We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but a bit worn.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Great location but a bit worn.”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Public areas of the hotel are quite grand but desperately in need of a spruce up. Our room was clean and comfortable but a little bit dated. The breakfast was excellent with a huge range of choices and vast quantities of food on offer. The hotel is brilliantly located right on the sea front and within easy walking distance of the centre of town. Free wifi in the lobby and the staff were professional and helpful. This hotels glory days are behind it but it does have redeeming features.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gurubob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBrighton, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your most recent stay with us and I was delighted to read that you had thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your stay at the hotel.

It is always a pleasure to read that the service provided by our team made your stay more enjoyable.

I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    813
    1,126
    1,055
    688
    494
See reviews for
680
1,459
204
1,021
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (864)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
SURREY UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are alright just a bit on the small side.
Hotel was very clean and welcoming.
We love brighton and it is close to everything.
The food was so fantastic we couldn't get enough.
We would recommend a stay here.
Price were good.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RACHEL F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBrighton, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Rachel,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your most recent stay with us and I was delighted to read that you had thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your stay at the hotel.

I have shared your comments regarding your thoughts on the food with our Executive Head Chef to share with his team.

I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed at this "hotel" December 2012 for a conference and I have to give them the credit for making me endure the worst Hilton experience I had in my entire life. As a Gold HH member I thought I might be treated with some kind of respect usually given to those with a long loyalty to that hotel chain, but far from it. They put me in a room on the 6th floor, a total rat hole with stains and dirt everywhere. When complaining about the cold air rushing through the cracks in the door and windows I was told to use the electrical mini heater provided in the room and shut the curtains (great advise). The pluming in the bathroom was from the last century and just as dirty and neglected. Service was awful and I cannot appreciate being pushed around already during breakfast. If you are a loyal Hilton guest, try and stay somewhere else. I couldn't find anything good in here or worth being loyal. But perhaps my status saved me from having to sleep in the dust bin? Dreadful place.

Room Tip: The best way to chose a room is in another hotel.Just don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reisepaepstin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBrighton, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your most recent stay.

I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with all aspects of your stay with us. I would like to extend my most sincere apologies to you for not meeting your expectations.

I would like to apologise for the service you received during your stay, this certainly is not the standards we are striving to achieve, however contrary to your comments, we receive an enormous amount of positive feedback regarding the friendliness and helpfulness of our team here from our guests.

Once again please accept my apologies for the disappointments you had with the hotel and please be assured we are renovating and improving the hotel on a regular basis.

Regards
Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

BC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The first room we were given was so hot and in complete disrepair. The toilet was broken, hinges on the bar fridge were ripped out, there were holes in the walls, the decor was dated. Insist on a room that is hooked up to the air exchange system. It is not air conditioning but our second room had it and it made a world of difference.

On a positive note, the breakfast was great, the common areas were glamorous, and the staff worked very hard to fix problems that were brought to their attention.

Room Tip: Not all rooms are created equal. Do not hesitate to see a couple rooms before you accept one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, new Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed one night and had booked and paid for this room 6 months ago. It is in a good position and we found the breakfast lovely and couldn't fault it. The rooms are a good size but what is with the jug!! To plug it in is bordering on dangerous as you have to carry the entire tray to Another part of the room to plug it in. We were told we had Air Con on arrival but we didn't so after complaining (with sweat running down our faces) we were given a fan!!! Based on the closest power point, we couldn't even feel it in bed and it wasn't a pleasant evening. For a Hilton we weren't impressed although the staff member sent to resolve the issue was very helpful and gave us an ice bucket with free drinks which was a nice touch. The Concierge was basically rude (I believe he was Iranian as I wouldn't want any other staff member to be put in this category). We felt we should have stayed somewhere else

Room Tip: Ask for Air Con...just in case you need it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coraleen026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBrighton, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay and I am sorry to read of your dissatisfaction.

Your comments regarding the service you received from one of our concierge team during your stay has been shared with the relevant management to immediately address, as this certainly is not the standards of service we are striving to achieve.

Please accept my apologies for the disappointments you had with the hotel and be assured we are renovating and improving the hotel on a regular basis.

Regards
Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

stayed for one night in june with my partner, room was extremly expensive so expected a lot, but was very disappointed. Rooms need updating, bed was squeeky, bathroom basic, could hear all the noise at night as on seafront. also, to add to my dissapointment, we had to pay for breakfast as it wasnt included (£196 for one night-no breakfast!).
i wouldnt stay again, feel they overcharge for the name of the hotel. the room was not worth 4 stars.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBrighton, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Lisa,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments following your recent stay with us and I am sorry to read of your disappointments about the hotel.

I can confirm that we have a variety of room tariffs available to include breakfast, breakfast and dinner as well as room only. However our reception team do offer our guests that have booked room only to add breakfast to their stay at a discounted rate.

Please accept my apologies for the disappointments you had with the hotel.

Regards
Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel is situated right on the front of Brighton and close to the shopping centre and The Lanes shopping area. There are plenty of restaurants within easy walking distance. Breakfast are well organised and the bar is well stocked.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBrighton, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Susan,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your feedback following your recent stay.

The hotel as you say does have a great location and is in easy walking distance to many different restaurants, clubs and bars, it also make a great base for our guests to explore the local area.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards
Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 44 in Brighton
7,174 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 44 in Brighton
2,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Brighton Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Brighton Metropole

Property: Hilton Brighton Metropole
Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2FU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Brighton Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Brighton's seafront, the Hilton Brighton Metropole hotel offers charming Victorian elegance alongside modern convenience. This large South of England conference hotel has 340 guest rooms as well as 33 meeting rooms, including three exhibition halls. Enjoy the convenient location of this Brighton hotel, within easy reach of major travel links just off the A23 and only five minutes from Brighton station. Gatwick Airport is 30 minutes from Hilton Brighton Metropole, and Central London less than an hour by train. Stay connected at your guest room desk with WiFi. Family Rooms are equipped with a double and a single bed - ideal for those with small children. Relax in a comfortable Deluxe Room with views of Brighton seafront, or select a Hilton Suite for a roomy seafront home from home. Choose from a menu of modern European classics in the Waterhouse Restaurant. The Waterhouse Bar & Terrace serves Costa coffee and Afternoon Tea in an exquisite setting. Unwind on the sea-facing terrace with drinks and enjoy light meals during the day. Hilton Brighton Metropole offers a choice of flexible space, quality facilities and excellent service. Our Conference and Events Team will ensure that events are tailored to your needs. Unwind in the fully equipped fitness centre and indoor swimming pool, warm tired muscles in the steam room or be pampered and polished on the Beauty Rooms our on-site spa, or treat yourself to a haircut in Cove Hairdressers. Alternatively indulge in what has become a Hilton Brighton Metropole tradition, afternoon tea 'Seaside Delights' in the Waterhouse Bar & Terrace with one of our 'Perfectly Paired' cocktails, or dine in grandeur under the ornately corniced ceiling of Waterhouse Restaurant. Walk down the original 1890's marble staircase of Hilton Brighton Metropole, and out into the chic boutique-lined streets of central Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Brighton Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Brighton Metropole Hotel Brighton
Brighton Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing