We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What Do People Expect for £18 per person a Night!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
Ranked #40 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“What Do People Expect for £18 per person a Night!”
Reviewed May 27, 2010

I find it interesting when people write these reviews slating the Hotel they stayed in. My thoughts have always been the more money that you spend the more right you have to complain. In this instance I spent less money than an average cab fare and therefore got exactly what I expected, a large Victorian Youth Hostel.

First the positives. The price. Myself and six work colleagues decided to have a cheap night by the sea side on a Tuesday night. I managed to negotiate three rooms for an average of £18 per person per night including breakfast, a bargain. The hotel is almost opposite the Pier and in walking distance of the Lanes for Restaurants and Bars. The room was spacious with clean bedding and towels and except for a few suspect floor stains and old decor was perfectly acceptable.

Booking in was a pain, one member of staff for a queue of five people. This took about twenty minutes but when I got to the front all of my paperwork was ready and the actual process took 5 minutes. The Hotel itself was once very Grand but now like all Seaside Hotels is very very tired and populated by Labourers, Old People Parties and Stag Groups. It has a small bar which looks over the front which was pleasant enough and prices were reasonable.

Breakfast was extremely busy and badly run but it was a Hot Buffet and when you grabbed a plate you could sit anywhere (we sat in the bar area). Checking out was simple enough and overall it was an acceptable stay.

Yes the Hotel was poor and I would never stay somewhere like this if I was with my wife or family but for what we wanted it for, it was fine. A real shame that a once beautiful hotel is now just an elaborate Youth Hostel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onebadhatharry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    505
    590
    499
    1,062
See reviews for
355
1,209
148
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (769)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2010

We stayed here for one night - we'd got a £30 deal on a website. We would have been happy to stay for a second night, but the room cost well over £100 for a Saturday night and that was so much more than it was worth.
The location is excellent - on the sea front, and somehow, no matter where we went in Brighton, all roads led back to the hotel. Parking in Brighton is difficult wherever you are - so find wherever you can. We parked in an NCP car park up the road a bit, and that was just fine.
Staff were very helpful, and always keen to please.
The hotel looks like it should be a grand place. The staircase and reception is impressive. In the room, however, the wallpaper and paint was peeling, there were several blackened chips in the bath and the windows did not keep out the noise from the street. Air conditioning barely did anything. Towels seemed to be rationed and almost everything required a trip to reception - irons, ironing boards, adequate amounts of tea and cofee - nothing seemed to be automatically provided.
Hotel bar is easily accessible (when not used for a wedding reception), and open well into the night for guests.
Breakfast was good. Lots of choice and staff keen to replenish the buffet items as soon as possible. Think I was the only person to touch the porridge (with good reason. It was watery).
Great if you have a cheap deal. Not worth a fraction of the full price.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetsetwelshie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
2 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2010

We booked a bargain weekend away but I was not expecting what greeted us on entering the room. It was full of flies, the shower rail was broken and the toliet bowl had previously been cracked all round and was filled with something I can only describe as looking like play doh. We discovered after our first night that the 'cleaner' didn't like making beds either, just covering them back up with the duvet. As I said I know this was a bargain but on the food front it was poor, what can I say. The first night was scampi or chicken and roast potatoes, none very appetising and some people seemed to think it was ok to pile their plates high with both as it was buffet style, I just thought it greedy. I had to mime to a member of staff for cutlery as they couldn't speak or understand English very well. I'm no snob but only saw a cleaner once in 3 days, handrails were sticky, cups and glasses left all over the place and weddings took over the hotel so on one day we had a diversion to the dining area which wasn't very clear. They also take over the scenic lounging room so you don't have access if they've booked it leaving no where to sit other than your room or the bar. Yes this hotel is in a great position however it was extremely noisy outside all night.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyHonestOpinion10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2010

after reading the reviews myself and buddy were worried! But its simple people it cost fourty pound,the hotel has beds a bar with food and its clean.so apart from 4.30am a faulty fire alarm goin off which was ignored it was a good stay and staff are not rude just dont speak english and location is great

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miller-williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Stayed for a trade union conference. Hotel room was average size and usual facilities- a tv with poor reception, tea and coffee and a broken trouser press (who actually uses these?) Room was clean and breakfast edable.

Not the ritz but at £50 in the centre of brighton, its a bargain

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enigma_variation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2010

Just spent 1 night at the Royal Albion to visit the races at Brighton.
The only positive things I can say is that the location is brilliant and the rate was much cheaper than anywhere else in the area - now I know why.
We arrived before check in time and room wasn't ready so we left our bag with the surliest, most unfriendly porter I have ever come across - he didnt even acknowledge us any of the times we came across him.
When we eventually checked in we were given a room that can only be described as horrific ! It was tiny and boiling hot. The window was completely obscured by huge metal pipes and some kind of boiler - it was dark even in full daylight. went back to complain and we were eventually offered an alternative room which was much better - we were 'shown' the room by the unsmiling and unspeaking porter who obviously wasn't the slightest bit interested. the room itself was a fair size with a nice big bath but everything in it needed replacing - carpets, curtains and furniture must be at least 20 years old . We had 2 single beds pushed together - only problem was that one was about 6 inches higher than the other - at least they were fairly comfortable though ! We spent several hours awake due to the music etc outside until 4 am - but i suppose thats what you get for the great location . We eventually nodded off but were woken again at 6am by the fire alarm going off - reception confirmed that it wasn't a fire - just a fault !
Public rooms aren't as bad as the bedrooms - the restaurant looked so horrid that we nearly walked back out again at breakfast - thankfully we didnt as the food was fairly nice.
Overall I would say you get what you pay for - if a budget price is all you can afford then go for it - sadly we wont be back again - would rather pay double the price and stay somewhere nicer. We didn't get the bargain we were hoping for !
We love brighton but parking is a nightmare - we parked near the station which seemed a safer bet than other places as they have someone ther 24 hrs and also CCTV - that cost us £11 but was way cheaper than some of the closer alternatives.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karensolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winchester
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2010

if your young and on a hen or stag weekend then this hotel would be desirable as sick everywhere fag butts and glasses left on the steps outside and a night club next door blaring out music till 4a.m. flys in our room on waking on first night but staff didnt seem at all bothered ( we found a sick patch in corner of room) changed rooms but our bags went to another room...............and the list goes on. then given room overlooking sea but so noicy being next to main road and nightclub. we were delighted to have a balcony though but went out there and yes......more sick and fag butts.beds so old with springs almost coming out and pillows to give you really bad necks. awful hotel so you have been warned

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 50fitzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,047 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,148 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#19 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hostelpoint-Brighton
Hostelpoint-Brighton
#39 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
#27 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton

Property: Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
Address: 35 Old Steine, Brighton BN1 1NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Albion Hotel in Brighton is a Regency Style Hotel built in 1826 which offers a warm and friendly environment in a premier position directly opposite Brighton Pier. So, if you are looking for a seafront hotel in Brighton, you won't get much closer than this. Facing the sea, it's right at the heart of the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing