We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Standards falling” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Brighton Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Standards falling”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the Hilton several times over the last 8 years and it is not the wow factor we once knew.
Whilst the service is still good, the bedrooms could do with a lick of paint and TLC. The shower lacked pressure and the bathroom floor was dirty. Breakfast was average, although the buffet was always well stocked, it was either overcooked, or had been sitting a while!
The Health club is the perk we go back for though, its good to have a swim when its raining on the beach!
The park in the dark car park joins the rest of the hotel...overpriced, and in need of maintenance!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eatindrinkinsleepin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBrighton, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your posting,

Your comments in regards to your most recent stay with us, has been shared with the relevant heads of department to review within their teams.

I can confirm the hotel will continue to refurbish more of its bedrooms in 2013 & 2014, In regards to the car parking due to us being a city hotel we do offer a 50% discount to our Hotel guests, once the discount is applied the price works out at £16.00 per night to all Hotel Residents.

The feedback on the lighting in the car park has be discussed with our Facilities team to investigate.

Please accept my apologies for the disappointments you had with the hotel and be assured we are renovating and improving the hotel on a regular basis

Regards
Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    1,073
    1,014
    657
    473
See reviews for
642
1,394
193
953
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (834)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

There are some nice rooms at this hotel, but I didn't get one. If you're unlucky you too could spend a miserable time in a dingy, dirty room looking out on to a concrete wall. The room was cold and the bathroom was tiny with mould round the taps and cracks through the basin. All the furniture looked as if it had been collected from a second hand store. Outside, a security light shone through the curtains all night so I couldn't even sleep through some of it. Hard to believe a Hilton hotel could contain a room like this. If you must stay at this hotel, avoid the 1st floor.

Room Tip: Get a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chb94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBrighton, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your most recent stay.

I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with all aspects of your stay with us, due to the age and style of our hotel our bedrooms do come in all different shapes and sizes, the hotel is still in the process of refurbishing and redecorating a large number of rooms which will be carried through to 2014.

Please accept my apologies for the disappointments you had with the hotel and please be assured we are renovating and improving the hotel on a regular basis.

Regards
Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

This imposing building dating back I think to Regency /Victorian times dominates the seafront at the north end of Brighton overlooking the defunct North Pier burnt down many years ago.. It is obviously well maintained by its current owners and the imposing entrance and brightly carpeted foyer is a welcome change from the current facades and marble entrances of many modern hotels.
Very helpful Concierge and staff and smiling Reception added to the initial impression. I asked for a Sea-Front room with a walk-in shower (my partner can not step into baths) and they could not have been more helpful. The newly decorated room was excellent - large, modern with all mod cons - Big flat screen TV, Internet, fully equipped with every conceivable extra. The view from the balcony was striking and it was a pleasure to sit on it and soak in the seaside sounds. Because of the wide corridors solid doors the room was very quiet at all times

A visit to the superbly decorated Dining Room is recommended . It is large with the tables nicely spaced so you are not eating in someones lap . A good varied menu reasonably priced and a first class wine list. Order was taken efficiently and the meal well presented and passably cooked and served correctly.

The main bar opposite the Restaurant is large and boasts efficient table service. A good bar snacks menu is available. This is a busy Conference venue so the bar can be noisy and full of Conference delegates enjoying their after conference free time so be prepared! There is a convenient Hotel Car park beneath the building ,always useful in Brighton , and I was not charged for its use.

All in all highly recommended if you like a well managed hotel with a difference , and do not forget to visit the Queens Arms Pub at the rear of the Hotel - Brightons smallest pub!

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front of the Hotel and enjoy the sea and the passing life. the suites are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RUSSELL G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBrighton, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Russell,

Thank you for adding the review of your recent stay,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your most recent stay with us and I was pleased to read that you had thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your stay at the hotel.

I am delighted you found our team to be friendly and professional throughout your stay, we do get a lot of positive comment on team members and it is always a pleasure to read that the service provided by our team made your stay more enjoyable.

The positive comments have made about your dining experience in both our Waterhouse Restaurant and Waterhouse bar & terrace has been shared with our Executive Head Chef and the Waterhouse teams.

I do look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future

Regards
Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel probably around 40 times. The Hilton breakfast used to be one of the highlights of each visit.

There used to be so much choice and the quality used to always be of a high standard. Unfortunately due to cost cutting this is no longer the case.

The choice and quality of the food had deteriorated quite noticeably. Stay there from 4th to 6th June. The first morning breakfast was just about passable although we commented that it was not as good as it used to be.

Second morning it was truly awful, Waited 20 minutes for a pot of tea to then find the waitress gave it to another table. Another 10 minutes for one to arrive.

The quality of the hot food has definitely gone downhill. Now you get greasy streaky bacon, low quality sausages, dried up mushrooms and cold congealed fried eggs that have been lying around for an age. They used to have a chef cook eggs but obviously this is no longer the case. It all looked very unappetising.

The cold selection was no better all dried up and a vastly reduced selection to what used to be offered.

Nobody was replenishing any of the dishes so it meant there was no white bread or even HP sauce and no one around to ask for it to be replenished.

I am a HHonors Diamond member and expect better than this. The team are still very friendly and always try to make sure that you are OK.

The room we had was fine, but as I said earlier I always looked forward to breakfast here and now it really disappoints.

I really am beginning to wonder why I am staying so loyal to Hilton when these cost cutting standards are being introduced.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ant1gua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBrighton, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments following your recent stay with us and I am sorry to read of your disappointments about the hotel.

I have shared you comments with both my Executive Head Chef and Restaurant Manager in regards to the quality of the breakfast and various breakfasts items either missing or slow to be replenished to review with their teams.

Once again, please accept my apologies for the disappointments you had with the hotel and be assured we are renovating and improving the hotel on a regular basis.

Regards
Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Amazing staff, as a wheelchair user I never felt like I was putting anyone out, couldnt have been more helpful. Only issues was the comfort, or lack of, of the bed. Breakfast was awesome and the location is lovely right on the seafront in Brighton

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Kellie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBrighton, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Kellie,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your most recent stay with us and I was delighted to read that you had thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your stay at the hotel.

It is always a pleasure to read that the service provided by our team made your stay more enjoyable. I have shared your comments regarding the comfort of the bed with my rooms Divisions Manager to review.

I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We booked this hotel on Lastminute.com as a secret location type deal and paid £80 for the night. So it was a bargain. The room we was given wasn't great. It was dark and facing the back of the building. It was very small and I found it made me feel quite enclosed.
Location is great and the staff are very helpful. Great for a cheap deal but wouldn't have been happy if I had paid full price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petal1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBrighton, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Petal,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments following your recent stay with us and I am sorry to read of your disappointments of your room.

However I am delighted you found our team to be friendly and professional throughout your stay, as you say the hotel does have a great location for our guests to explore our city centre.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here 3 times in the past year as it is the only Hilton property in the Brighton area. The hotel is located on the beach with nice albeit foggy views of the ocean. The rooms are spacious yet lacked modern style. What irked me the most was the fact that the Internet was ungodly slow. I meat dial up 56 k modem slow and you're limited to the number of devices.

My housekeeper came in at 9am on checkout day. There is no executive lounge for diamond guests and parking is awful.

The breakfast was good. I only stay here because it is a Hilton property. The staff are very nice and accommodating but the property needs a freshening.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank firstmet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBrighton, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your most recent stay.

I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with all aspects of your stay with us, please accept my apologies for the issues you have had with the internet, we are at this moment in time investigating the reason why this is happening with our Internet provider BT and hope to get this resolved soon.

I have shared your comments regarding the time that housekeeping came to your room with our rooms Divisions Manager to review within his team.

However I am delighted you found our team to be friendly and professional throughout your stay, we do get a lot of positive comment on team members, and took the time to enjoy our Hilton breakfast.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Regards
Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,659 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#18 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#14 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,993 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#10 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Brighton Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Brighton Metropole

Property: Hilton Brighton Metropole
Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2FU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Brighton Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Brighton's seafront, the Hilton Brighton Metropole hotel offers charming Victorian elegance alongside modern convenience. This large South of England conference hotel has 340 guest rooms as well as 33 meeting rooms, including three exhibition halls. Enjoy the convenient location of this Brighton hotel, within easy reach of major travel links just off the A23 and only five minutes from Brighton station. Gatwick Airport is 30 minutes from Hilton Brighton Metropole, and Central London less than an hour by train. Stay connected at your guest room desk with WiFi. Family Rooms are equipped with a double and a single bed - ideal for those with small children. Relax in a comfortable Deluxe Room with views of Brighton seafront, or select a Hilton Suite for a roomy seafront home from home. Choose from a menu of modern European classics in the Waterhouse Restaurant. The Waterhouse Bar & Terrace serves Costa coffee and Afternoon Tea in an exquisite setting. Unwind on the sea-facing terrace with drinks and enjoy light meals during the day. Hilton Brighton Metropole offers a choice of flexible space, quality facilities and excellent service. Our Conference and Events Team will ensure that events are tailored to your needs. Unwind in the fully equipped fitness centre and indoor swimming pool, warm tired muscles in the steam room or be pampered and polished on the Beauty Rooms our on-site spa, or treat yourself to a haircut in Cove Hairdressers. Alternatively indulge in what has become a Hilton Brighton Metropole tradition, afternoon tea 'Seaside Delights' in the Waterhouse Bar & Terrace with one of our 'Perfectly Paired' cocktails, or dine in grandeur under the ornately corniced ceiling of Waterhouse Restaurant. Walk down the original 1890's marble staircase of Hilton Brighton Metropole, and out into the chic boutique-lined streets of central Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hilton Brighton Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Brighton Metropole Hotel Brighton
Brighton Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing