We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK”
Review of Kings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kings Hotel
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Booked one night last minute for somewhere to stay after a friends birthday, I think I got it alot cheaper than the standard rate. Booked a superior room, but it was in the basement with a view of a wall. Room was very large and bathroom clean and functional, shower was abit weak in the morning, and there was something odd going on with the toilet which when flushed made a horrific noise (apologies to the nearby guest who made a complaint about the noise of it, we didnt mean to wake you up at 1am!!) Breakfast was ok, although i wish they'd cook the toast for you rather than having to joining a queue to cook your own. They serve breakfast in the restaurant which is a pretty room with a sea view. The reception area is very nice and the bar was relaxed and comfy. I'd stay here again, but I'd want a sea view! As stated before its hard to find a nice hotel in Brighton!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cee021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,710)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,412 - 1,418 of 1,710 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here over 3 evenings in May. We checked in late and were greeted by a friendly enough young lady with a foreign accent. Our room was on the 4th floor but strangely the lift did not stop here. We had to go up to the 5th floor and walk down with our cases.

The room was very minimal. Not quite cramped but just big enough to accomodate the two of us.

The bathroom seemed clinical and the shower weak. This was a shame as I'd expect such a well established, beach-front hotel, to provide more character.

To be honest, I booked quite last minute and was just glad to get somewhere for a special weekend. The Kings was used as an exploration base for the delights of Brighton.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

This hotel is advertised as a 3 star and in my opinion that is about right, we stayed in a deluxe double room which was spotlessly clean and with a fantastic veiwe, the hotel in general could do with a face lift or at least a good lick of paint, we had the breakfast in the morning which was disappointing, no table cloths on the tables cutlery in a pot and sachets of condiments, the food was good with refills of coffee tea and orange juice, I must say that the biggest plus of this Hotel was the staff, from receptionists to the waitresses all was very welcoming helpful and polite a credit to the Hotel, all considered a very pleasant stay even if a bit overpriced

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Briankath40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

The rooms range from a normal size down to "can't get between the bed and the wall". I got the later and the look of it was NOTHING like the pictures. The carpet was older than me and heavily stained. The wallpaper wasn't pretty when they put it up and it was a long time ago. The staff was understanding but fully booked and couldn't do anything. My friends room was incredibly hot, about 30C which is pretty much unbearable. They were lent a dusty fan which made zero difference unless you put your face in it. The daily cleaning was ok i suppose but the bathroom fittings hadn't really been scrubbed in a long time. Staff were nice and service minded but they somehow looked as they were aware and would rather work in a nicer hotel.
The hotel is located as close to the sea as it gets in Brighton and views are probably nice if you get one. There are other options in the same price class closer to town also facing the sea, stay in one of those in stead. This hotel wasn't built fancy and now it's old. I find that I only review bad hotels, im a value for money type person and this one didn't quite deliver.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShadyHeidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

2 nights booked for Pride weekend. Superior room (not sea view) with nice furnishings, clean etc. No a/c and window locked down to a small slit so a bit warm during day.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank titter-ye-not
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel whilst on a sightseeing trip to London and Brighton. The hotel is well located - on the seafront and only a short walk from the train station. It is a traditional 'old style' hotel. Our room was good - spacious and the bathroom was really big - lovely and bright and airy. There was a flat screen tv in the room and tea/coffee facilities.

We stayed for bed and breakfast. The breakfast was very good - waiter/waitress served - and a choice from the menu; my daughter chose the fresh fruit/yogurt pancakes which was delicious and she couldnt finish it all it was so filling. I had bacon and scrambled eggs and it was all very good quality.

My only little complaint woiuld be that we werent allowed into the room iuuntil 3pm and this was a nuisance as we arrived from the train station at 12.30pm in the rain. However they let us leave the luggage in the foyer until 3pm.

A good value for money hotel

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelMary74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

The hotel staff were really nice and helpful. Room small but fine and given that it was on the seafront it was really good value for money. I booked with lastminute and got £633 for 7 nights with breakfast.

The breakfast was good with a choice of traditional english, fresh fruit, fish and veggie plus cornflake snd toast.

My teenager was able to hook up his PS3 to the printer so he was happy. WIFI is also free.

So all in all a good play to stay.



room was small but fine but given that

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janineamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.9 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
870 reviews
0 mi away
The Brighton Hotel
The Brighton Hotel
#24 of 43 in Brighton
1,348 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#18 of 43 in Brighton
2,414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.2 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Hotel

Address: 139-141 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2NA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: $67 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of Brighton's rich heritage and it's vibrant seaside lifestyle of today when staying at the Kings Hotel Brighton on Brighton Seafront. Housed in 3 lovingly restored Regency mansions, The Kings Hotel Brighton enjoys a prime location on Brighton's famous seafront. The hotel is steps away from the beach, Brighton Conference Centre and the great shops and entertainment venues of the town centre. You can expect a warm welcome from the friendly team at The Kings Hotel Brighton. Reception is open 24 hours a day, so no matter what time you arrive, a member of staff will be on hand to greet you and offer local information. Each of the 96 bedrooms at this sea front hotel has been appointed with care and style. All rooms are en-suite and offer every comfort needed for a relaxing stay. Many of the rooms boast exceptional sea views. Each room type at The Kings Hotel Brighton is designed for complete comfort. Family rooms and bedrooms adapted for the complete accessibility of guests with mobility difficulties are available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing