We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Kings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kings Hotel
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The hotel is located a few hundred metres to the west of The Lanes - on the sea front. Car parking is on the street for £15 a day or £5 by the hour! The room was small, but we had a sea view. The bed was comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. We didn't book breakfast in the hotel, as we preferred to walk on the front and find a nearby cafe. We would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GwynRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
It was great to read you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and would return in the future should you return to Brighton. i look forward to welcoming you back.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    533
    395
    208
    188
See reviews for
231
711
101
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Me and my mum stayed at this hotel for three nights. We found the staff welcoming and friendly, the room was very clean and tidy without a spot of dirt in sight. The television was easy to use and thanks to the supplied mugs and kettle we were able to end the day with a hot drink. The location was brilliant and was in walking distance of most of the attractions.
The only downside was the noise, we were able to hear quite loudly the people staying above us, however we did not feel it is fair to fault the staff and owners of the hotel as we appreciate it is an old building.
Thank you for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your review and I was pleased to read that you and your mother had a good stay at the hotel. I look forward to being able to welcome you both in the future.

Iain Lindsay
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I stayed here with my partner and some business colleagues for three nights during Gay Pride weekend. The cost was astronomical and certainly far too high for a mere three star hotel but they were no doubt capitalising on this busy and popular weekend. Reception staff were welcoming and efficient and the ground floor reception/lounge/bar area was pleasantly decorated. We all had basement rooms which were chilly and gloomy and our old sash-windows were completely jammed. Our bed was reasonably comfortable and the bathroom clean but small. Getting to the room involved passing the guest toilets which regularly exuded a musty odour. Breakfast was wide ranging and was served politely and promptly although teas and coffees were served in mugs with top-ups via a waiter/waitress with jugs and, as usual, there was a queue for the toasters.The daytime staff were friendly but the night time reception and bar staff were often not to be seen. We both fancied a nightcap one evening around 1030 pm. On two seperate occasions I waited at the bar to be served and I appeared to be the only person in the whole of reception. We ended up drinking bottled water that we had purchased earlier on the seafront. This felt very much like a highly priced three star hotel with a two star service and we are unlikely to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YoohooWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
I was disappointed that the hotel did not meet your expectations. The hotel is a three star metro hotel which is a limited service hotel as we do not operate an evening restaurant. Our pricing policy is similar to the airline model based on supply and demand which is standard in the hotel industry. Any weekend not just pride weekend for a one night stay on a Saturday in August is in high demand. Many competitors will only sell a minimum of two nights at weekends.
Once again I apologise we did not meet your expectations.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Parking no chance, but big NCP car park locally and price as expected for city seafront location. Hotel bar open late and tidy. Corridors and Carpet in hotel tired but bedroom sizeable with good view and good bathroom. Breakfast you can find yourself queuing but choice is varied and quality of food good. Plenty of staff. Very very good location.
Would revisit

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your review and I was pleased to read that you would return.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed there for one night and didn't want to go. Had the most amazing view of the sea which we could see in bed. Woke up on the morning we were leaving and saw a fantastic sunrise!!! Worth the extra £10. Room was very clean and staff were really nice. Being on a budget trip, we found the room was a bit pricey but worth the stay. Tea and coffee supplies were rubbish. No where near enough upon arrival and for the next morning.But nice place overall and great central location

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kateharris101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you the your review and I was pleased to read you enjoyed the amazing views and friendly staff. Had you asked for more tea and coffee supplies at reception they would have replenished them for you.
I hope you will come back to Brighton and the hotel in the near future.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The location is undeniably good. The room was ok with a comfortable bed. The bathroom was poky. I was offered a chance to upgrade my room on arrival. The bar was open until late.
Parking is both difficult and expensive in Brighton. The website for the hotel says that parking is first come, first served. When I enquired both on the phone beforehand and when I arrived I was told that other people had booked all the places. I appreciate they have limited spaces but not the method of allocating them. If you should book then say so on the website.
Breakfast was awful beyond belief. First although I came down at different times on each day 8.40, 8.20, 9.10 on all occasions it was impossible to get a table and there was a queue of about 6 rooms before me. On one day I gave up and had breakfast elsewhere. That was probably a wise decision as on the other days the food was
a. served in the wrong order (not very hot breakfast before fruit or cereal)
b. wrong on at least one occasion
c. luke warm where it should be hot.
Who they employ is up to them but if the waiting staff can't actually understand English i.e. the difference between poached or fried egg it is a significant handicap.
The person i/c breakfast was completely unapologetic about people being kept waiting or the lack of cutlery etc.
I would not willingly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy69Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
I was disappointed to read your review especially about your breakfast service. I apologise that your breakfast order was delivered wrong and I will certainly disucss your review with the operations team. Parking is on a first come first serve basis however if guests arrive and are staying for a few days the spaces fill in adavnce. With only 11 spaces it does not take many guest staying over to fill.
Once again I apologise about the issues you had at breakfast.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Very clean hotel and reasonably priced. The beds were a little uncomfortable but the room was immaculate as was the bathroom. The breakfast choice was very good only downside was a charge if you wanted anything extra eg fruit or cereal. The staff were very efficient. Another plus was the nearby parking for £15 per day.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the promenade
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.5 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 43 in Brighton
2,162 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 43 in Brighton
2,191 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 43 in Brighton
7,551 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 43 in Brighton
2,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Hotel

Property: Kings Hotel
Address: 139-141 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2NA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of Brighton's rich heritage and it's vibrant seaside lifestyle of today when staying at the Kings Hotel Brighton on Brighton Seafront. Housed in 3 lovingly restored Regency mansions, The Kings Hotel Brighton enjoys a prime location on Brighton's famous seafront. The hotel is steps away from the beach, Brighton Conference Centre and the great shops and entertainment venues of the town centre. You can expect a warm welcome from the friendly team at The Kings Hotel Brighton. Reception is open 24 hours a day, so no matter what time you arrive, a member of staff will be on hand to greet you and offer local information. Each of the 96 bedrooms at this sea front hotel has been appointed with care and style. All rooms are en-suite and offer every comfort needed for a relaxing stay. Many of the rooms boast exceptional sea views. Each room type at The Kings Hotel Brighton is designed for complete comfort. Family rooms and bedrooms adapted for the complete accessibility of guests with mobility difficulties are available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing