We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok, not bad but nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Kings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kings Hotel
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Derby, UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Ok, not bad but nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Good location, about 10 mins seafront walk from the centre of Brighton. It seems that car parking needs to be arranged in advance because we originally parked in the hotels car park but were asked to move by a member of hotel staff to a car park in Regency Square which cost £20 a day.
The room was of a good standard, breakfast was fine and staff were helpful and friendly when checking in and out.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank maccaderby242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    510
    371
    200
    179
See reviews for
211
673
97
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Arrived to discover no parking facilty available, yet was told on the telephone there is .....was taken up 4 sets of stairs because the lift was not working, to a small dark dismal room with filthy carpet and chipped damaged furniture. I asked to change the room and said to the man that I had requested a sea view room and had been told by a lady receptionist that it would be okay. he replied that there are no ladies working at the Hotel, and took me to another room, even up higher on the top floor, this room although had a window, was still dirty and disgusting, with views of a side of a building!,,,i threw my bags on the bed and went out for a walk. Upon my return there were birds flying around the room and pooing all over the walls!,,,,,,I felt sick, got a refund and left,,,it was like the Hitchcock thriller "Birds"............................sorry guys you really must step up if you want to attract more visitors,,,even cleaning the carpets would be a start.....

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
I was disappointed to read your review. The hotel has limited parking which is on a first come first served basis. This is highlighted on our website and all other third party websites. Having reviewed your booking there was no request for a sea view and in advance all sea view room carry a suppliment. Unfortunately the lift was out of order on the day you arrived and we were waiting for an the engineer to arrive to repair. A pigeon did get into your room when your window was opened which is the first time something like this has happened. The team would have cleaned the room for you or offered you an alternative similar room however you decided you wished to leave and called your husband to come and collect you. I apologise that the lift was out of order for your arrival although the team carrier everyone luggage until it was repaired and the pidgeon incident was unusual thing to happen.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Friendly Welcome and accommodating my requests with a smile. Well cooked breakfast. Don't skimp. This is a must at the price. Rooms beautifully clean and all the facilities worked. And the bonus of a good nights sleep. I will definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jukes20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thanks for the great review and I look forward to you returning in the future.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

we chanced upon this hotel by accident - we saw people enjoying the sunshine outside and thought 'lets try this one'. We are glad we did, the last hotel we stayed at in Brighton was shall we say 'basic' and yet this hotel was less per night and included breakfast!!! The staff are very friendly and helpful, yes the lift wasn't working but the exercise up the stairs was nothing, we were on the 2nd floor. The room was nice and clean and had everything we needed, the breakfast was freshly cooked and very tasty, again served by very pleasant and attentive staff. Next time in Brighton we are staying here, thank you to all the staff.

Room Tip: it may be a better view from the front rooms but i am guessing its quieter at the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micgill566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thanks for your kind words about the team who do try to make every guests enjoy their stay. I apologise the lift was out of order but pleased to say all back working again. I look forward to you returning in the future.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Me and my friends picked this hotel for a 1 night stay as it had a quadruple room.

Not too far away from the pier, pleasant reception and bar area with ok prices in the bar.

Our room flooring was rather uneven causing the furniture to shake and rattle.

Unfortunately the lift was not working so after a word with the manager we were given a free breakfast which was very thoughtful. I have just had a knee operation so walking up 5 flights of stairs was not pleasant.

I also don't think the £15 car park fee is fair and should perhaps be included in the price. But beggars can't be choosers . Ok for over night stay and is a 3 star for a reason.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you fr your review and I apologise that during your stay our lift was out of order. This has been repair and back in working order. Unfortunately the few car parking spaces we have are rented from the adjacent flat and we could not absorb this cost into our room rates. i hope you will come back to the hotel in the future.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

This was booked on the day of our stay on a very sunny weekend in Brighton, so I think we were fortunate to find such a convenient place to stay. It's right on the sea front and not far from the NCP on Regency Square. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was what I was expecting (in fact, it wasn't until I walked to the room that I realised I have stayed in that exact room on my previous visit!), the breakfast was adequate. All in all, I have no complaints, it is what it is, it's not a cheap B&B and not a luxury large hotel. I would have no hesitation about staying here again. It's convenient for the pier, car parks and the sea front. I didn't have time to pre-book my parking so that cost me about £40 as I found a little place round the corner for £25 overnight, but had to move my car into the NCP before midday. I have previously used a pre-booked little car park round the corner, but I didn't have time to be that organised this time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeesterBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
I was pleased to read your review and that this was a second visit and you had the same room on both occasions. Great to read you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel for a nights stay. Upon arrival the reception staff were most friendly and helpful. We had arrived slightly early so they let us check in there and then. The room was fit for purpose although did look a little tired. White sheets which for me is a must! Could not fault the cleanliness and the bed was comfy. We had a sea view which was great. After a night out we returned to the hotel and were able to take a couple of drinks from the bar back to our room. Nice location and not far at all from the pier.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joannal216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for your review after your recent stay at the hotel. I was pleased to read you found the staff friendly and you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
The Brighton Hotel
The Brighton Hotel
#21 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.2 mi away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#18 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Hotel

Property: Kings Hotel
Address: 139-141 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2NA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of Brighton's rich heritage and it's vibrant seaside lifestyle of today when staying at the Kings Hotel Brighton on Brighton Seafront. Housed in 3 lovingly restored Regency mansions, The Kings Hotel Brighton enjoys a prime location on Brighton's famous seafront. The hotel is steps away from the beach, Brighton Conference Centre and the great shops and entertainment venues of the town centre. You can expect a warm welcome from the friendly team at The Kings Hotel Brighton. Reception is open 24 hours a day, so no matter what time you arrive, a member of staff will be on hand to greet you and offer local information. Each of the 96 bedrooms at this sea front hotel has been appointed with care and style. All rooms are en-suite and offer every comfort needed for a relaxing stay. Many of the rooms boast exceptional sea views. Each room type at The Kings Hotel Brighton is designed for complete comfort. Family rooms and bedrooms adapted for the complete accessibility of guests with mobility difficulties are available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TravelUp, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing