We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay on the seafront”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
london
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good place to stay on the seafront”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Like this big hotel - quite busy as you would expect as it is a pretty reasonable price.

Ask for a refurbished room and maybe a seafront one although we were told that this would cost an extra £100 so gave it a miss.

Would definitely recommend as Brighton seems to be a place where you struggle to get a decent room for a good price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    845
    1,155
    1,087
    710
    515
See reviews for
715
1,508
209
1,054
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (887)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

the service is great, but cant say the same about the facilities, Hilton hotel room with no airconditioned? Whilst we paid Hilton 5 star hotel price is no more then 1 star hotel in vietnam, the room carpet with cigrate burn, dirty wall, average breakfast, broken sauna etc etc, room view is horrible to say the least, the only good thing going here the staff are very friendly and excellent service and I do feel sorry for them for working here, this is not Hilton rather hotel marigold.

Room Tip: find a better hotel that give true value to your dollar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paddu1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBrighton, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for posting your recent review on your stay.

I am delighted you found our team to be friendly and helpful, however I am sorry to read that your rooms were not of the standard you expected and that they did not have air conditioning, not all of our rooms do and the exceptionally hot weather meant some of our rooms did become very hot.

Your comments, regarding the cleanliness and standard of your room have been shared with our Rooms Divisions Manager as this is certainly not the service we are striving to deliver.

Once again, please accept my apologies for the disappointments you had with the hotel and be assured we are renovating and improving the hotel on a regular basis.

Regards
Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I hate to be negative when most of the staff work very hard but this hotel is extremely overpriced when you look at the state that it is in. The room we were first shown, supposedly a Delux King, could not have been further from the description. Small and cramped, with dowdy brown curtains and a glorious view of the extractor fans on the roof (if you could actually see them through the filthy windows) was obviously such a shock and disappointment that the pleasant lad who took us there didn't hesitate to offer to find us a different room. In fact he seemed to expect a complaint. I got the impression that most people have had the same reaction when being shown some of the rooms. I can't imagine what a standard room is like if that is supposed to be 'Delux'! We gratefully accepted the next room which was slightly less depressing, (but still had filthy windows and chipped paint). However after spending a night in the room and attempting to have a shower, the pathetic trickle was too much to put up with for a week, so we complained again. We were moved again (the staff did do their best and it is obviously not their fault that the hotel is in drastic need of renovation) and we ended up with a much better room with a shower that worked (but a plughole that was blocked so you ended bu standing in 6 inches of water) and a sea view (however this time the fridge was broken and the knob kept coming off the shower taps! But this was definitely the best we were going to get to we decided, by this time, to be thankful.
So apart from the dreadful upkeep of the bedrooms other negative points included the internet access charge - absolutely unbelievable and more importantly this is certainly not clear until you have booked - a complete rip off. We complained and got it taken off the bill. Also the car park charges are pretty steep (but to be fair it is near the centre of Brighton, so it is not entirely surprising), but again I wish this was made more explicit before you book. The car park is also very dark and depressing and I would not like to walk from there to the inside of the hotel late at night. Also the bar staff do like to close the bar whenever they've had enough regardless of how many customers there are and what time it is.
Good points include most of the staff who are friendly and helpful. Also the breakfast is pretty good. The egg man was particularly patient in the face of demanding customers. And finally the location of the hotel is perfect. But these good points do not justify the prices unless the Hilton organisation can update the rooms, do some basic maintenace and some hardcore cleaning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winelover61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The Staff are friendly and very helpful.
I wandered downstairs as couldn't sleep,the porter sent biscuits to my room which was such a nice gesture ,were really nice people.
The Spa is wonderful .
The location is perfect-especially sitting on the terrace in the evening-really would recommend,always stay here when in Brighton.
Car park is best price in town and so convenient.

Room Tip: Ask for what you would like if possible !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunshineyday333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBrighton, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to add your review,

I am delighted you found our team to be friendly and helpful during your stay with us, and that you took the time to enjoy our Spa and their facilities.

As you say our Waterhouse bar does have a great location, to watch the world go buy.

Thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards
Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Check in gave us an indication of how busy this hotel is and how under-staffed. We had to wait a good 10-15 mins in line. We were told we did not get the sea view we had booked but a partial one, the receptionist said she would call to check we were happy, she didn't but we were. Well, until we found the fridge would not shut and the safe would not open and there was hair all over the loo.
We tried to call down at least six times and it kept ringing out, it was impossible to get an answer. This you don't expect from a Hilton. I had to go down to reception (five floors) twice during our stay because no one picked up the phone.
The room apart from cleanliness, was very comfortable and quiet and the bed and pillows superb.
Again the service let breakfast down, on our last day we were 21st and 22nd standing to gain entry into the dining room. Once there the variety is good and well presented.
Such a shame for such a grand hotel to have wage cuts determine the impression guests are left with. So much is good about it but unless they address the service it may not stay as busy.
Oh and why have the fire alarm at 08.30hrs on a Monday morning? WARNING DO NOT STAY ON A SUNDAY UNLESS YOU HAVE TO BE UP EARLY.

Room Tip: We had a partial sea view at the side and it was very quiet. However don't expect a sleep in on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBrighton, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Lauren,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your most recent stay.

Please accept my apologies for the standard of cleanliness in your room during your stay.
I would also like to apologise for the delayed service you received upon your check in, and throughout your stay with us this certainly is not the standards we are striving to achieve.

I have discussed the inefficiencies you experienced during your stay with the relevant heads of department it is unacceptable that we failed on so many occasions to deliver the service you would expect at Hilton.

Once again, please accept my apologies for the poor service and standard of cleanliness of your room.

Regards
Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I was let down by Hilton twice. Last year same time we booked a room for 2 adults and 2 children in New York. When arrived there, they only had double room available for us. Instead wasting our holiday time we accepted that room and kids slept on the floor. After making complaint manager provided 2 days accommodation in any Hilton Hotel. We booked at Brighton for my wife’s birthday. When we went in the room, AC was not working. Mentioned to the staff, they said no other room available so we received a complimentary dinner and next day room change. They provided the fans. Electric sockets next to bed were different to standard plugs so fan had to stay quite far. Also our room was next to hotel’s generators and engines. We could not sleep all night. Heat and noise kept us awake. My wife, who suffers from back problem, had to take extra strong medication for that. Next morning we spoke to manager who said he will change the room and possibly provide a nail treatment. Even they changed the room but our special weekend was ruined. Lack of sleep we felt tired whole day. I believe Hilton could do better than that.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Munish1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Good points: Fine seafront location. Friendly, efficient staff (left jacket in wardrobe, which was kept safely for collection). FANTASTIC expensive feather pillows. Very clean bedding and towels. 12.00pm checkout. Good sized bedroom.
Bad points: Not enough tea, coffee, soap for 3 people. Lighting in bathroom too dim. Still - made me look younger! Would definitely stay next time in Brighton.

Room Tip: If you hate the noise of seagulls squarking all night long don't have a seafront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBrighton, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Barbara,

Thank you for adding your review on your recent stay,

I was delighted to read that you and found our team to be friendly and helpful throughout your stay with us.

The hotel as you say has a great location for our guests to explore the local area. Please accept my apologies for the lack of amenities in your room I have shared your comments with our Rooms Divisions Manager.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards
Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
7,533 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 44 in Brighton
2,234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Brighton Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Brighton Metropole

Property: Hilton Brighton Metropole
Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2FU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Brighton Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Brighton's seafront, the Hilton Brighton Metropole hotel offers charming Victorian elegance alongside modern convenience. This large South of England conference hotel has 340 guest rooms as well as 33 meeting rooms, including three exhibition halls. Enjoy the convenient location of this Brighton hotel, within easy reach of major travel links just off the A23 and only five minutes from Brighton station. Gatwick Airport is 30 minutes from Hilton Brighton Metropole, and Central London less than an hour by train. Stay connected at your guest room desk with WiFi. Family Rooms are equipped with a double and a single bed - ideal for those with small children. Relax in a comfortable Deluxe Room with views of Brighton seafront, or select a Hilton Suite for a roomy seafront home from home. Choose from a menu of modern European classics in the Waterhouse Restaurant. The Waterhouse Bar & Terrace serves Costa coffee and Afternoon Tea in an exquisite setting. Unwind on the sea-facing terrace with drinks and enjoy light meals during the day. Hilton Brighton Metropole offers a choice of flexible space, quality facilities and excellent service. Our Conference and Events Team will ensure that events are tailored to your needs. Unwind in the fully equipped fitness centre and indoor swimming pool, warm tired muscles in the steam room or be pampered and polished on the Beauty Rooms our on-site spa, or treat yourself to a haircut in Cove Hairdressers. Alternatively indulge in what has become a Hilton Brighton Metropole tradition, afternoon tea 'Seaside Delights' in the Waterhouse Bar & Terrace with one of our 'Perfectly Paired' cocktails, or dine in grandeur under the ornately corniced ceiling of Waterhouse Restaurant. Walk down the original 1890's marble staircase of Hilton Brighton Metropole, and out into the chic boutique-lined streets of central Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Brighton Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Brighton Metropole Hotel Brighton
Brighton Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing