We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kings Hotel
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
west sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Excellent value if you get discount deals online.
Staff very friendly, very clean and breakfast fine.
Dogs allowed but at £25 a night higher than many other hotels in Brighton.

Room Tip: Check prices as they vary a lot from website to website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestSussexMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    428
    327
    190
    169
See reviews for
179
572
85
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Being only 18 years old, me and my boyfreind had never stayed in a hotel before and were quite apprehensive about what to expect, after reading some reviews we were slightly worried, however after staying for three nights we were extremely pleased with the hotel and couldn't agree less with the criticism we had seen previously! The room was small, however this isn't a problem if your not exactly spending lots of time in there, the facilities were great, the TV had a range of channels (better than my one at home!) and the shower was fine, yes there could have been some updates for example grouting in the bathroom, but for what your paying.. you cant fault it. The receptionists were lovely, always smiling and greeting us when we walked in and out of the building, and were keen to answer any questions we had about Brighton, the restaraunt staff were kind in lending us plates and cutlery for our chinease take away! The location was fabulous, right on the sea front, only a few minutes walk from the shops and restaraunts. Had a superb time and would reccomend this hotel in an instance, so much that for my interview at Brighton University, im coming to stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lauren c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights. On arrival rooms were not ready. Rooms are not available until 3pm on the day you arrive. We had asked for an earlier check in and were told we could have one but when we got the hotel staff said that this was not possible. There is a little area in reception where you can leave your luggage for no charge. The hotel is very central and is a 10 minute walk from The Brighton Centre and also from Brighton Railway Station. A taxi from the station cost cost £7.00 for 4 people and £9.00 for 5 or more people. Churchill Square mall is very close by and the laines are a 15 minute stroll from the hotel at a maximum. The shopping here is wonderful especially if you like quirky items. Rooms were generously sized but were a blank canvas. There were no pictures to brighten up magnolia walls. Other rooms did have a bit of wallpaper to brighten them up. These tended to be on the second floor so if you prefer a bit of colour ask for a second floor room and not a ground floor one. Bathrooms were fairly small too. Second floor rooms also had a bath as well as a shower. Could not fault the cleanliness of the hotel and the hotel is well heated. The beds are very comfortable. Bar area was lovely as was the restaurant. The hotel do not serve evening meals but if you are hungry after a night on the tiles toasties are available 24 hours a day at a cost of £4.95. They are very nice too. Breakfast was lovely and served hot. You help yourself to cereals and toast but are given a choice of breakfasts. There is a traditional english breakfast, vegetarian breakfast, fish breakfast, granola, pancakes and if you prefer fresh fruit can be ordered. Coffee and tea is plentiful.

Room Tip: Choose a second floor room as they have more colour to them and also have a bath as well as a shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheshires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Stayed for three nights. Room on the 4th floor - looked sort of newly decorated but very poor. Bathroom really rough. All credit to our cleaning lady who managed to make the room and bathroom look very clean.

Breakfast was tasteless; did not bother to get up on the last two mornings ate out. Staff at breakfast were all over the place - if they did not understand what you were requesting they just smiled and walked off ?????

Would I go back - No

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KentArchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

I stayed here for a night via the lastminute.com 'secret hotels' offer after my boiler blew up, leaving me heating and hot waterless at home!

I paid the grand sum of £36.55 for my room, which was a double on the 5th floor. The room was quite small, but perfectly adequate and the bed comfy - and the bathroom had hot water, so job was done as far as I was concerned!

Amenity wise, you get a TV, tea and coffee facilities (albeit with that nasty UHT milk and no fridge, but then what do you expect for that price?!) and WiFI, although this doesn't work on the upper floors of the hotel. If you're visiting Brighton it's in a great position, very close to the town centre and situated right on the seafront. Yes, there are better equipped hotels about, but you'll need a better equipped wallet to stay in them.

In short, if you're after a cheap stay, you couldn't really ask for much more. I'd definitely go again :)

Room Tip: I was on the fifth floor (no WiFi coverage) and on the side of the building, so no seaview. Sea fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richdanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I booked a deluxe sea view room with King bed through Hotels.com website.  Unfortunately it was neither deluxe nor a king bed, not a proper hotel king bed.

The furniture seemed okay and coordinated and serviceable and except for huge rips in the armchair!  Why did they bother leaving the chair in the room?

Went straight back to reception and spoke to the Reservations Manager who told me the room was deluxe because it was a larger room (? Seemed a Normal size double to me) and that the bed itself should have been advertised as a double not a King. I emailed the booking to her as requested. As for the ripped chair she said it must have been the last guests and the hotel were not made aware of it as yet.  Interestingly, you will see a review on here in November also mentioning the ripped chair in the same first floor deluxe sea view room!!!

Had a very uncomfortable night as the springs could be felt through mattress so just could not stay the further night booked and checked out.  The reservations manager spoke to me and changed from saying the bed should have been advertised as a double to... She measured a similar bed which was a king size! I asked for refund for 2nd night because of the poor night and she told me they couldn't refund as I had paid Hotels.com not them.  You will notice a similar theme for people who could not spend another night there.

I contacted Hotels.com who phoned the hotel to see if they were willing to refund the second night under the circumstances which they refused.  Hotels.com had to make the grand gesture and refunded instead, which was gratefully accepted... But shouldn't the Hotel take responsibility?

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BigMac2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Staff very friendly and helpful, but on arrival we were shown our room which was supposed to be Superior and was very small and dark, so I went back to the reception and we were offered another room, which was larger and lighter, and we got upgraded to a superior de-luxe sea view room wich was lovely and newley decorated.
The hotel is in a fantastic location right on the front and it is clean, as the manager pointed out, it is a three star hotel and is not pretending to be anything else.
A pleasant stay, ok for a night or so, would we go back, only in the superior deluxe room.
Bed was ultracomfortable, and the breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: Room 301 Sea view superior de-luxe
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
The Brighton Hotel
The Brighton Hotel
#19 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 stars 1,042 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#5 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 stars 650 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 1,969 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#15 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 stars 1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Hotel

Property: Kings Hotel
Address: 139-141 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2NA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of Brighton's rich heritage and it's vibrant seaside lifestyle of today when staying at the Kings Hotel Brighton on Brighton Seafront. Housed in 3 lovingly restored Regency mansions, The Kings Hotel Brighton enjoys a prime location on Brighton's famous seafront. The hotel is steps away from the beach, Brighton Conference Centre and the great shops and entertainment venues of the town centre. You can expect a warm welcome from the friendly team at The Kings Hotel Brighton. Reception is open 24 hours a day, so no matter what time you arrive, a member of staff will be on hand to greet you and offer local information. Each of the 96 bedrooms at this sea front hotel has been appointed with care and style. All rooms are en-suite and offer every comfort needed for a relaxing stay. Many of the rooms boast exceptional sea views. Each room type at The Kings Hotel Brighton is designed for complete comfort. Family rooms and bedrooms adapted for the complete accessibility of guests with mobility difficulties are available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Otel, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing