We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for one night!”
Review of Kings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kings Hotel
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“OK for one night!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Last minute decision and booking, hence a small room, but adequate for 1 night as right on the seafront. Staff very friendly and chatty, polite and efficient. Best value parking 2 mins walk at Regent Square, £12.50 for 24 hours, many others double this price!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for recent review and I was please that you enjoyed your stay being a last minute decision. I hope you will use the hotel again in the future should you be visiting the city.

Car Parking is a challenge in Brighton and being close the the Regency Square car park is a bonus for the hotel.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    529
    389
    207
    184
See reviews for
228
701
100
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth Uk
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

stayed this New Year with my wife. This was all arranged very last minute through lastminute.com
A comfortable stay in a nicely decorated room with On Suite. Looked like it had recently been refurbished.
A lift to the 4th floor was very welcome and the room was pleasant with TV and drink making facilities.
The bar on the ground floor was good and all the staff freindly and helpful.
We didn't eat here so i cannot comment on the quality of the food. However, the dinning area looked great with a view over the road to the beach.
Despite the revelry going on around, we both had a very good nights sleep and would have no hesitation in recomending this place to stay.
Total cost £126.
Downside: Nowhere to park. Had to use the nearest NCP car park in Regents Square at a cost of £12.50 fo 24 hours. In fairness, it is only a couple of minutes walk so not much of a downside.

Room Tip: we were offered an upgrade for £15 just to be at the front of the building. Just take the standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grabearPortsmouthUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent review and I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay. I hope you enjoyed your New Year celebrations. Unfortunately Brighton is a challenging city when it comes to parking.

I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel for a future break.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Just returned from one nite stay at The Kings, comfortable pleasant decor throughout, bargain for £45 double room, slept ok. Apart from strong winds very noisy but not hotels fault!! Breakfast tasty including cereals teas, coffees, as much toast you like, all staff pleasant throughout our stay! Have stayed in far worse in Sussex for double price. Beats travel lodge any day,
Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samborder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your review after your recent stay at the Kings Hotel. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of one of our offers.

I hope we can welcome you back when you next require accommodation in the Brighton area.


Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
524 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

I stayed overnight here last weekend in a single room, for £75 including breakfast, ( one of only a few places I could find under 3 figures a month before). Check in was friendly, but you have to sign a contact with all the rules on it. Plus they insist on a swip of your card. The room was basically the size of a cell, with only one small window in a alcove around a piller. There was a very tight on-suite bathroom. Just as well i'm not a big guy! Well I'm only here for a night I thought.. There was a few bits of furniture in the room, including a chair jambed into the end of the bed and the pillar. On a plus side, the bed was wider than a reg. single, but it was up against the wall. There was a small flat screen Tv, and tea making facilities. Once I'd got my suitcase in there there wasn't a whole heap of space left.
That night the bed was comfortable, but as my head was only a foot or two from door, which had a clear 1/4 of a inch to move against it's frame, rattling everytime other doors closed in the corridor, also allowing lots of corridor noise in. Also there was the nice sound of running water from toilets been flushed above. Ear plugs solved those problems. Biggest problem was the heat, it was like a sauna in my room, and with the small window tucked around a pillar only opening 2 inches not been a great help! Maybe they only allow the window to open that small an amount so you can't jump of it! Needless to say I didn't get a great deal of sleep.. Breakfast was in a pleasant room with a view of the beach front, alas tho the food was very average.
Overall all view- i've stayed in much worse hotels, mainly in Asia and Africa.. Next time in Brighton, I'd stay at one of the bigger branded hotels booking as soon as possible.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank JerseyBoy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for your review and I apologise that the hotel on this occasion did not meet your expectations. You booked a single room however should you have required a bigger room you could have had a double for single occupancy which would still have been under 3 figures on your chosen date. I was pleased to read that the staff were friendly and it is standard practice in the majority of hotels to take a swipe of a guest credit cards and complete a registration card which does confirm that hotel is a non smoking establishment. Again fairly standard with hotel since the smoking ban was implemented. I apologise you felt the hotel was too warm and I can confirm that the window restriction is a health and safety regulation and unfortunately is to stop people jumping ! Perhaps on your next visit to Brighton you will consider a double room for single occupancy.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Expensive, tatty, poorly furnished. Chipped tiles and chipped enamelled bath, gaps in the grouting and sealant, minimal and dated furnishings - red 'leatherette, chairs with ripped seats, poor sound-proofing - TV in next room, no double glazing and all for £125 per night! Breakfast - awful. Thick coffee mugs, no saucers, plain wooden tables, full English breakfast less than adequate. Ancient and slow lift, a rabbit warren if you try and find the right staircase.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 186338david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for your review and I apologise that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations. I can confirm that the chairs in the bedrooms have been replace and was one of the first things I started arranging when I joined the hotel on the 1st October. Unfortunately I cannot change that rabbit warren. The hotel is a series of converted town houses which make it difficult to have one main staircase and straight corridors. Once again I apologise we did not meet your expectations.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This hotel is like faulty towers. If it wasnt for the fact that myself and my Husband have a sense of humour I would be crying as I write this.

Staying here I will take responsibility for, as I was meaning to book The Queens and booked The Kings instead - something I will take to my grave. I booked here for one night to take my Husband away for his Birthday.

I would say that the only plus side was "Daniel" at the Reception who was friendly and chatty when booking us in. We too were offered to upgrade for £5 - I dread to think what the room would have been had we not done this. The maze to our room was a fragrant one that smelt of toilet duck and bathroom cleaner. We could also smell fresh paint, but clearly that never made it to our end of the hotel.

Our room was nasty. It resembled a room in a Home for OAP's. It was on street level and you were looking at everything passing by. The blinds did not reach the bottom of the windows. The chair at the dressing table was really uncomfortable. The bed just looked so cheap and I will say that since returning home this morning, I have red lumps on my legs!!! When I ran the bath, there was a hair floating in it, and it wasnt mine!!! When walking around the room the cupboard shook so much and made a noise, that I actually checked to make sure someone wasnt in there trying to get out. When we left the hotel to go on our much needed night out, there was what appeared to be a used piece of toilet paper left in the corridor. This too was waiting for us a few hours later on our return to our cell.

I can honestly say that this hotel was such a disappointment and that we will never be returning again. If you are thinking of booking here, please save yourself the misery and book somewhere else.

Room Tip: Dont stay here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAW01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
I was disappointed to read your review of the hotel after your recent stay and I apologise that we did not meet your expectations. The hotel is a series of converted Victorian town houses which is why the corridors sometimes feels like a maze. We do have ground floor rooms however I am not aware of any blind which does not fit the window. From your review I do not know what room you stayed in and I will check the few ground floor rooms to see if there is an issue with any of the blinds. I have spoken to Daniel and he did not have any reported complaints over the weekend.
Once again I apologise that we did not meet your expectations.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

At checkin we were given the option to upgrade to a king size room (the new room was actually very small and the "king size" bed was a standard double) then charged for the privilege of upgrading (??!). The lift looked like someone had let a machine gun off in there little bullet marks everywhere... Worse of all though was at checkout where we were told we were being charge an extra £5 because we were checking out after 11am. When we questioned why we were not forewarned of this the manager said "it's not our job to warn you". When my husband refused to pay the fine the manager said "you've signed a contract so you have to pay". We refused. It was the most disappointing check-out experience we have ever had leaving us feeling as though we were the target of a scam. Basically. They are con merchants with zero customer service.

Absolutely dreadful. The staff in this place couldn't give a damn about the customer.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
I was disappointed to read your review and I apologise we did not meet your expecations. I understand you were called at 11.55am to explain that check out time was 11.00am and details can be found on our registartation card and your guest room directory. Arrangements can be made in advance for late check-out should this have been a requirement of your stay. I am sorry to hear that you feel you have been ripped off due to yourlate departure.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,564 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 44 in Brighton
2,103 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
7,326 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Brighton Hotel
The Brighton Hotel
#21 of 44 in Brighton
1,273 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Hotel

Property: Kings Hotel
Address: 139-141 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2NA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of Brighton's rich heritage and it's vibrant seaside lifestyle of today when staying at the Kings Hotel Brighton on Brighton Seafront. Housed in 3 lovingly restored Regency mansions, The Kings Hotel Brighton enjoys a prime location on Brighton's famous seafront. The hotel is steps away from the beach, Brighton Conference Centre and the great shops and entertainment venues of the town centre. You can expect a warm welcome from the friendly team at The Kings Hotel Brighton. Reception is open 24 hours a day, so no matter what time you arrive, a member of staff will be on hand to greet you and offer local information. Each of the 96 bedrooms at this sea front hotel has been appointed with care and style. All rooms are en-suite and offer every comfort needed for a relaxing stay. Many of the rooms boast exceptional sea views. Each room type at The Kings Hotel Brighton is designed for complete comfort. Family rooms and bedrooms adapted for the complete accessibility of guests with mobility difficulties are available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing