We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap but very poor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
Ranked #40 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Southend on Sea
Level Contributor
301 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Cheap but very poor”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

For £36 a night bed & breakfast for two of us I shouldn't really complain...but I'm going to!

The only good thing (aside from the price) is the location. It couldn't be closer to the Pier and is a stones throw from shops, restaurants and bars. The hotel is certainly very dated, stinks of "foist" and is not the cleanest. I had to complain about our towels, covered in mascara and foundation - that was NOT mine!

The reception and some of the basement is being refurbished, me thinks it will take MUCH more than that.

But, as I said, for £36 a night you can't really expect The Ritz. What you can do is spend £4 extra and stay in one of the boutique hotels up the road. That's certainly what we'll do next time.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andi_wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    495
    579
    492
    1,054
See reviews for
347
1,195
146
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (762)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

I have just returned from this hotel with a group of 10 girls and can honestly say i have never stayed in such an awful hotel! Upon arrival, two of the girls had to change their room as it was like a sauna in there, the toilet had come away from the wall and the room was on a slant!
Another of our rooms was in the basement, was freezing cold and was so damp that the carpet was wet and the beds themselves were damp, even our clothes in the morning were damp! There was one chandelier in the room but only had 2 bulbs working, reception was asked for more bulbs 3 times but nothing was done, their reason being they only had one maintenance guy working.
The bathrooms were disgusting and had stains all over the baths.
There are damp patches all over the hotel, obviously there has been a major flood at some point. There are wires sticking out of light fixtures all around the hotel causing huge health and safety issues.
The most disgusting part of our stay was when someone had felt the need to leave the contents of their nose along the bannister for someone to put their hand in!
Most people will say the hotel needs refurbishing, i think this is an understatement.
DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank locket25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

I didn't actually stay in this hotel, but I recommended it to French Friends. Their room was below ground level and had NO WINDOWS!!!

The website for this hotel shows very grand luxury, and even describes itself as having 3 star luxury. Brighton tourist office says they are not affiliated to any 'star-awarding' national body.

PLEASE BE VERY CAREFUL IF YOU BOOK A ROOM ON_LINE FOR THIS HOTEL - YOU MAY BE VERY DISAPPOINTED.

Since their visit I have written on behalf of my friends to complain to the manager - he/she has refused to respond (even to recorded delivery letters)

Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Froggy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

as i hadn`t read the reviews until after i`d booked the holiday, i checked the bedlinen and towels wer clean as soon as i arrived. i had to ask for clean towels as they were dirrty- the excuse i was given was that they were having trouble with their laundry supplier, after that had clean towels every day. room wasn`t vaccuumed at all during our five day stay nor was the bathroom cleaned, and even one day after returning at 4.30 in the afternoon our room hadn`t been touched.but the worst thing of all was the light switches were shorting , if you switched the main room light on and then put the bathroom light on, when the bathroom light was turned off the main light also went off and then flickered back on. they did change bulbs which did seem to put it right for a while but i reported it again the following day,( which was our departure day) i believe that this hotel needs a full revamp and a person put in charge that will ensure that the staff carry out their work as they should. it`s a shame as the hotel is in a prime location, all the staff were pleasant and helpful, but it needs refurbishing drastically. i intend to contact the owners as i think that the electrical fault is very dangerous.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carer53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i wana be in oz
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

Went away for a one night break with social club at work so we didn’t choose hotel ourselves.
We had a sea viewroom, nice but windows let wind in as they did not fit to good
Bed comfortable and clean, coffee / tea making in room good, spa bath in room did not work
Over all cleanliness of room not to good .dust around sides of furniture Ect.
Evening meal was a buffet soup/salad/ main two meats and veg / selection of 3 sweets
Sort of meal you would get at sea front cafe. Breakfast was not to bad full English cereal /fruit yogurt Ect
Put up with it for one but would not stop again

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2010

Dirty rooms, blood on wall, mould and rust in bathroom. We booked via BA.com at the cost of £250 for two nights. We were so disappointed we checked out after the first night and went home. After seeing the photographs British Airways refunded the full booking.

The house keepers left rubbish on the stairs, mattresses on landings and the restaurant in the morning was like a cattle market, absolutely no service cheap ingredients and over subscribed so there was no where to sit.

Our room was small with a double bed and a view through a filthy window on to a concrete balcony covered in cigarette butts.

I feel embarrassed to be British and welcome foreign visitors to this kind of hotel, and reminds me why I don't bother holidaying at home!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2010

We have just had a bad experience at this hotel. Our room was in the cellar with dire views of a dirty wall, pipes, wires and ladders. This was through filthy tatty net curtains. The room was a long walk along meandering corridors. It was very cold, dark and dirty with faded decor. The fire notice had come off the door and was in a pile of tatty used information. The coffe tray had a pool of milk on it at our arrival and bits came out of the kettle. The drawers were filthy and some were falling apart. (somone did come to repair them but they fell apart again before we lef)t. The television was not functioning, and the socket on the wall that it was plugged into was coming adrift. The bed creaked but I have to say it was quite comfortable. One of the pillow cases was full of holes and they did not fit the pillows well.There was only one chair in the room.
In the bathroom one of the taps was not complete and the Spa Bath not functioning. The clean towels were dirty.
In the dining room the tables were sticky although they did wipe them between customers and the restaurant staff were friendly. The food was alright and they were helpful about my Gluten Free diet. One night there were no seats available in bar or lounge after the meal for the coffee which was served there.
At night the room was noisy with outside revellers into the early hours.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coachtraveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#21 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hostelpoint-Brighton
Hostelpoint-Brighton
#39 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
#27 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton

Property: Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
Address: 35 Old Steine, Brighton BN1 1NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Albion Hotel in Brighton is a Regency Style Hotel built in 1826 which offers a warm and friendly environment in a premier position directly opposite Brighton Pier. So, if you are looking for a seafront hotel in Brighton, you won't get much closer than this. Facing the sea, it's right at the heart of the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing