We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great room/view/value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great room/view/value”
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed last week whilst attending a function at the Grand; great sea view room but spoilt by two things, heating had been left on full and windows closed, took 30 mins to even start to get ready to go out, taking gulps of fresh air through window. Two other couples at the function mentioned the same. Second thing, cheap tv on an angle mount sticking off wall. Both silly things that shouldn't take much to fix?

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Guy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard L, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review.

I was sorry to read of the issues you experienced and please accept my apologies. Your feedback has been discussed with the relevant members of my team to share with their teams.

Once again, thank you for your feedback, and I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    801
    1,114
    1,043
    676
    490
See reviews for
666
1,442
201
1,007
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (858)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Hotel very centrally located, right on the seafront so handy to get to all attractions and shopping areas. Beautiful old building with grand staircase and dining room with sea view and huge windows with the sun streaming in over breakfast. I would class this is a decent, functional hotel with some smart public areas rather than anything luxury.

The breakfast buffet was good – wide choice including cheese, meats, bread, pastries, cereals, fruit and hot buffet, with the option also of eggs, omelettes etc. being cooked to order. Big plus points for me were that breakfast went on until 11am at the weekend and checkout was at 12. I had a single room which still had a decent amount of space and had all the usual amenities, including kettle, hairdryer, iron, ironing board and in-room safe (and a fridge, which wasn’t cold). Good sized gym with wide variety of equipment – much better than the usual hotel size and standard.

Only two complaints. Firstly the temperature – unbearably hot in the bedroom and also very warm in the public rooms. There was no thermostat in the bedroom and only one of the windows would open, and only an inch, but there was a small plug-in fan that I had to have going all night. This was the first weekend in March, and it had turned suddenly warm so I will give the benefit of the doubt that the hotel was caught unaware on the temperature, but the fact that there was no aircon in the rooms (or my room certainly) would make me wary about staying in the warmer months. Secondly the shower only had one setting – scorching!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FiMacEdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard L, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review.

I am sorry to read that your room was not of the standard you expected and that it did not have air conditioning, not all of our rooms do and the exceptionally warm weather meant some of our rooms did become very hot as the heating had not been turn off in time.

I have asked my Chief Engineer and his team to investigate all temperatures of the showers in single room and take correct action where needed.

Once again, thank you for your feedback, and I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Okay, the hotel décor is a little tired in places, but it’s a huge building so refurbishment is probably like painting the Forth railway bridge. That said, I guess that if you are allocated a room which is yet to be modernised then you probably wouldn’t be so forgiving, but I had no qualms with the accommodation that I was allocated – all prior requests had been duly noted and served – high level room, away from the elevator and with feather pillows.

Rather than focus my review on the few communal areas of the hotel which are still awaiting a makeover, I have concentrated on the things that matter to me - customer service and food quality, and both of these were second to none throughout my stay. Every member of staff who served me during my three day visit was polite, friendly and efficient and I noticed how staff working in the background also fulfilled their roles both efficiently and quietly. Then there was the food! Every meal (two breakfasts, two lunches and one dinner) were of the highest quality and cooked to perfection.

It is very rare to be able to stay in a hotel where you cannot single out any aspect of service over the rest, but this was my experience during this visit. From check in, through to catering, waiter service, bar staff, concierge, housekeeping and check out, all were excellent. It takes a lot for me to write a Trip Advisor review where I allocate an Excellent rating, so well done the management and staff at the Brighton Metropole Hotel – thoroughly deserved!

Room Tip: Ask for a high level refurbished room with sea view if possible within your budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard L, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review.

I was delighted to read that you had thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your stay at the hotel. It is always a pleasure to read that the service provided by our team made your stay more enjoyable.

Your positive feedback has been discussed with the relevant members of my team to share within their departments.

Once again, thank you for your feedback, and I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed for one night in March 2014 & stayed in room 178 which wasn't a pleasant room. I nicknamed it 'the dungeon'. Windows didn't open and the air-con didn't work either.

Stayed at the hotel courtesy of my airmiles - if I had been paying the hotel rate in £'s I would have insisted on changing room.

Such a shame about the room as it let down the other good parts of the hotel - reception staff were very good & helpful, the facilities at the hotel were also very good (salon, bar etc).

Hotel location is excellent - close to everything in Brighton - shops, pier, Brighton Centre - all within short walking distance of the hotel.

Would only stay there again if I got a reasonable room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharmReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard L, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review.

Please accept my apologies for the shortfalls experienced during your stay. I have discussed your feedback with my Chief Engineer and have asked him to inspect room 178 and take appropriate action.

However I am pleased to read you found our team to be friendly and welcoming during your stay.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Regards
Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I was really looking forward to staying at the Hilton while I was attending a 3 day course. However I was so disappointed that it didn't live up to the Hilton name. I had booked a single room and when I walked in, it felt like I had been put in the forgotten box room. Ok, so it was clean as far as it could be but it was very tired looking. I think it's best if I write a list of my quibbles.....

Shower/bathroom seriously needs a revamp.
SOOO hot in the room, absolutely no air even with the window open. I didn't have a good night's sleep at all because it was so stuffy and claustrophobic, not great when you need to concentrate every day.
Carpet has seen better days.
Fridge wasn't cold!!!

On a positive note the towels were of good quality even though they could do with supplying a few more. There is tea/coffee facilities.

Onto breakfast, well that was un inspiring, cold porridge, rubber scramble eggs! You would be better to pop along to one of the coffee shops or cafes and get a decent breakfast.

Maybe the larger rooms are better, I don't know, but if you are a single person, I would not recommend this hotel at all. I booked this hotel because I was on my own and wanted to have somewhere to eat in the evening without having to wander around the streets at night looking for a restaurant. As it was, that's exactly what I did because I just wanted to get out. I have stayed in better guest houses for a fraction of the price so next time I visit Brighton that is exactly what I am going to do.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlemisswindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard L, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review.

Please accept my apologies for the shortfalls experienced during your stay. I have discussed your feedback with the relevant members of my team for them to review.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Regards
Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stayed overnight in a sea view room on a lovely sunny day at Brighton. The location was perfect right opposite the West pier. The room was well equipped , very clean and comfortable.

Staff were very helpful and efficient.

Breakfast was very enjoyable and the service was impeccable.

Room Tip: Excellent location right on the seafront
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesslie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard L, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

As you say the hotel does have a very good location on the beach front making it a great base to explore the local area and all the attractions Brighton has to offer.

Once again, thank you for your feedback, and I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stayed at this hotel one night, room good view, wet dirty carpet, warm fridge that smelt of sewage, old dirty bathroom. Dined in the hotel and had a very upset tum, spent most of the night on the loo. Tried to have a swim when arrived but pool was full of children. So much for a romantic weekend,

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brightonlover2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard L, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review.

Please accept my apologies for the disappointment you had with both your room and the hotel, please be assured we are renovating and improving the hotel on a regular basis.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Regards
Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,036 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#11 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Brighton Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Brighton Metropole

Property: Hilton Brighton Metropole
Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2FU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Brighton Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Brighton's seafront, the Hilton Brighton Metropole hotel offers charming Victorian elegance alongside modern convenience. This large South of England conference hotel has 340 guest rooms as well as 33 meeting rooms, including three exhibition halls. Enjoy the convenient location of this Brighton hotel, within easy reach of major travel links just off the A23 and only five minutes from Brighton station. Gatwick Airport is 30 minutes from Hilton Brighton Metropole, and Central London less than an hour by train. Stay connected at your guest room desk with WiFi. Family Rooms are equipped with a double and a single bed - ideal for those with small children. Relax in a comfortable Deluxe Room with views of Brighton seafront, or select a Hilton Suite for a roomy seafront home from home. Choose from a menu of modern European classics in the Waterhouse Restaurant. The Waterhouse Bar & Terrace serves Costa coffee and Afternoon Tea in an exquisite setting. Unwind on the sea-facing terrace with drinks and enjoy light meals during the day. Hilton Brighton Metropole offers a choice of flexible space, quality facilities and excellent service. Our Conference and Events Team will ensure that events are tailored to your needs. Unwind in the fully equipped fitness centre and indoor swimming pool, warm tired muscles in the steam room or be pampered and polished on the Beauty Rooms our on-site spa, or treat yourself to a haircut in Cove Hairdressers. Alternatively indulge in what has become a Hilton Brighton Metropole tradition, afternoon tea 'Seaside Delights' in the Waterhouse Bar & Terrace with one of our 'Perfectly Paired' cocktails, or dine in grandeur under the ornately corniced ceiling of Waterhouse Restaurant. Walk down the original 1890's marble staircase of Hilton Brighton Metropole, and out into the chic boutique-lined streets of central Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Brighton Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Brighton Metropole Hotel Brighton
Brighton Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing