We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice room, poor breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed July 16, 2013

the room was fine, clean and unshabby. The bed was comfy, and the in-room facilities were all fine. Breakfast was disappointing. the buffet area was a mess, staff were oblivious to guests who were unsure where things were. Toast was DIY! I can't remember having to make my own toast at a hotel breakfast buffet before. not impressed. Given the price, I would expect a high standard of breakfast!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank atomsound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBrighton, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your most recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay at the hotel, please accept my apologies for the lack of service and the standard of breakfast you encountered within the hotel, as this certainly is not the standards we are striving to achieve.

Once again, please accept my apologies for the poor service that you received.

Regards
Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,368)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Brighton Metropole
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,983 - 2,989 of 4,368 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

You essentially pay the location and the history.
I am a HH members. This Hilton lacks
- professional staff on all levels (check in unfriendly, problem solving not existing, rooms bare minimum in cleaning, towels, shampoo, Internet very slow or non existent, service at breakfast careless)
- swimming pool as charming as a underground parking lot in the Bronx
Unless you really have to stay there you might want to wait one or two years until they do renovation to the rooms and training to the staff
Parking in the back at £16 / day.
Internet is still to be paid at the Hilton - many close by hotels and restaurants offer that for free

Room Tip: Prepare to walk a lot - large building Elevators slow Handicap toilet seems to be often out of ser...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geneva2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBrighton, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your most recent stay.

I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with all aspects of your stay with us, please accept my apologies for the disappointments you had with the hotel and please be assured we are renovating and improving the hotel on a regular basis.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Regards
Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We recently spent two nights at this hotel and had mixed feelings. The location on the seafront is excellent and it is within walking distance of some fun shopping at the North Laines and some fun pubs and restaurants too. You can also easily get to the beach and pier as well. Unfortunately, the hotel itself does show it's age and is in need of a facelift. The reception area tries hard to be grand and welcoming but it gets very noisy and crowded starting off your first impression of the place on a questionable note. We were kindly greeted and being diamond members we were upgraded to a deluxe room. Our room was large with a good sized bathroom and a large comfortable bed. However for such a large room which could have easily accommodated a sofa and a coffee table and more, all we had were 2 small chairs and a small end table . It seemed a shame to waste all that empty space with nothing. Our room faced the courtyard so there was no view. Not that it would have mattered for the windows were the dirtiest I have ever seen. You could not see out of them. There was a minibar in the room, however it was unstocked. While odd, it worked out fine to store some of our food items and keep waters cool. Although the room did have air conditioning, it didn't work that well. Granted we were here when the weather was hotter than normal, so maybe it was just our timing. Wifi in the room worked for us no problem. The bathroom was a good size with both a shower and a separate tub, however the lighting is terrible. Putting on make-up required using one of the mirrors in the room. Also, you can not dry your hair in the room. No outlet. The breakfast at the hotel was fair. It is in a large bright room which can get quite busy. Service is good and food wise there is a little something for everyone. While our room was clean, other parts of the hotel were a little neglected. Parking, which is located behind the hotel, is very tight and poorly lit. Overall, our stay was good but we were expecting more. They are working on it so perhaps a work in progress, but I still would have to think twice about coming back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snormy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBrighton, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your feedback following your recent stay.

The hotel as you say does have a great location which makes it a great base from which to explore the local area. I was delighted to read that you and found our team to be friendly and helpful during your stay with us.

The hotel is in the process of refurbishing and redecorating a large number of rooms which be carried through into 2014, your comments in regards to the cleanliness of the windows has been shared with my Rooms Divisions Manager.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Regards
Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Inside the hotel it looks great, walk up the grand staircase with fancy period decor airy and bright, get to the corridor and its getting a bit stuffier, get in to you room and its a sweat box, window opens 2 inches but if its just as warm outside its going to heat the room even more, all the rooms come with a fan in the wardrobe so they are aware of the issue. If you going to charge this sort of money the room must have some form of climate control, no water in the room, no biscuits with the tea, small details but at this sort of price its details that make the difference, parking is available but at £16 a day it just adds to a very expensive trip. I see some comments about the staff, in my opinion the staff are not rude they are just overworked with the large numbers of guests and cannot deal with 3 people at once. Breakfast is of a good standard with fresh cooked eggs available.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carl_TL1000R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBrighton, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Carl,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your most recent stay with us.

I am sorry to read that your rooms were not of the standard you expected and that they did not have air conditioning, not all of our rooms do and the exceptionally hot weather meant some of our rooms did become very hot.

However I was delighted to read you found our team to be friendly during your stay and also enjoyed our superb breakfast.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Regards
Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

After reading some of the reviews I considered booking elsewhere for my three-night stay, but as a Hilton Honors member I figured I could always speak up if things weren't right. But just about everything was right with this very well-run and nicely located hotel. Having a room facing the city rather than the sea turned out to be a blessing, since even with the windows wide open I couldn't hear a sound (even during a crowded holiday week-end). I was apparently in a newly refurbished room on the third floor, with a high ceiling and every comfort. The shower was a dream. The hotel's elegant touches have been preserved. The breakfasts were quite good (though noisy and hectic). There was a problem with overheating of the pool area, but the pool itself was nice (though the locker room was cramped, crowded, and wet.) Every single hotel staff member was friendly and professional. One minor problem was handled personally by the manager on duty, Yanis. I had a chance to look at other hotels in Brighton. The Metropole is hands-down the best choice. I look forward to returning.

Room Tip: If you value quiet over a view, try a room facing the city.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBrighton, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Alan,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay.

It is always a pleasure to read that our guests find our team to be friendly and throughout your stay, and that you found our guest relations manger Ioannis professional when dealing with your problem you encountered during your stay.

Once again, thank you for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Clean, great location and definitely a place to go for a short break. Stayed here for Develop Brighton. Great service and excellent staff. Only things that were annoying were seagulls waking me up and a bit of a lame breakfast but other than that a great stay!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xeraxia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBrighton, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay with us I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed all aspects your stay with us.

I am sorry to read that the breakfast within the hotel did not meet your expectations, as we regularly receive very positive comments from our guests.

Once again, thank you for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I stayed here with 2 friends for 1 night in July. The room was clean, breakfast was lovely. However the leisure facilities were closed due to a fault. It was a real shame as the reason that we chose this hotel over others in Brighton was because of the leisure facilities. I am not sure how often this happens but we felt disappointed with no explanation from the staff as to why or when the problem would be fixed. We are aware that things like this do happen. As much as the hotel was lovely next time we return to Brighton we will be using another hotel as we paid more than other hotels for the leisure facilities that we could not use.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gregory033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBrighton, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments following your recent stay with us and I am sorry to read of your disappointments about the hotel.

Please accept my apologies for the disappointment you had by not being able to use our pool during your stay, unfortunately due to unforeseen circumstances the pool area was closed due to an extractor fan not working that morning which is taken very seriously by the hotel, your feedback has been shared with our Lifestyle team to review.

Please accept my apologies for the disappointments you had with the hotel I would like to thank you once again for your feedback.

Regards

Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,691 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 43 in Brighton
2,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 43 in Brighton
2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Brighton Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Brighton Metropole

Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2FU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: $123 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Brighton Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Brighton's seafront, the Hilton Brighton Metropole hotel offers charming Victorian elegance alongside modern convenience. This large South of England conference hotel has 340 guest rooms as well as 33 meeting rooms, including three exhibition halls. Enjoy the convenient location of this Brighton hotel, within easy reach of major travel links just off the A23 and only five minutes from Brighton station. Gatwick Airport is 30 minutes from Hilton Brighton Metropole, and Central London less than an hour by train. Stay connected at your guest room desk with WiFi. Family Rooms are equipped with a double and a single bed - ideal for those with small children. Relax in a comfortable Deluxe Room with views of Brighton seafront, or select a Hilton Suite for a roomy seafront home from home. Choose from a menu of modern European classics in the Waterhouse Restaurant. The Waterhouse Bar & Terrace serves Costa coffee and Afternoon Tea in an exquisite setting. Unwind on the sea-facing terrace with drinks and enjoy light meals during the day. Hilton Brighton Metropole offers a choice of flexible space, quality facilities and excellent service. Our Conference and Events Team will ensure that events are tailored to your needs. Unwind in the fully equipped fitness centre and indoor swimming pool, warm tired muscles in the steam room or be pampered and polished on the Beauty Rooms our on-site spa, or treat yourself to a haircut in Cove Hairdressers. Alternatively indulge in what has become a Hilton Brighton Metropole tradition, afternoon tea 'Seaside Delights' in the Waterhouse Bar & Terrace with one of our 'Perfectly Paired' cocktails, or dine in grandeur under the ornately corniced ceiling of Waterhouse Restaurant. Walk down the original 1890's marble staircase of Hilton Brighton Metropole, and out into the chic boutique-lined streets of central Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Brighton Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Brighton Metropole Hotel Brighton
Brighton Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing