We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
Ranked #40 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We found the hotel shabby and small. The bathroom which was meant to be a spa executive room was old, looked dirty and was incredibly badly maintained. There was a draft through the French windows because they didn't fit properly and the TV looked like something out of a museum. The bed was small and the hallways stank of smoke, right outside our bedroom door. We found other people's belongings under the bed and chair clearly showing that the room hadn't been cleaned very well. The wall paper was peeing and the paintwork shabby. The dinner was basic, sort of like a school canteen but the breakfast, once we'd queued for it was good. On writing to Britannia Hotels with our complaint they sent a standard letter back referring it back to the hotel, who also wrote back with a very insincere, impersonal standard response.

To avoid disappointment, whatever the special offer, it is not worth the money.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickWright715, General Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Please accept our sincere apologies for any disappointment you experienced during your stay with us. Your letter of complaint has been passed to Maintenance and Housekeeping managers in order that the points raised with regards to your room are dealt with as soon as possible.

All of our double beds are the same standard size throughout the hotel. I understand that some hotels offer king size beds, we do not have these within our rooms.

I am sorry if you were not told of our smoking rooms. Our smoking rooms are 170-183 and the second floor rooms.

Once again, please accept my sincere apologies, but thank you for taking the time and trouble to write to us with your very useful comments.

Yours Sincerely

Nick Wright HCIMA
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,067)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,953 - 1,959 of 3,067 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

just had a great weekend in brighton, never stayed at the royal albion before, so was a bit worried with what people were saying on here.
we booked back in november and asked when booking for a high floor room. we got just that, 5th floor.on first impression everything looked really nice, but on closer inspection, as you do. we began to discoverer things.
carpet missing under the bed, the electical sockets were a bit loose on the walls. the main thing for me was there was no air con, tho its in the room. so had to have the windows open during the day, to much traffic noice for the night tho. the net curtains were filthy, what were white are now grey and black along the bottom. ( i must say at this point the house keeping staff were great, the rooms were spotless).
in the bathroom the frame for the shower curtain was hanging away from the roof, other than that the bathroom was good.
with breakfast, well that was just great. eat as much as you like to fill you up for the day.

over all this hotel is ok, tho it could do with a fair bit a maintainance all over.
would i stay there again? yes i think i would as its within a few minutes walk of most places of interest in brighton.

Room Tip: ask for high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank signum37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickWright715, General Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Here at the Royal Albion Hotel, we strive to provide an exemplary level of customer service to all our guests.


I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope that you choose Royal Albion, during your next visit to Brighton.
I will however pass your comments to Maintenance and Housekeeping managers in order that the points raised with regards to your room are dealt with as soon as possible.

Yours sincerely,

Nick Wright HCIMA
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is probably a strange thing for people to understand if you are a non-smoker,I booked a cheap deal break at this hotel,not knowing what sort of room i get etc,looking forward to having a cigerette on a freezing cold doorstep,on entering to room i noticed an ashtay on the desk,so i went to reception to ask why it was there,she replied the whole of our 2nd floor has smoking rooms.I would have paid a surcharge to be able to do this.so thats for all you smokers out there.Hotel its self could do with a bit of a makeover,but is an old building,Staff need to be friendly,but all in all didnt care cos i had an ashtray.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank san60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickWright715, General Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Here at the Royal Albion Hotel, we strive to provide an exemplary level of customer service to all our guests.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope that you choose Royal Albion, during your next visit to Brighton.

Yours sincerely,

Nick Wright HCIMA
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Reviewing this in loved up mode may make all the difference, but reading the other comments, such as no mushrooms are hardly worth a terrible rating! (THE HORROR! No mushrooms! There was plenty more to choose from...)
This hotel has many fantastic features which outweigh the slightly old fashioned decor...thumbs up to the Vegasy buffet style breakfast, beautiful lounges and wide range of amenities...
Bearing in mind that rooms in this hotel are only £40 a night (or less i see) there's no room for complaint.

We checked in late a night and were given a superior room in the eaves of the hotel, no sea view but we didn't pay for one so we didn't mind what was out the window! The room was spacious and warm, comfy arm chairs, lovely big cleam bathroom...the carpets could do with replacing but they were clean and nice to walk on...we were happy to find the hotel bar was still open (and a very reasonable price for a pint)...sitting in the regency style lounge, overlooking the pier and the sea felt pretty blissful after a 4 hour journey...
Breakfast was great - free breakfast, it was busy but the staff handled it well, there was no real wait time...it was perfectly suited to busy travellers wanting to get out and seize the day, portions unlimited - great choice of cereals, breads, teas and coffee as well the fried stuff...in another review somebody has mentioned microwaves, i'd love to see the microwave that made these gargantiun piles of food! We were left feeling satisfied, especially on the last day where we enjoyed our coffee in the lounge overlooking the sea...
We noticed there was an evening buffet as well which we didn't have time to try but at £9.95 for all you can eat definitely seems re-visiting! There was the sound of a club a couple of nights, but this is an old hotel, not a modern sound proofed box...Brighton is a party town, perhaps a lowering of the expectations is required for £20 per person per night! The hotel made this one of our favourite trips to Brighton.
We would be happy to stay here again and take the rents no less :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BlueGrumpyBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickWright715, General Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to post your comments about your stay with us.

Here at the Royal Albion Hotel, we strive to provide an exemplary level of customer service to all our guests.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope that you choose Royal Albion, during your next visit to Brighton.

Yours sincerely,

Nick Wright HCIMA
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

me and my partner was pleasantly surprised after we had read some reviews ( which wasnt good ) we really didn't know what to expect but we was happy with the facilities and really enjoyed our stay and we are looking to return later in the year but we have to say that the decor could do with much needed modernising and it would benefit from a larger breakfast buffett area .

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank liz t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickWright715, General Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Here at the Royal Albion Hotel, we strive to provide an exemplary level of customer service to all our guests.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope that you choose Royal Albion, during your next visit to Brighton.

Yours sincerely,

Nick Wright HCIMA
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Had been a bit concerned about going to this hotel after reading other reviews. But I wanted inexpensive and that is what I got - £29 a night. For that price it was fine. The room was clean, which is the most important; and warm, too warm at nights. Yes, it is shabby but it gets the customers who don't want to/can't afford to pay a lot, and knows its market. If done up prices would escalate, specially given its prime position, and at the moment it is handy for many. I think management needs a bit of a kick. The young staff were willing but seemed a bit sloppy. Training? And the public areas need a better eye kept on them - cigarette butt left squashed on stair carpet for most of the day and tables in the lounge sticky. It's a kind of pile 'em high, sell them cheap place - and on that level it works.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rowanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickWright715, General Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Here at the Royal Albion Hotel, we strive to provide an exemplary level of customer service to all our guests.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope that you choose Royal Albion, during your next visit to Brighton.

Yours sincerely,

Nick Wright HCIMA
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I book a hotel in advanced so not to be disappointed and what i have got is a basement room underneath the club next to the hotel. They gave me another room in the end but still its not an excuse especially an one of the busiest weekends

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NKMIca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickWright715, General Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

I can only apologise for the noise disturbance which you had from the night club in the hotel. We do have noise restrictors on our equipment, obviously these did not manage to stop disturbance to you on this night.

Please accept my sincere apologies for any discomfort caused, but thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your very useful comments.

Yours Sincerely

Nick Wright HCIMA
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
870 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#18 of 43 in Brighton
2,414 reviews
1.3 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#27 of 43 in Brighton
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#22 of 43 in Brighton
1,710 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.8 mi away
The Brighton Hotel
The Brighton Hotel
#24 of 43 in Brighton
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton

Address: 35 Old Steine, Brighton BN1 1NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: $49 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Albion Hotel in Brighton is a Regency Style Hotel built in 1826 which offers a warm and friendly environment in a premier position directly opposite Brighton Pier. So, if you are looking for a seafront hotel in Brighton, you won't get much closer than this. Facing the sea, it's right at the heart of the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing