We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An overnight stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kings Hotel
Ranked #21 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An overnight stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hotel staff very friendly and welcoming, very quaintly restored but loads of doors to go through which is awkward with suitcases. Room was ok but certainly not more than 2 or 3 star , but bathroom was better although overlooked by every high rise around.
Towels could do with being renewed.
But breakfast was lovely.

Room Tip: We had a room in one of the other houses so a lot of doors and corners (quaint but irritating) I wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mazza1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your review and I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and the staff were welcoming and friendly. Unfortunately being our central location witin a residentail area does mean that we are surrounded by high rise flats to oneside of the building. The hotel is a 3 star AA Metro hotel and I see you agree with the clasification. I do hope you will consider returning to stay at the hotel should you be looking for a hotel in Brighton in the future.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    503
    367
    199
    178
See reviews for
205
666
95
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Me and my partner went there for a one year together no knowing that it would be the best time I ever had. I requested for a early check in and due to bad weather we did not get there till much later. When we arrived they said we would not have to pay for the early book in as we was late. The staff was very friendly and helpful all the way. We had a room over looking the beach and a four poster bed and it was very clean. I know it looks a bit out of date but it added to the charm of the place. The second night we went out for a meal and my partner proposed to me on the peer and it made the best Holiday ever. Been back since and still love it. The kings will always hold a special place in my heart. We went in January 2010 not January 2013 would not let me go that for back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Great to read you had a wonderful time at the hotel and hope you will come back in the future to celebrate.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I've stayed here a few times over the years and always have a great stay. The beds are comfy, lots of hot water in bathroom, and a very good value breakfast. The hotel has all you need but is a bit no frills, but you get more than you'd expect for the price. We took our dog and it was a little expensive as this cost an extra £25, but the staff were great and we didn't feel out of place having the dog with us.
I love the location, on the front but a little walk from the main busiest areas,but a 2 minute walk to some great independent restaurants from all over the world

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karenish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on weds 24th, as soon as we got in to the hotel it was quick and simple to check in, our room was lovely had a sea view, nice size and comfy bed! breakfast was nice, happy to offer more tea and fresh juice :-) for £55 for the night including breakfast you couldn't ask for more! Would defiantly stay again :-) x

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodenalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I booked into this hotel whilst staying in Brighton on a business trip. I was expecting to give my credit card over as normal on booking in but was told that I had to pay in advance. I asked for a VAT receipt but was told that this would not be available until the morning even though I had just paid. The room was ok, the en-suite shower room really tight with no light in the shower. Breakfast was limited and I was permitted just one small glass of orange juice and one cup of tea. I ordered the full English which was all overcooked apart from the fried egg which had clearly been cooked to order even though it did take over 15 minutes to arrive. I found the atmosphere unwelcoming and could see little to recommend the hotel other than it's proximity to the seaside and Brighton town centre.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amdriver_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

I would not stay here again or recommend it to anyone else. You're better off paying a bit more and staying somewhere else on the seafront. We stayed four nights, (paid £15 a day for parking) and basically got three hours sleep the whole time due to hotel parties and some woman who I swear was running some prostitution business out of her room. The walls are paper thin and you can hear everything inside and outside. We weren't placed near the street either. The bathroom was clean but the carpets were a bit questionable, the window let in a draft and the bed felt like sleeping on wood. Staff wasn't very friendly. Other than that the hotel is in a great location.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UberMoogster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Running out of hotels to try in this popular destination for me, this one has to take a place in my top list now. Friendly and helpful staff. Clean, well kept, well maintained and comfortable room, and to top it off, a fantastic location.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulyk1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Great to read your review and we look forward to continuing to welcome you back to the hotel.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
The Brighton Hotel
The Brighton Hotel
#18 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.4 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
0.2 mi away
Britannia Study Hotel
Britannia Study Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Hotel

Property: Kings Hotel
Address: 139-141 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2NA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of Brighton's rich heritage and it's vibrant seaside lifestyle of today when staying at the Kings Hotel Brighton on Brighton Seafront. Housed in 3 lovingly restored Regency mansions, The Kings Hotel Brighton enjoys a prime location on Brighton's famous seafront. The hotel is steps away from the beach, Brighton Conference Centre and the great shops and entertainment venues of the town centre. You can expect a warm welcome from the friendly team at The Kings Hotel Brighton. Reception is open 24 hours a day, so no matter what time you arrive, a member of staff will be on hand to greet you and offer local information. Each of the 96 bedrooms at this sea front hotel has been appointed with care and style. All rooms are en-suite and offer every comfort needed for a relaxing stay. Many of the rooms boast exceptional sea views. Each room type at The Kings Hotel Brighton is designed for complete comfort. Family rooms and bedrooms adapted for the complete accessibility of guests with mobility difficulties are available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing