We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little tired but great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We booked a room at the back and judging by the number of ladies on the hotel this is a hen weekend place. Bit mean on the coffee and milk, but overall quite comfortable. The swimming pool made a nice addition to this, but the changing area was rather grubby frankly.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1965maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,379)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Brighton Metropole
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,727 - 2,733 of 4,379 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights with my sister last weekend and had a great time. Very clean hotel but the car park was very unwelcoming and signage to the hotel was poor. As we arrived in the late evening (separately) it was an eerie walk into the hotel as you have to leave the car park, enter the outside world and then back into the hotel! However, all in all a good stay and breakfast was very nice. I would like to say a special thank you to Spencer the concierge who added such a personal touch to our stay and was always helpful and went out of his way to make our stay pleasant. Thank you.

Room Tip: I am sure the sea view would be great but we didn't get this :(
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanisha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed for one night as part of a 2 day conference. On arrival the service was very good (bag and coat promptly taken by the concierge and informed when my room would be available). The rooms for the conference were also good and well kitted out for tea and coffee, etc. All in all I was impressed until I left the ground floor. My room was on the second floor (Rm 253) and from walking down the corridor you could tell that the accommodation is tired. No lampshades on the lights - exposed energy saving light bulbs isn't a luxurious look - and worn paintwork. My room used to be (maybe still is) a disabled room so there was plenty of space but it was very dim, the curtains didn't close properly (one was bizarrely 2/3rd length) and there is no air con (even though it was late November, the room was very warm). The bathroom was particularly disappointing with plywood along the front of the bath and a shower door that doesn't align (although the shower pressure was good). There's no quick fix: the staff and front of house facilities are good but some money is needed to improve the accommodation.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I stayed here during a work conference for one night in July. The hotel I son the sea front in between the 2 piers, although almost opposite the old pier. The interior lobby and reception area is what you would come to expect from a Hilton, very clean, spacious and welcoming. Check in was a breeze, and my room was overlooking the sea. The carpet in the corridor and room looked a bit dated but clean nevertheless. My room was spacious, with all the usual amenities, large double bed which was comfortable, desk, chair and bedside tables. There were also plenty of extra pillows in the wardrobe if required.

The bathroom was very elegant. The shower was within the bathtub, as opposed to one of the separate ones, but was more than adequate with decent shower pressure. So everything you need for a very comfortable nights sleep. One thing you will want to note, however, is that during the summer months you will start to hear seagulls non stop from about 4am onwards, and they can very loud!! So make sure you keep your windows closed, even if it is hot.

The breakfast was easily the best part of my stay, a buffet style with plenty of fruit, yogurts, cereals, juices, pastries and all the usual fry-up items. The fry up was warm and very filling. The breakfast area is in the room opposite the reception desk.

For those of you interested, the conference facilities were first class with a good mix mix of small and large rooms and one large hall for all the delegates to sit in one place. The food was also decent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AttentiveTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Me and my boyfriend went for our anniversary and they truly went out of their way to make it special for us, the room was lovely the staff were very helpful, we felt treated and felt special! We were worried due to he reviews on here but when we arrived we felt so relaxed!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murraymints1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We love Hilton and when we decided to visit Brighton were more than happy to book the local Hilton. What a disappointment. The room was the worst I have ever seen (and we have travelled a lot). It was a single bed with a double bed squeezed into a tiny space and sold as a double bed. We were charged an extra £30 to have our dog with us. So including parking we paid £170 for a stay in this room. There was barely enough room for one adult let alone 2 and a dog. We had to climb over each other in bed to get to the bathroom. The room was shocking. So shocking we had to take photos and send them to the Hotel senior manager (to date we have received no reply). The tiles were broken, there was a hold in the wall, the plastering was broken and uneven. It was a room for a staff member not a paying guest. On departure we were charged for drinks in the bar. We didn't go to the bar. The bar staff had not checked that the people charging drinks were actually staying in our room ! We waited whilst they checked signatures and realised they had made a mistake. No apology and no explanation. They acted as though they were doing us a favour removing the charges from our bill. Never again. This hotel is a disgrace !

Room Tip: Do not stay here !
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suse_38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I'll start with saying all the staff were friendly and helpful.lovely.Yes the building is impressive on the seafront and the location in Brighton is ideal.a quick walk to lanes,pier and shops. I had a super weekend away with two girl friends,all staying in a family room. We did book months ahead so benefited from a good deal. So no gripes there. However we were rather disappointed with the bland room. Curtains hanging off the rail past their best.The empty mini bar was turned off.decor and furnishings certainly looking rather tired.The shower was over the bath with a shower curtain.The lighting terrible .The room was also very cold but on asking reception to turn heating up a fan heater was placed in our room while we were out .So a great hotel to stay for where it is but not so much for luxury rooms . To end on a positive the breakfasts were amazing, everything you need cooked beautifully with strong coffee.

Room Tip: Possibly see if there has been one recently renovated.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PipsqueakWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,702 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 43 in Brighton
2,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 43 in Brighton
2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Brighton Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Brighton Metropole

Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2FU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: $123 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Brighton Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Brighton's seafront, the Hilton Brighton Metropole hotel offers charming Victorian elegance alongside modern convenience. This large South of England conference hotel has 340 guest rooms as well as 33 meeting rooms, including three exhibition halls. Enjoy the convenient location of this Brighton hotel, within easy reach of major travel links just off the A23 and only five minutes from Brighton station. Gatwick Airport is 30 minutes from Hilton Brighton Metropole, and Central London less than an hour by train. Stay connected at your guest room desk with WiFi. Family Rooms are equipped with a double and a single bed - ideal for those with small children. Relax in a comfortable Deluxe Room with views of Brighton seafront, or select a Hilton Suite for a roomy seafront home from home. Choose from a menu of modern European classics in the Waterhouse Restaurant. The Waterhouse Bar & Terrace serves Costa coffee and Afternoon Tea in an exquisite setting. Unwind on the sea-facing terrace with drinks and enjoy light meals during the day. Hilton Brighton Metropole offers a choice of flexible space, quality facilities and excellent service. Our Conference and Events Team will ensure that events are tailored to your needs. Unwind in the fully equipped fitness centre and indoor swimming pool, warm tired muscles in the steam room or be pampered and polished on the Beauty Rooms our on-site spa, or treat yourself to a haircut in Cove Hairdressers. Alternatively indulge in what has become a Hilton Brighton Metropole tradition, afternoon tea 'Seaside Delights' in the Waterhouse Bar & Terrace with one of our 'Perfectly Paired' cocktails, or dine in grandeur under the ornately corniced ceiling of Waterhouse Restaurant. Walk down the original 1890's marble staircase of Hilton Brighton Metropole, and out into the chic boutique-lined streets of central Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Brighton Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Brighton Metropole Hotel Brighton
Brighton Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing