We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not What We Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
Ranked #41 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Basildon, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not What We Expected”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Have just returned from a night away at The Royal Albion in Brighton and was very disappointed. I read some if the reviews before going and as always, kept an open mind, but sadly they were right! What was more disappointing was the fact some if the reviews had been written over a year ago and the responses had said the hotel was due for a refurbishment. They obviously haven't done it yet.
For a Britannia Hotel in such a prime position it has the potential to be very good, but would need a complete refurbishment including sorting their bathroom drains out.
What greeted us the minute we opened the room door was the smell! We heard a lot of people complaining about the smell, a damp, toilet drain smell. No amount of airing or sprays disguised it. The room itself was in bad repair, with the covers on the chair all frayed and although the bedding was clean, 2 pillowcases had big tears in them. The rest of the furniture was in bad repair. The only saving grace was the view, we had booked a room with a sea view - thankfully the window opened, but we heard 2 couples complaining they couldn't open their windows (and it was a hot day and evening).The bar was still open when we returned to the hotel at midnight and the lounge area was fairly pleasant.
It was obviously a busy weekend, and breakfast was busy, but the staff appeared to be rushed and in short supply. Food, coffee etc all kept running out and instead of topping up before it ran out, people were having to tell the staff and then wait for things to be replaced. There did not appear to be anyone senior, or in charge to keep a check.
Parking a bit of a nightmare, but as we were only there one night, we left the car in the 2 hour bay outside the hotel and topped it up twice and then it was free from 6pm until 9am.
Staff were pleasant and helpful. We used the hotel taxi phone, only to be let down after booking one after we arrived for 5.30pm and when it was 20 mins late and tried the phone again, they initially kept cutting you off and then put a recorded message on saying they were busy. Not sure who the taxi company was, but again we were not the only ones let down.
I would not recommend this hotel for the price it charges, or even if they dropped it to half the price. If the only advantage is a sea view you would be better off at a Premier, or Holiday Inn at a 1/3 of the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynneCook56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    515
    607
    508
    1,096
See reviews for
372
1,239
153
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (784)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Stayed for second time in a month.
Sonia was very helpful at reception and stayed calm under pressure.
Hotel does what it says on the box.
No parking, but offers 25% off at local NCP car park, ask for discount ticket.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank towercourt1359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalAlbion715, General Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review regarding your recent stay. We welcome all comments from guests regarding their stay, and yours showcases the kind of service we provide to the vast majority of our customers.

I have passed your comments onto Sonia who asked me to express her gratitude.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Apart from the parking, we found the staff very friendly and helpful, breakfast and dinner was lovely. Rooms were clean and bedding and towels were fresh. Stayed for two nights, bottle of wine thrown in. All in all good value. Upgraded to a sea view and was impressed. Don't be too put off by the older reviews as this place is steadily being revamped.

We stayed 15-17th May 2014 and will be back next year.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Legs2of
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalAlbion715, General Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on our product and service, and it looks like we came up trumps on both aspects for your stay.

Being in the city centre, parking is limited. We do not advertise a hotel car park and this is clearly stated in the booking confirmation you have attached, under hotel policies.

I hope you get the chance to come stay with us again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Having come back from Turkey and receiving a very high standard of service. This hotel was so so disappointing in every way. No consideration for us who had a baby and pushchair, the service and the rooms were so bad that we checked in after midnight and left first thing in the morning. In my experience it has no stars!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalAlbion715, General Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments about your stay with us. I am really sorry to hear that your stay was not a satisfactory one.

We are undergoing a major refurbishment programme with work being done on the outside and inside of the building, unfortunately some of the bedrooms are yet to be completed.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel in future to enjoy what I hope can be a more pleasant stay.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel over the weekend and i have to say, i did not enjoy it whatsoever!! I chose to stay here because its not the first time i have stayed at this hotel but it really is a case of pot luck! When its good, it is amazing but when it is bad, it is appalling. I was just unlucky on this occasion.
Location: this hotel is in an excellent location, right at the heart of brighton a stones throw away from the beach
Price: we paid £59 for a double and breakfast. I think for the time of year, the price was great but the breakfast was a total joke! There is much more selection for the meat eaters then the vegetarians. My breakfast was just beans, scrambled eggs and toast. When i asked if there were any mushrooms the staff on duty, just shrugged her shoulders and said there is nothing she can do...absolutely no attempt to reassure the customer. Her attitude stank! So if you stay here, just pay for the room only, you are not missing out, honestly!
Parking: there is no parking available, which is so disappointing as the charges in the controlled areas (outside the hotel) are extortionate! (£6 for 2hours!!) There are other much better hotels nearby that provide parking and eliminate the inconvenience, hassle and worry of trying to find somewhere safe to park the car.
Room & Comfort: the bed was very uncomfortable and we did not sleep all night. The bathroom window did not have a curtain and even though we are on the 4th floor and the chances of being seen were minute it is still off putting having a shower with the lights on and no privacy. Check out is at 10am which i think is ridiculous as all other hotels i have stayed at in brighton have an 11am check out time. You have to pay an additional £10 per hour which i most certainly was not prepared to do.
Overall: if you stay here, you are really only paying for the location, which is just brilliant. If you are not driving and are only looking for place to rest your head then this is for you, provided you get lucky. Its shocking that this place has so many bad reviews yet nothing is being done to address the issues and change this!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Immy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalAlbion715, General Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

I am very sorry to hear that your stay was not satisfactory.

I take your comments about our staff very seriously and I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with the levels of customer service.

You have mentioned the rooms are filthy, damp and dirty. There may have been an issue with your particular room but I am sure that the majority of our rooms are not any of these things. I am sorry that you experienced this and that we were not able to accommodate you in a room of a better standard. We do try to deal with any housekeeping or maintenance issues as soon as they are reported.

I can only apologise that the food was not of a satisfactory standard. We serve the food in our largest room in the hotel and offer people a choice of a Full English Breakfast and continental, or for lunch and dinner a choice of starters, mains and desserts. The majority of our customers are very happy with this choice.

Being in the city centre, parking is limited. We do not advertise a hotel car park and this is clearly stated in the booking confirmation you have attached, under hotel policies. It is unfortunate that you only became aware of the high price of parking in Brighton on arrival.

We would be happy to welcome you back for a future stay at The Royal Albion Hotel and hope that you would have a pleasant stay experienced by the majority of our guests.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel late at night to find no car park so have to pay 15 pounds per 12 hours we were staying a costly outlay to our holiday, we went in to find we we're on the 4th floor midning we had a pushchair but by the sound of we had the best room of the hotel the room itself wasn't that bad for the money we paid it the rest of the hotel with damp everywhere and water falling from the ceilings and mould everywhere the breakfast was horrible I refused to pay next time I will look for a different hotel

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalAlbion715, General Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on The Royal Albion Hotel.

I am very sorry that certain aspects of the hotel did not meet with your expectations.

We are undergoing a major refurbishment programme with work being done on the outside and inside of the building, unfortunately some of the bedrooms are yet to be completed.

Being in the city centre, parking is limited. We do not advertise a hotel car park and this is clearly stated in the booking confirmation you have attached, under hotel policies.

We would be happy to welcome you back for a future stay at The Royal Albion Hotel and hope that you would have a pleasant stay experienced by the majority of our guests.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This place is rank, should be closed down. stains on the walls, clogged up air-con unit in our room, pumping dust around while you sleep. Blood and crap on carpets and walls. woke up with bite marks.... honestly. Breakfast was a joke which we didn't eat, watch them bring out freshly cooked food and put it on top of food that had been sitting there a while as it was cold when I checked to see if it was edible. Holes in walls in stairwells, honestly iv'e see hostels in better condition then this place. Would I come back again = NEVER I'd rather sleep on the beach in the rain then this dive.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Londonmillwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalAlbion715, Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

I am very sorry to hear that your stay was not satisfactory.

You have mentioned the rooms are filthy, damp and dirty. There may have been an issue with your particular room but I am sure that the majority of our rooms are not any of these things. I am sorry that you experienced this and that we were not able to accommodate you in a room of a better standard. We do try to deal with any housekeeping or maintenance issues as soon as they are reported.

I can only apologise that the food was not of a satisfactory standard. We serve the food in our largest room in the hotel and offer people a choice of a Full English Breakfast, or for lunch and dinner a choice of starters, mains and desserts. The majority of our customers are very happy with this choice.

We would be happy to welcome you back for a future stay at The Royal Albion Hotel and hope that you would have a pleasant stay experienced by the majority of our guests.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 44 in Brighton
2,109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 44 in Brighton
2,209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
1.3 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#26 of 44 in Brighton
561 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton

Property: Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
Address: 35 Old Steine, Brighton BN1 1NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Albion Hotel in Brighton is a Regency Style Hotel built in 1826 which offers a warm and friendly environment in a premier position directly opposite Brighton Pier. So, if you are looking for a seafront hotel in Brighton, you won't get much closer than this. Facing the sea, it's right at the heart of the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing