We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel by the beach and not too far from town”
Review of Kings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kings Hotel
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice hotel by the beach and not too far from town”
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay here for a couple days in January. I had a room on the 5th floor, so having the lift was nice. The single room was cosy but the bathroom was a reasonable size, as in I didn't have to manoeuvre myself around the door to use the toilet. The staff were friendly and helpful, although a bit of a drag that you can only use the free wifi in the common areas but hey, it was free. Not too long of a walk into town, took me about 20min from Brighton Pier and I walk quite slow. And not too far from a bunch of restaurants up Preston Street.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kizy_W5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your review of the hotel after your recent stay. I was pleased to read you found the location of the hotel good with plenty of restaurants in the vacinity. I am looking into the WIFI to extend it to all areas of the hotel. Hopefully if you retrun again we will have this sorted for you.

Look forward to welcoming you back again.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    518
    375
    202
    180
See reviews for
217
683
97
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We booked to stop over after concert.The hotel is on the from west of the Brighton Centre so has advantage of being away from the noise of revellers which can go on into the early hours! We had booked a standard room but were persuaded to upgrade for a modest £10 extra. This did prove to be a mistake as the radiators barely worked so was a bit parky in December! Staff friendly and offered to change the room but as we wanted to eat before concert we decided to stay put and got an electric heater. The room otherwise was large and spotlessly clean - as was all parts of the hotel we saw. Pleasant bar area to relax in. Pleasant surprise to have waitress service rather than normal and often unappetizing buffet, basic but a reasonable choice. On checking out we were refunded the upgrade amount with no quibble. Will certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your review and great to hear you will use the hotel again in the future. I apologise that on this occasion you had an issue with the heating and was please to read the staff refunded the upgrade monies. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future perhaps when you are going to another concert at the Brighton Centre.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I.O.W.
Level Contributor
127 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Just spent two nights in this seafront hotel. The rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious. View was great and breakfast basic but hot! Staff were very attentive and helpful.Would go back when visiting Brighton.

Room Tip: Traffic noise could be a problem so a room on a high floor could be quieter- there are lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shankliniow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your recent review after your stay at the hotel. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff were helpful. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Last minute decision and booking, hence a small room, but adequate for 1 night as right on the seafront. Staff very friendly and chatty, polite and efficient. Best value parking 2 mins walk at Regent Square, £12.50 for 24 hours, many others double this price!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for recent review and I was please that you enjoyed your stay being a last minute decision. I hope you will use the hotel again in the future should you be visiting the city.

Car Parking is a challenge in Brighton and being close the the Regency Square car park is a bonus for the hotel.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth Uk
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

stayed this New Year with my wife. This was all arranged very last minute through lastminute.com
A comfortable stay in a nicely decorated room with On Suite. Looked like it had recently been refurbished.
A lift to the 4th floor was very welcome and the room was pleasant with TV and drink making facilities.
The bar on the ground floor was good and all the staff freindly and helpful.
We didn't eat here so i cannot comment on the quality of the food. However, the dinning area looked great with a view over the road to the beach.
Despite the revelry going on around, we both had a very good nights sleep and would have no hesitation in recomending this place to stay.
Total cost £126.
Downside: Nowhere to park. Had to use the nearest NCP car park in Regents Square at a cost of £12.50 fo 24 hours. In fairness, it is only a couple of minutes walk so not much of a downside.

Room Tip: we were offered an upgrade for £15 just to be at the front of the building. Just take the standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grabearPortsmouthUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent review and I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay. I hope you enjoyed your New Year celebrations. Unfortunately Brighton is a challenging city when it comes to parking.

I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel for a future break.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Just returned from one nite stay at The Kings, comfortable pleasant decor throughout, bargain for £45 double room, slept ok. Apart from strong winds very noisy but not hotels fault!! Breakfast tasty including cereals teas, coffees, as much toast you like, all staff pleasant throughout our stay! Have stayed in far worse in Sussex for double price. Beats travel lodge any day,
Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samborder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your review after your recent stay at the Kings Hotel. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of one of our offers.

I hope we can welcome you back when you next require accommodation in the Brighton area.


Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
508 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

I stayed overnight here last weekend in a single room, for £75 including breakfast, ( one of only a few places I could find under 3 figures a month before). Check in was friendly, but you have to sign a contact with all the rules on it. Plus they insist on a swip of your card. The room was basically the size of a cell, with only one small window in a alcove around a piller. There was a very tight on-suite bathroom. Just as well i'm not a big guy! Well I'm only here for a night I thought.. There was a few bits of furniture in the room, including a chair jambed into the end of the bed and the pillar. On a plus side, the bed was wider than a reg. single, but it was up against the wall. There was a small flat screen Tv, and tea making facilities. Once I'd got my suitcase in there there wasn't a whole heap of space left.
That night the bed was comfortable, but as my head was only a foot or two from door, which had a clear 1/4 of a inch to move against it's frame, rattling everytime other doors closed in the corridor, also allowing lots of corridor noise in. Also there was the nice sound of running water from toilets been flushed above. Ear plugs solved those problems. Biggest problem was the heat, it was like a sauna in my room, and with the small window tucked around a pillar only opening 2 inches not been a great help! Maybe they only allow the window to open that small an amount so you can't jump of it! Needless to say I didn't get a great deal of sleep.. Breakfast was in a pleasant room with a view of the beach front, alas tho the food was very average.
Overall all view- i've stayed in much worse hotels, mainly in Asia and Africa.. Next time in Brighton, I'd stay at one of the bigger branded hotels booking as soon as possible.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank JerseyBoy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for your review and I apologise that the hotel on this occasion did not meet your expectations. You booked a single room however should you have required a bigger room you could have had a double for single occupancy which would still have been under 3 figures on your chosen date. I was pleased to read that the staff were friendly and it is standard practice in the majority of hotels to take a swipe of a guest credit cards and complete a registration card which does confirm that hotel is a non smoking establishment. Again fairly standard with hotel since the smoking ban was implemented. I apologise you felt the hotel was too warm and I can confirm that the window restriction is a health and safety regulation and unfortunately is to stop people jumping ! Perhaps on your next visit to Brighton you will consider a double room for single occupancy.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
The Brighton Hotel
The Brighton Hotel
#21 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.2 mi away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#18 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,047 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Hotel

Property: Kings Hotel
Address: 139-141 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2NA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of Brighton's rich heritage and it's vibrant seaside lifestyle of today when staying at the Kings Hotel Brighton on Brighton Seafront. Housed in 3 lovingly restored Regency mansions, The Kings Hotel Brighton enjoys a prime location on Brighton's famous seafront. The hotel is steps away from the beach, Brighton Conference Centre and the great shops and entertainment venues of the town centre. You can expect a warm welcome from the friendly team at The Kings Hotel Brighton. Reception is open 24 hours a day, so no matter what time you arrive, a member of staff will be on hand to greet you and offer local information. Each of the 96 bedrooms at this sea front hotel has been appointed with care and style. All rooms are en-suite and offer every comfort needed for a relaxing stay. Many of the rooms boast exceptional sea views. Each room type at The Kings Hotel Brighton is designed for complete comfort. Family rooms and bedrooms adapted for the complete accessibility of guests with mobility difficulties are available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing