We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A chilly Bank Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
Ranked #41 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A chilly Bank Holiday”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

A grand old hotel right on the sea front in need of a little TLC however still very functional as a lovely place to stay. Great views of the pier from the bar in the hotel. Close to the Brighton wheel. The shops in the Lanes are only a few minutes walk. Food in the hotel was basic however it was tasty and plenty of it. The room we stayed in had views park and the fish restaurant across the road. For an extra £10 per person you could have a room with a sea view.
Breakfast had a good selection.
Very pleasant and helpful staff, we would recommend staying here to anyone on a budget look out for the deals they do and it is work paying extra for the breakfast and evening meal options as you will be pushed to find a better deal for a 3 course meal with tea and coffee.

Room Tip: It would be worth paying £10 extra per person for a sea view as you will get a great view of the Pie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    495
    579
    493
    1,054
See reviews for
347
1,195
146
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (762)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ludlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Have just returned from a 2 night stay in this ghastly hotel. Reception staff surly - gave us our key and sent us on our way. We had to trek with our bags down a flight of stairs and along endless dreary corridors and eventually arrived at our room. Opened the door to find it occupied - thankfully only clothes and luggage in room, so no embarrasing encounters with occupants. Had to trek back to reception and were allocated an alternative room next door to the original room, so another trek back. No apology from reception. Room was acceptable, although tired and the loo and the carpet needed a good clean. Breakfast was taken in some barn of a room furnished in the most basic uninviting way - tables were crammed very close and people kept bumping into our chairs. Apart from the cereals, food was almost inedible and the coffee was like grey dish water. Some of the chairs in the lounge area were ripped. That night went to sleep, only to be woken at 12.30 pm by a great cacophony of noise - realised our ground floor room was right opposite a night club - buses revved up, ambulance and police arrived and noise continued unabated until 4.00 am. Only positive was that the room was warm, plenty of hot water and linen crisp and clean. Just not enough to tempt us back, even though we visit Brighton frequently to visit our son. Will have to find alternative hotel - it can't be worse - can it?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane_P999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

west midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

I stayed at this hotel Monday to Friday with Travel style. I was pleasantly surprised with the hotel after reading some of the dreadful reviews.
I stayed in room 421, double bed, Jacuzzi bath, lovely and warm, no sea view, but this was not a problem.
Food is excellent, at times you do have to queue.
99p bar 6-9
Location is excellent for Pier, Pavilion, Sea life centre and shops.
A very relaxing, enjoyable break at a hotel that is yes dated but full of charm, and for what you pay I would not be expecting 5 star accommodation, I would expect clean rooms, polite staff, good food and that is exactly what I got.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

me and my husband went to this hotel for 2 days and it was a lovely experience, the members of staff and manager had given great service and advised us on where to go for the best sights around. the room was very warm and welcoming. we were very pleased with the entire journey,i would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone. you will not regret it.

Room Tip: room on the ground floor are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 386 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

I have stayed in a number of Britannia's Hotels and apart from one ( an airport hotel ) i have never had any cause to complain about either the rooms or the service i have received . This hotel ticked all the boxes . I booked via there own website for £29 for a double room . In fact there where 3 of us and it was cheaper to book two doubles than for us to book a triple ? so we got a standard double and ..i got a deluxe sea view with jacuzzi bath ! yup all to myself and when you think this deal comes with full english breakfast and continental buffet ..How can anyone complain . This hotel is 200 years old ..i loved the fact that the paintwork was a bit dodgy , and the chairs where worn and that the wallpaper was a little moth eared ...its got character . Check in was easy , staff where polite ..the hotel was very busy with lots of tourists etc i mean you dont get the £29 deals all the time but i wud book this hotel in a heartbeat if that offer came up again . Then again if i had paid say £80 a night then i might have a little moan ...but for my £29 my jacuzzi bath worked brilliantly and i got a sea view of Brighton pier and went to sleep with the sound of the sea in my ears . Both rooms where brilliant , even the standard one . we where on the 4th Floor rooms 419 and 424 .... both great rooms . Thank you Britannia ! Hurrah for hotels that havnt had the heart ripped out of them ...give me a bit of peeling paint anyday ..especially at that price !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judithchalmers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Booked during Xmas holidays with sea view upgrade double bed room for end of March. Confirmed on the Saturday morning prior to travel - all was stated as OK. Arrived at 5:00pm and checked in to discover people already staying in the room allocated. They had been relocated and we got bumped out. Alternative room had small corner of window sea view but generally looked out on the rubbish bins and it had twin beds. Having had 3-months notice to get it right and having also paid for it way back I confronted the duty manager and complained and was relocated to a non-sea view double room in exchange for a bottle of wine with the evening meal and a late check out. Room was 14.7 degC inside and heating didn't work. TV had the aerial cable missing. A heater was delivered in 30 minutes to the room and the TV was fixed. The hot water was fine but the bath plug did not seal. Normal check out was 10:00am but we'd been given two hours extra. Went back to room at 10:20am to discover the card swipe no longer worked. Had to queue up with the many checking out to get the door swipe cards set by the lone attendant at the reception desk. The problem is that with so few staff and being so busy with stag and hen parties, coach trips, wedding receptions going on and customers taking up their discounted stay offers then any problems (and there were quite a few) took time to resolve. As stated by others, the location is good but the hotel is tired looking. The evening three-course meal was as you'd expect when it is sold for £9.95 - self service and limited menu. But how they make a profit from it appears difficult. Car parking for the night cost more!

Room Tip: Don't do Saturday
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

I have just returned from a stay at the royal Albion hotel and I can honestly say there is nothing royal about it, although it probably was beautiful once. The hotel is incredibly run down and is in major need of refurbishment both inside and out.

i was part of a large hen party so got to see many different rooms. Some of our party were put in the basement, which had no windows in the rooms, the ground floor was at road level and therefore incredibly noisy until 4am, floor 1 was above the in house disco so even noisier as the room felt like an extension of the club. I was on the second floor which again was very noisy, especially if your room is sea facing. Floor four had a leak in the roof so was therefore subject to damp and mould. Buckets were placed in the corridors to catch the leaking water.

Rooms are very basic and incredibly cold. My room had no heating and only a plug in electric heater which did nothing. I actually ended up sleeping fully clothed under two duvets and two blankets!!

Breakfast is again basic but more than edible. The main advantage to this hotel is its location as it is directly opposite the pier and within easy walking distance of everything you need. If you want cheap book here, if you want luxury look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Avoid basement, ground floor and sea facing. All terribly noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickyspike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#21 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hostelpoint-Brighton
Hostelpoint-Brighton
#39 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
#27 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton

Property: Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
Address: 35 Old Steine, Brighton BN1 1NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Albion Hotel in Brighton is a Regency Style Hotel built in 1826 which offers a warm and friendly environment in a premier position directly opposite Brighton Pier. So, if you are looking for a seafront hotel in Brighton, you won't get much closer than this. Facing the sea, it's right at the heart of the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing