We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated Rooms and Very Expensive food and drink”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Stayed here only as friends were for a 30th birthday gathering. Reception welcome was good, charged for car park which was ok, but not prewarned, however felt completely ripped off by the completely ridiculous food and drink prices, which also had a 10% service charged added over the bar! Rooms clean but very dated and small, the worst rooms I have stayed in for many years and I am a frequent traveller.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank NicolaLeaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian M, Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to add your review.

We are in the process of starting a bedrrom refurbishment programme this year l am pleased to tell . Our F&B pricing is inline with other similar properties in the city.

I hope we get the chance to welcome you back soon in the near future.

Kind Regards

Damian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,514)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,823 - 2,829 of 4,514 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014

We had a weekend stay in this hotel and it`s apsolutely amazing weekend! very large room with large bathroom and balcony, very nice sea view room on high floor!!! i will come back summer time again in every year i think! staff also helpfull and friendrly! and great breakfast as well! thank you

Room Tip: ask for sea view room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RolandKecskes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian M, Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to add your review.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and l hope we get the chance to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Damian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Once again i arrive at the grand old lady of brighton the hilton seafron metropole hotel.

magnificent location and central position on brighton seafront.

once agin well looked after as a gold vip hhonors member with a nice balcony room on the front.

service was excellent from the friendly reception staff to the best hotel housekeeper i have seen for a long time,very freindly and room done by 10 am each off my 3 mornings,

breakfast a grand affair in a stunning vaulted ceiling restaurent, very nice staff ,good quality food.

The only aspects off the palce is perhasp some money needs to be spent on teh common areas and room doors as they look very old now.

overall a great stay once again in this historic hilton in brighton

Room Tip: book double delux seafront as the high ceiling rooms and views are magnificant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasimeteddington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian M, Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to add your review.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and room with a view with us.

I hope we get the chance to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards

Damian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

really nice and spacious room. bed was nice. housekeeping are really friendly.
but the chair and carpet had cigarette burns on them. not a big issue but it didnt look nice at all.
did not use any other services during my stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhatKaiExp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian M, Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to add your review.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and your comments about the room have been passed onto the housekeeping team to address.

I hope we get the chance to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Damian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Over the top prices for a room that needed refurbishing, stained carpet and bath taps that didn't work. I felt really let down with my accommodation. £144.00 a night with breakfast and dinner, should have been a much better experience. I was looking forward to a bit of luxury, but did not get it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian M, Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to add your review

I am sorry that on this occassion we failed to meet your expectations of us here at the hotel on your recent stay. Your comments have been passed onto the management team here to address.

I hope we get the chance to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Damian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed our three day stay at the Brighton Metropole. we always seem to pick weekends with rough weather. It never however dampens our spirits. This time the WIND blew at the same time as the the spring tide reached high. The waves reached to one foot below the decking on the adjacent pier. We kept on popping in and out of the hotel, from storm to comfortable surroundings and back. We love the breakfasts there...waffles are a must....chocolate, maple syrup and cream...served with a welcoming smile.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Nicholas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian M, Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to add your review.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and our breakfast offering, l hope we get the chance to welcome you back to the hotel soon when hopefully you will be able to enjoy Brighton with better weather.

Kind Regards

Damian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Check in - poor Service - poor staff helpfulness - poor room cleanliness - poor If you have high hopes from a Hilton change you will probably be very disappointed in your overall stay at this particular Hilton.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian M, Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to add your review.

I am sorry that on this occassion we failed to meet your expectations and have passed your comments onto the relevant heads of department to address.

Please feel free to contact me in advance should you be returning to the hotel on damian.meadows@hilton.com .

Kind Regards

Damian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
8,096 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 43 in Brighton
2,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.2 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Brighton Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Brighton Metropole

Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2FU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: $123 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Brighton Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the vibrant Brighton seafront, Hilton Brighton Metropole perfectly captures the character of this much-loved city while retaining Victorian elegance and charm. From our stylish dining venues to the modern health club facilities, we provide the perfect base from which to explore Brighton's culture and diversity. Even with contemporary touches throughout the hotel, the heritage and character of over 125 years of history shines brightly through. Just an hour from London, our hotel is within walking distance of all that Brighton has to offer. Within minutes you could be strolling down the historic, winding alleyways of The Lanes, discovering a myriad of colourful boutiques, cafes or bars. The iconic Brighton Pavilion, famous pebbly beach, Brighton Pier, Sealife Centre and varied water sports are all close by, while the fabulous new British Airways i360 is right on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Brighton Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Brighton Metropole Hotel Brighton
Brighton Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing