We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel, great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Brighton Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Average hotel, great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

The room that I stayed in was quite tired looking, but was decent enough. Rooms are clean.You are definitely paying for the location rather than the quality of room with this hotel. My room was at the back of the hotel, so didn't have a nice sea view. But it is great to just step out of the hotel and be by the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keef76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBrighton, Owner at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your feedback following your recent stay.

The hotel as you say does have a great location right by the beach, and make it a great base from which to explore the local area.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    1,072
    1,014
    657
    472
See reviews for
642
1,393
193
953
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (834)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Beautiful hotel. Worth the upgrade to King Deluxe. I had seen the bad reviews about rooms but our was beautiful and refurbished. Wonderful bed with good selection of pillows. The pool was a bonus due to it being a hot day and the air con in the room was gave us a great night sleep. Told reception was my wife's birthday and upon arriving back in the room there was a birthday cake which was a lovely touch. Great location. Overall great value.

Room Tip: King Deluxe of suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gazx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBrighton, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Gazx,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your most recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read that you and your wife thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your stay at the hotel to celebrate your wife’s birthday.

It is always a pleasure to read that the service provided by our team made your stay more enjoyable.

I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Beautiful hotel. Worth the upgrade to King Deluxe. Wonderful bed with good selection of pillows. The pool was a bonus due to it being a hot day and the air con in the room was gave us a great night sleep. Told reception was my wifes birthday and upon arriving back in the room there was a birthday cake which was a lovely touch. Overall great value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Gazx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBrighton, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Gazx,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your most recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read that you and your wife thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your stay at the hotel to celebrate your wife’s birthday.

It is always a pleasure to read that the service provided by our team made your stay more enjoyable.

I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I attended a function at the Hilton Metropole in Brighton, and the Afternoon Tea was delightful. A buffet of very tasty scones, cream, jam, pots of tea, and some delicious cakes to choose from - unfortunately by the time I had tried these offerings I was too full to sample the finger sandwiches but these looked very good too. Would definitely recommend afternoon tea here. The venue location is ideal, along the seafront road so perfect spot to go and enjoy the beach afterwards.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shoshana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBrighton, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent trip to Brighton.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your afternoon cream tea experience, as we do receive a lot of positive comments on are afternoon tea from our guests, I have also shared your lovely comments with our Executive Head Chef and his team.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards
Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wem, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

I really can not see what people are complaining about. the reception staff that booked us is were polite and very welcoming being a diamond member we were given a drinks voucher and a invite to a drinks and canapé hour.  I am currently staying in room 206 it is in excellent condition and very clean. yes a little small compared to other hiltons I have stayed at but it's a old building what do you expect. The sea view is great and the balcony is just big enough, would be nice to have two chairs instead of just one. Bathroom is a nice size, no flannels, which I find strange. Was great to find a fan in the wardrobe to use as room did get hot. It is nice to see this hilton has kept the fridge in the room and not just removed it like some of the hiltons have done. My only compliant is the breakfast, quite a poor selection compared to other hiltons and the food isn't at all hot, the orange juice is weak and tastes cheap and the uncut bread was very doughy in the middle didn't seem cook enough.  The Hilton is in a great location you can walk to restaurants and the pier is not far. Would I stay here again? The answer is yes, I would if I had a room like this. Oh yeah and the parking charge is a bit steep at £16 a night. If this Hilton could do anything to make things better it would be to reduce the car parking charges and get an executive  lounge and provide an extra chair on the balconies so couple can sit together and watch the world go by.  

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1158deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBrighton, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your feedback following your recent.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay and found out team to be friendly.

The hotel as you say has a great location and with the facilities we provide and refurbishments we have made is a great base from which to explore the local area.

Please accept my apologies for the disappointments you had with our Hilton Breakfast, your feedback has been shared with our Executive Head Chef for his review.

In regards to the car parking due to being a city hotel we offer a very competitive rate within the city centre for our Hotel guests, a 50% discount is offered to our in house residents which then takes the price down to £16.00 per night.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards
Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Went for afternoon tea provided for Venus Awards. It was sumptuous, inventive and beautiful. All sorts of sandwiches, scones and pretty cakes. Lovely pot of tea in lovely bone china and a room overlooking the sea.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula186273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBrighton, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your visit to the hotel to attend the Venus Awards.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your afternoon cream tea experience, as we do receive a lot of positive comments on are afternoon tea from our guests, I have also shared your lovely comments with our Executive Head Chef and his team.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards
Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiptree, Essex
Level Contributor
160 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

As a gold card HHonors member, I decided to use the Hilton for a 1-night stay in Brighton on leisure. The hotel is situated right on the front of Brighton and close to the shopping centre and The Lanes shopping area.
They upgraded us to a Sea view room which was newly decorated, modern, spacious and excellent. Reception were welcoming and efficient - and we had a meal in the restaurant that night which was reasonably priced and very good quality.
I cannot comment on all rooms of course, but only that ours was excellent and a very good value. Maybe people who stay here should join HHonors before the stay to get extra benefits.

The only gripe? Some drinks in the bar were quite expensive (e.g. a gin and tonic for £8) but then there is a lot of choice inside the hotel and also locally.

Breakfast was uncomplicated, had a wide choice of hot and cold food, and was a good start to the day.
I would certainly look to use the Hilton again in Brighton for a leisure stay.

Room Tip: It sounds obvious but, ask for a Sea View room and\or refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBrighton, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Andy,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your most recent stay with us and I was delighted to read that you had thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your stay at the hotel.

It is always a pleasure to read that our guests find our team to be friendly and professional throughout their stay.

The hotel as you say does have a great location and is in walking distance to lots of restaurants and bars and makes it a great base from which to explore the local area.

I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,651 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#15 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#10 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Brighton Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Brighton Metropole

Property: Hilton Brighton Metropole
Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2FU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Brighton Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Brighton's seafront, the Hilton Brighton Metropole hotel offers charming Victorian elegance alongside modern convenience. This large South of England conference hotel has 340 guest rooms as well as 33 meeting rooms, including three exhibition halls. Enjoy the convenient location of this Brighton hotel, within easy reach of major travel links just off the A23 and only five minutes from Brighton station. Gatwick Airport is 30 minutes from Hilton Brighton Metropole, and Central London less than an hour by train. Stay connected at your guest room desk with WiFi. Family Rooms are equipped with a double and a single bed - ideal for those with small children. Relax in a comfortable Deluxe Room with views of Brighton seafront, or select a Hilton Suite for a roomy seafront home from home. Choose from a menu of modern European classics in the Waterhouse Restaurant. The Waterhouse Bar & Terrace serves Costa coffee and Afternoon Tea in an exquisite setting. Unwind on the sea-facing terrace with drinks and enjoy light meals during the day. Hilton Brighton Metropole offers a choice of flexible space, quality facilities and excellent service. Our Conference and Events Team will ensure that events are tailored to your needs. Unwind in the fully equipped fitness centre and indoor swimming pool, warm tired muscles in the steam room or be pampered and polished on the Beauty Rooms our on-site spa, or treat yourself to a haircut in Cove Hairdressers. Alternatively indulge in what has become a Hilton Brighton Metropole tradition, afternoon tea 'Seaside Delights' in the Waterhouse Bar & Terrace with one of our 'Perfectly Paired' cocktails, or dine in grandeur under the ornately corniced ceiling of Waterhouse Restaurant. Walk down the original 1890's marble staircase of Hilton Brighton Metropole, and out into the chic boutique-lined streets of central Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Brighton Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Brighton Metropole Hotel Brighton
Brighton Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing