean and the staff are friendly enough.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carinabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

The first room we were given was tiny, had stains on the carpet and a view of the alleyway and bins. But that's not the worse, the bathroom was disgusting, i wish i had taken a picture of it. The bathroom floor vinyl was not stuck to the floor and had huge air bubbles in it. It also had a rip in it which was about two foot long and had been patched up with black gapper tape. The TV was also not fitted onto the wall properly and hung leaning towards the floor.
To give the hotel credit though, the guy on the front desk was very polite and gave us another room without any questions, the next room was slighly better but not worth £100!
The breakfast tasted nice but the fish gave my boyfriend awful food poisoning!
To sumarise, dont bother going here, if it's basic accommodation you are after, try the Holiday Inn round the corner.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelannaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

Stayed at this hotel with a group of friends, 'girlie' type weekend. Although not exactly girls, more like older women.

Read the reviews after the hotel was booked and was horrified!

My opinion is:

The rooms were basic, one comment was. 'its like a hostel'. Carpets were stained and dirty, bathroom was barely adequate. Beware the bath!! No one wanted to shower or bathe while we were there!! But, when I had the room to myself I decided to take a shower, took my own towel for this purpose. Braved the water then stepped out of the bath and fell dramatically!! Very dangerous activity! The bath, for some reason, is a long, long way from the floor!

I was lucky, didnt suffer any serious injury, but the situation is a disaster waiting to happen!

The staff were really pleasant, and there are now tongs to pick up bread for toast! Is this is the result of negitive reviews? If so, well done for listening.

Some of the group were satisfied with the hotel, but when I got home, and I sure dont live in luxury, I was so glad to be living at the standard I do, as opposed to the standard imposed by this hotel..

Stayed: February 2011
Thank sunnysardinia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

I read reviews saying this hotel was noisy and really tatty, maybe we got lucky, but we had a nice, clean room, no noise and a really easy stay here. Staff were really friendly and very helpful. And of course, it's an amazing location.
It was really good value, and I would recommend it to someone who wants somewhere basic but nice to stay on a trip to Brighton.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VickySussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2011

Rooms looked dated as did bathroom. However did have its charm and good location. If you get a bargain "discounted" price it is definately worth considering especially if for the odd night rather than a longer stay. Parking difficult but it was in all of Brighton unless you use multi-stories that can be expensive.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluem5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Good location for the music venue, close to town, clean and tidy rooms Resonable price. Would return

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roda10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0 mi away
The Brighton Hotel
The Brighton Hotel
#24 of 43 in Brighton
1,322 reviews
0.9 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
853 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#18 of 43 in Brighton
2,343 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Hotel

Address: 139-141 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2NA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: $58 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of Brighton's rich heritage and it's vibrant seaside lifestyle of today when staying at the Kings Hotel Brighton on Brighton Seafront. Housed in 3 lovingly restored Regency mansions, The Kings Hotel Brighton enjoys a prime location on Brighton's famous seafront. The hotel is steps away from the beach, Brighton Conference Centre and the great shops and entertainment venues of the town centre. You can expect a warm welcome from the friendly team at The Kings Hotel Brighton. Reception is open 24 hours a day, so no matter what time you arrive, a member of staff will be on hand to greet you and offer local information. Each of the 96 bedrooms at this sea front hotel has been appointed with care and style. All rooms are en-suite and offer every comfort needed for a relaxing stay. Many of the rooms boast exceptional sea views. Each room type at The Kings Hotel Brighton is designed for complete comfort. Family rooms and bedrooms adapted for the complete accessibility of guests with mobility difficulties are available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing