We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very enjoyable Easter break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Essex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable Easter break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We are a family of three - two adults and one child. We stay at the Hilton once a year for 2 nights every year in the school Easter Holidays. We normally book using an advance purchase around October time the previousl year and this year we returned to booking the bed and breakfast and dinner on the first night option as my daughter wantedto eat in the lovely restaurant again. We are so pleased we did! The previous time we ate in the restaurant on the advance purchase nearly everything was surcharged. We were very pleasantly surprised that on this occasion you could have anything from the menu. we had scallops to start - followed by the lamb - finished off with a lemmon posset? -meal was divine and the service was absolutely impeccable. Their was a spanish waiter who was returning to spain for the birth of his first baby - we wish you all the best.

whilst I am on the subject of food - the breakfasts at the Hilton are wonderful. The best we have had anywhere.

Our room was okay - the mirror in the bathroom had been smashed and was held together by tape but the beds were comfy and you aren't in the room that much. The Hitlon seem to have done away with leaving biscuits for their guests but I suppose all hotel chains are making cut backs.

Their is a swimming pool - sauna - steam room and jacuzzi which all guests can use which lovely to while away a couple of hours. Their is also a gym and spa but we didn't use these facilities.

for the first time ever the sun was shining on our break! which was a welcome experience!

See you next year!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BraddersEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard L, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review.

It is always a pleasure to read when our guests have enjoyed their stay with us and found that the service provided by our team made your stay more enjoyable.

Your positive comments on your dining experience in our Waterhouse restaurant have been shared with our Executive Head Chef, Restaurant Manager and their teams.

I look forward to you and your family returning next Easter.

Regards
Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    775
    1,094
    1,036
    667
    480
See reviews for
659
1,423
198
977
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (847)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We have stayed at the Hilton for the Brighton marathon for the last 2 years and stayed in the same 2 interconnecting rooms. We were somewhat surprised therefore, to be told that the fridge still wasn't working this year!!! The street noise was louder & more annoying than I previously remember. The rooms are reasonably clean and comfortable but are overpriced for the quality of the general hotel facilities. The hotel leisure club ladies changing room was a disgrace. There was mould and rotten wood everywhere, the sinks were completely blocked and one of the 3 showers was broken and looked like it had been for some time. It was also extremely frustrating to not be able to swim with our children after 6pm on a Sunday evening in a hotel pool??!! Think we will look at other options before booking again as 5 rooms here isn't cheap!!!

Room Tip: Double deluxe plus have good view and quite spacious but do have street noise til the early hours
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard L, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review.

I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with all aspects of your stay, I can confirm that our Livngwell changing room’s refurbishment programme will start on 19th May, which will see, showers, sinks, vanity units and tiles replaced.

Please accept my apologies for the disappointments you had with the hotel and be assured we are renovating and improving the hotel on a regular basis.

Regards
Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

After being given incorrect information by our travel service, we winded up at the Hilton. Front desk manager Alberto Fernanadez could have turned us away, buy he helped us contact the company, advocated for us, and saw that we were safely installed at our hotel. He went above and beyond to help us. Would definitely stay at this property and highly recommend its customer services.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leighkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard L, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you taking the time to add your review.

It is always a pleasure to read when one of our team has provided a wonderful experience and service. Your positive comments have been shared with both Alberto and our Front Desk Manager.

Regards
Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

The wedding services, ceremony, drinks, meal... were brilliant. The room was good - clean and a good size, with a sea view. The hotels seafront location was excellent and it was nice to be able to use the swimming pool.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank 786lesleyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard L, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us whilst celebrating your friend’s wedding.

Regards
Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at.
Dirty!!!! Taps not working
Pigeons flying in the room and bird poo over bath
It was cold
And very old decor in our room
It supposed to be lovely weekend for me and my wife
Instead my wife was crying by the end
And all they offered me was £40 what a joke

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Drdice1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard L, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review.

I was sorry to read of your disappointment on your recent stay, please accept my apologies for the standard of cleanliness and the condition of your room.

Your feed back has been shared with both my Chief Engineer and Rooms Divisions Manager. Once again, please accept my apologies for the disappointments you had with the hotel and be assured we are renovating and improving the hotel on a regular basis.

Regards
Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

This hotel has all the facade and beauty from the outside, but once inside and en route to your room, it changes, if not deteriorates completely. A last minute escape to the seaside turned out to be a deflated and very tiring outing. Tiring mainly due to the fact that we were kept awake by the people in the adjoining room until 3.30am. There was only a flimsy door separating the two rooms, and we could hear them as if they were in the room with us. Doors slamming constantly, music blaring, no regard for people sleeping. After we complained again they finally quietened down. We eventually got to sleep. However, at 8.15am, the maids and their trolleys were in full swing. The room we were in was right next to the back stairs, with no carpet on the stairs, everything echoed. It was truly like sleeping under a platform at a train station. The noise was unbelievable. I would honestly advise people to stay well away from this hotel. The pictures on their website are misleading and represent only a small percentage of the hotel. Most of it is tired and jaded looking much like how we were left feeling. Oh, and beware of the male staff at the pool. They sit around the desk and snigger at people in the pool. No hellos or goodbyes. Just disaffected and apathetic toward the clientele. A really awful place. NEVER AGAIN!!!!!

Room Tip: The only advice i can give is not to book room 276, or room 275 for that matter, as these two are ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard L, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review.

Please accept my apologies for the disturbed sleep you had during your stay. I have discussed your feedback with my night’s team and please be assured that where possible, the necessary action has already been instigated to ensure our guests have a restful stay.

I would like to thank you for taking the time to speak with our Guest Relations Manager the following morning regarding your stay and accepted his offer of good will.

Regards
Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
135 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

The lobby and breakfast area is lovely but the rooms are in dire need of a refurb.
The breakfast is lovely and the waiters/waitresses are very attentive.
The carpet and interior of the rooms need decorating ASAP. The bathroom I had seemed to have been decorated which was nice.
The outside needs a good paint job as well.
This could be a lovely hotel if they put a lick of paint on it and got some new carpets.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julieannboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard L, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review.

I am pleased o read that your stay with us was enjoyable, and you found the team here to be friendly & helpful. I can confirm that the hotel will continue to refurbish more of its bedrooms in 2014 and 2015.

Regards
Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,875 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#10 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Brighton Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Brighton Metropole

Property: Hilton Brighton Metropole
Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2FU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Brighton Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Brighton's seafront, the Hilton Brighton Metropole hotel offers charming Victorian elegance alongside modern convenience. This large South of England conference hotel has 340 guest rooms as well as 33 meeting rooms, including three exhibition halls. Enjoy the convenient location of this Brighton hotel, within easy reach of major travel links just off the A23 and only five minutes from Brighton station. Gatwick Airport is 30 minutes from Hilton Brighton Metropole, and Central London less than an hour by train. Stay connected at your guest room desk with WiFi. Family Rooms are equipped with a double and a single bed - ideal for those with small children. Relax in a comfortable Deluxe Room with views of Brighton seafront, or select a Hilton Suite for a roomy seafront home from home. Choose from a menu of modern European classics in the Waterhouse Restaurant. The Waterhouse Bar & Terrace serves Costa coffee and Afternoon Tea in an exquisite setting. Unwind on the sea-facing terrace with drinks and enjoy light meals during the day. Hilton Brighton Metropole offers a choice of flexible space, quality facilities and excellent service. Our Conference and Events Team will ensure that events are tailored to your needs. Unwind in the fully equipped fitness centre and indoor swimming pool, warm tired muscles in the steam room or be pampered and polished on the Beauty Rooms our on-site spa, or treat yourself to a haircut in Cove Hairdressers. Alternatively indulge in what has become a Hilton Brighton Metropole tradition, afternoon tea 'Seaside Delights' in the Waterhouse Bar & Terrace with one of our 'Perfectly Paired' cocktails, or dine in grandeur under the ornately corniced ceiling of Waterhouse Restaurant. Walk down the original 1890's marble staircase of Hilton Brighton Metropole, and out into the chic boutique-lined streets of central Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Brighton Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Brighton Metropole Hotel Brighton
Brighton Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing