We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
South West England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a nice place”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

After the terrible time at the Beach hotel. (see my review of that dump), this was a breath of fresh air. Clean, tide, friendly, courteous staff. We were alble to view 2 rooms before booking. Great TV, room big, airy, and the same price as the dump up the road. I would stay there again, and reccommend it to anyone. Nice place!

Room Tip: We got a King double. Lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yug33, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your feedback following your recent stay at Hilton Brighton Metropole.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, and that you found all our team to be very welcoming and friendly during your stay with us

Once again, thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards


Guy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    801
    1,114
    1,043
    676
    490
See reviews for
666
1,442
201
1,007
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (858)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Just got back from a well needed 2 day break at this hole and will be writing a letter of complaint. Our first room was filthy, boiling hot, ill equip and not just tired but totally exhausted!! I managed to get a move, however, this room was also very tired and below the cleanliness standards I would expect from a small B&B let alone a "Luxury Spa Hotel", it is so over priced its not even funny, I would have begrudge paying £80 for a room let alone the extortionate £170/room per night price tag that they have! They also have the audacity to charge an extra £14.99 for wifi in your room. The only good thing to say is the breakfast was good and the house keeping staff were very helpful. Don't bother with this even if someone else is footing the bill.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elsalty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yug33, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your most recent stay and I am sorry to read that you felt the room was tired. The hotel is in the process of refurbishing and redecorating a large number of rooms.

Please accept my apologies for the disappointments you had with the hotel and be assured we are renovating and improving the hotel on a regular basis.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards

Guy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

4 of us prebooked afternoon tea as part of a day trip to Brighton.From the outset we felt ignored, an inconvenience and staff seemed puzzled almost as to why we were there despite showing a copy of the booking.We were kept waiting for ages and finally directed to the restaurant which turned out to be the wrong place. However determined not to be put off, tea duly arrived after much debating about what we actually wanted. The "new" teapots were a disaster, the 3 tier cake stands on their last legs and the food whilst ok was pretty average, at no time were we offered champagne as an extra.Sorry to be so negative but customer service really was a let down.I have had teas in smaller establishments that were far superior and less money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Noonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yug33, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent trip to Brighton please accept my apologies for the unacceptable levels of service and attention that you experienced.

I have spoken to Brendan Shannon our Food & Beverage Manager who would also like to offer his apologies for the service you received and would be delighted to discuss this with you in more detail. If you could send us your contact details he would be more than happy to call you to resolve your dissatisfaction. Please email your details to Brendan.shannon@hilton.com

Once again, please accept my apologies for this totally unacceptable levels of service received during your afternoon tea.

Regards

Guy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We had booked the Grand next door for 2 nights but got bumped to this hotel from there - next door for 1 night as they had a client who changed dates and took over the whole hotel, we were not happy and even unhappier after this one night stay. The room was very small, the bathroom even smaller, the shower cubicle was dirty and very narrow. We had to ask for a fan as the windows were locked and the air con was not working, the concierge informed us. We did not sleep. We were very dissapointed with the stay here considering it was a Hilton, and will not stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judithterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yug33, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your most recent stay.

I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with all aspects of your stay with us due to the age and style of our hotel our bedrooms do come in all different shapes and sizes, the hotel is in the process of refurbishing and redecorating a large number of rooms.

Please accept my apologies for the disappointments you had with the hotel and be assured we are renovating and improving the hotel on a regular basis.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards

Guy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Yesterday went to an arranged Spa Day. The changing area, toilets and showers were filthy, no toilet tissue in dispenser. Robes that had previously been requested never turned up. When we arrived there at 10am we placed our orders for lunch so it would've been ready for 13.00 at 13.30 we were still waiting to be approached by a member of staff to take an order for a drink and there was still no sign of food!!! Finally five meals came out...10 minutes later mine appeared. Staff in the restaurant were rude.
Can't say I'll be keen to go back there anytime soon!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mooch75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yug33, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent visit to our Spa.

I would like to extend my apologies for the unacceptable levels of service and attention that you received on your Spa day. I have shared your feedback regarding the cleanliness of the Spa area with my relevant heads of department for them to immediately address.

I have also discussed the inefficiencies you experienced in our Restaurant with both my Food and Beverage Manger and Executive Chef. It is unacceptable that we failed on so many occasions to deliver the service you would expect at Hilton.

Once again, please accept my apologies for this totally unacceptable level of service received in both the Spa and our Restaurant.

Regards

Guy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

As stated before, some areas are worn, but in general a nice hotel with period features. Rooms can be hit and miss, mine was huge, airy, and well furnished, others I saw were small and very hot however re-fit in progress. I do think this is now reflected in the price as you can choose a newly refitted room or standard.

Staff took care of us, function of over 300 and personal touch still there, every member of staff said hello as we passed, well done!!. Sea front view rooms and bars, food all of good quality.

Hotel sparkling clean throughout.

Just the genral stuffiness (as in temperature and air flow) lets the hotel down from getting higher ratings.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yug33, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your most recent stay with us and I was delighted to read that you had thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your stay and the hotel. It is always a pleasure to read that the hotel and service provided for such an enjoyable stay for you.

We are also presently awaiting an upgrade to our Air Conditioning units which should resolve the temperature issues you highlighted in your feedback.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Guy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Stayed on business just for one night, booked by my office. Have stayed before and always had a sea view. This time I was given a room at the back of the hotel, so the view was not attractive. BUT the price of the room was very inexpensive and this is a gorgeous, classic seafront hotel. So I was happy to not look at the view! The room was enormous, had everything I wanted with a superbly comfortable bed. Plain, fully functional bathroom. (No shower cap). Would have liked a magnifying mirror , but that's just me. Due to the price of the room I was prepared for the cost of breakfast to be added to the final bill. Nice surprise that it was all inclusive. What a brilliant breakfast, with fresh eggs, porridge etc cooked to order in front of you. Wonderful, friendly waiting staff. Dinner the previous night was fabulous too. So good that I am going to review this separately.

Room Tip: I would ask for a sea view, but if you get a fantastic deal, do not worry about the view from your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yug33, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay with us I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

It is always a pleasure to read our team have provided you a wonderful experience. I am delighted you enjoyed our Hilton breakfast we do get a lot of very positive comments on it.

Once again, thank you for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Guy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,034 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#11 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Brighton Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Brighton Metropole

Property: Hilton Brighton Metropole
Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2FU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Brighton Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Brighton's seafront, the Hilton Brighton Metropole hotel offers charming Victorian elegance alongside modern convenience. This large South of England conference hotel has 340 guest rooms as well as 33 meeting rooms, including three exhibition halls. Enjoy the convenient location of this Brighton hotel, within easy reach of major travel links just off the A23 and only five minutes from Brighton station. Gatwick Airport is 30 minutes from Hilton Brighton Metropole, and Central London less than an hour by train. Stay connected at your guest room desk with WiFi. Family Rooms are equipped with a double and a single bed - ideal for those with small children. Relax in a comfortable Deluxe Room with views of Brighton seafront, or select a Hilton Suite for a roomy seafront home from home. Choose from a menu of modern European classics in the Waterhouse Restaurant. The Waterhouse Bar & Terrace serves Costa coffee and Afternoon Tea in an exquisite setting. Unwind on the sea-facing terrace with drinks and enjoy light meals during the day. Hilton Brighton Metropole offers a choice of flexible space, quality facilities and excellent service. Our Conference and Events Team will ensure that events are tailored to your needs. Unwind in the fully equipped fitness centre and indoor swimming pool, warm tired muscles in the steam room or be pampered and polished on the Beauty Rooms our on-site spa, or treat yourself to a haircut in Cove Hairdressers. Alternatively indulge in what has become a Hilton Brighton Metropole tradition, afternoon tea 'Seaside Delights' in the Waterhouse Bar & Terrace with one of our 'Perfectly Paired' cocktails, or dine in grandeur under the ornately corniced ceiling of Waterhouse Restaurant. Walk down the original 1890's marble staircase of Hilton Brighton Metropole, and out into the chic boutique-lined streets of central Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Brighton Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Brighton Metropole Hotel Brighton
Brighton Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing