We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very tired & in need of refurb” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
Ranked #40 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very tired & in need of refurb”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Visited for 1 night with my daughter in January 2013.

After reading reviews on here I was a little sceptical about what we would find but approached it with an open mind.

It took around 15 minutes to check-in with no 'sorry to keep you waiting'.

Our twin room was awful. Sea view but windows were extremely dirty. Curtains didnt meet totally. Certainly no double glazing so outside noise is there constantly.

Our door had an inch gap along the bottom so any noise in the corridor could be heard very clearly. We could hear every footstep and creaky floorboard from the room above.

The room was in general need of a total refurbishment with wallpaper missing from some walls, rotten woodwork, a lack of light in the room and a bathroom that has definitely seen better days. The tiles around the shower were cracked and broken and the complete wall had a crack from floor to ceiling.

Breakfast was not much better with cold toast on a help yourself tray and a cooked breakfast that was very off putting with the scrambled egg swimming in water.

Although we only paid £35 for this room I would not return to this hotel and think a travel lodge would have been better value.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chezmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickWright715, General Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please accept our sincere apologies for any disappointment you experienced during your stay with us. Your comments have been passed to Maintenance and Housekeeping managers in order that the points raised with regards to your room are dealt with as soon as possible.

I have also passed your comments to our Front of House Manager in order that reception staff are visible. Ensuring that guests are not left waiting for long periods to check-in. I have asked that the number of staff on duty be monitored closely especially at times, especially when we are expecting higher volumes of arriving guests.

I am sorry that you did not find the food satisfactory, we rarely get complaints about our food. I will however pass on your comments to our Head Chef and Restaurant Manager.

Once again, please accept my sincere apologies, but thank you for taking the time and trouble to write to us with your very useful comments.

Yours sincerely,

Nick Wright HCIMA
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    491
    573
    489
    1,045
See reviews for
342
1,184
144
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (755)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Awful hotel - and awful customer service. Stayed December 2012 and hallways smelt damp with wallpaper peeling from walls. Toilet didn’t flush, reported fault but no one came.

Hotel has major health and safety issues - I would advise anyone thinking of booking to not bother look at a different hotel in the area as you will only be disappointed.

Room Tip: choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLB403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickWright715, General Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

In December here at the Royal Albion Hotel, We had a major leak, consequently, some floors and walls became moist. However the leak has now been rectified and remedial action has been taken to bring the hotel back to a state of good repair.

I sincerely apologise for any discomfort and disappointment the leak must have caused you. Please be assured, this is not the normal standard of service.

I hope that you choose Royal Albion on your next visit to Brighton, where the standards will be as expected.

Yours Sincerely

Nick Wright
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Rainham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

My partner and I stayed at The Royal Albion Hotel on Saturday 12th January 2013. When we returned to our room shortly after 10pm it appeared we were now in the middle of a nightclub. The hotel's nightclub was directly above our room and the music was so loud that the room was actually vibrating. We were not told anything about this when we checked in and when we called reception from our room we were informed that the hotel was fully booked and therefore could not change rooms and that the club was open until 2am. They authorised us a late check out for free however this turned out to be useless as at 8am it sounded like we had a herd of elephants above us which we later found out was the breakfast rush as extra tables were located in the bar again directly above our room. So with less than 6 hours sleep you can guess that we were not best pleased. I complained on check out and was asked to email the manager - I did so and they have offered us 25% off our next stay. I can safely say that we will not be staying there again!

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 187 or anywhere near that room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanessa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickWright715, General Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

I can only apologise for the noise disturbance which you had from the night club in the hotel. We do have noise restrictors on our equipment, obviously these did not manage to stop disturbance to you on this night.

The restaurant is our largest room in the hotel. We do spread the breakfast time over 3 hours (7am-10am) to give our guests the opportunity to eat at times that suit them. As is often the case, guests will arrive for breakfast at around the same time, hence it gets slightly overcrowded. I am sorry if people queuing for breakfast caused you a disturbance during your stay.

Once again, please accept my sincere apologies, but thank you for taking the time and trouble to write to us with your very useful comments.

Yours sincerely,

Nick Wright HCIMA
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

My wife and I travelled down to the hotel with national holidays for a 5 day break. After booking the holiday i read lots of negative reviews about the Royal Albion on here and thought that we had made a big mistake booking the holiday but decided not to cancel and go ahead. I think it was one of the best decisions we have ever made. The room was large, clean and comfortable. It was very noisy when the night club across the road from the hotel turned out but after first night and few JD's before bed we didn't hear it as much. The room was serviced every day to a good standard. We were both very surprised and pleased by the choice and quality of the food, we really enjoyed the meals and the restaurant staff were very friendly and efficient. We found all the hotel staff very helpful, polite and pleasant and really enjoyed our stay and would recommend to all. It would be nice if the hotel could provide a toilet closer to the bar as it is a bit of a route march down to basement or back up to room. We would definitely stay again..Thank you all at the Royal Albion.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harley187067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickWright715, General Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Here at the Royal Albion Hotel, we strive to provide an exemplary level of customer service to all our guests.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope that you choose Royal Albion, during your next visit to Brighton.

Yours sincerely,

Nick Wright HCIMA
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luton
Level Contributor
111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Has a very Victorian feel to it wiyh high ceilings and chandeliers.Hotels as they should be with ample wardrobe and storage space and a comfortable bed and nice bathroom. All areas were really clean. Breakfast buffet was included in the price and was very good and a wide variety of cooked and cold dishes. Opposite the pier so perfect location for walks and sightseeing and not too far from shops either. Only gripe the room was slightly cold with inadequate radiator that kept cutting out really expect central heating in such a big hotel. Staff all friendly and all in all would stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eyluel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickWright715, General Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Here at the Royal Albion Hotel, we strive to provide an exemplary level of customer service to all our guests.

I do apologise that you had trouble with the heating, we do have portable heaters available from reception. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope that you choose Royal Albion, during your next visit to Brighton.

Yours sincerely,

Nick Wright HCIMA
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

When we first arrived we were pleased with the room which was very large, overlooked Palace Pier and had a wonderful sea view (despite the filthy windows). The decor was tired throughout the hotel, including our room, but was clean. On returning to our room at 11pm we discovered that directly beneath/adjacent to our room was a bar, within the hotel, which had loud music and people drinking outside until 2am. Although the bar closed then, the noise continued for several more hours. What do they say about things being too good to be true?! Had this been a Premier Inn we would have got our money back because sleep that night was impossible.
Breakfast was chaotic. Although the food was reasonable, the organisation was sadly lacking. We were unable to eat in the restaurant and took our food items (one at a time as there were no trays) to the adjacent lounge, where we had to clear a table and move the furniture in order to sit down. We were surrounded by dirty china on every available horizontal space. Any staff that were around made no effort to clear any mess while we were there.
On a more positive note, you get what you pay for and if we did go back we would be more selective about which room we had - up high and at the back!

Room Tip: Try high up and away from the seafront
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickWright715, General Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

I can only apologise for the noise disturbance which you had from the night club in the hotel. We do have noise restrictors on our equipment, obviously these did not manage to stop disturbance to you on this night.

The restaurant is our largest room in the hotel. We do spread the breakfast time over 3 hours (7am-10am) to give our guests the opportunity to eat at times that suit them. As is often the case, guests will arrive for breakfast at around the same time, hence it gets slightly overcrowded.

Once again, please accept my sincere apologies, but thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your very useful comments.

Here at the Royal Albion Hotel, we strive to provide all our guests with an exemplary level of customer service. I hope that you will return to us, where the standards will be as expected.

Yours sincerely,

Nick Wright HCIMA
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed 1 night booked at short notice.Staff are very friendly and accommodating, arrived early and able to check in immediately (12 noon) as room was available.Perfect location opposite pier on sea front,with great view from lounge bar.Free Wi Fi in communal area.Breakfast included and more than adequate.
Hotel location is perfect for exploring Brighton which has plenty of bars and restaurants hence we did not eat at the hotel.
Great value hotel would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickWright715, General Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Here at the Royal Albion Hotel, we strive to provide an exemplary level of customer service to all our guests.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope that you choose Royal Albion, during your next visit to Brighton.

Yours sincerely,

Nick Wright HCIMA
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#15 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,088 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#22 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
#27 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#18 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton

Property: Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
Address: 35 Old Steine, Brighton BN1 1NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Albion Hotel in Brighton is a Regency Style Hotel built in 1826 which offers a warm and friendly environment in a premier position directly opposite Brighton Pier. So, if you are looking for a seafront hotel in Brighton, you won't get much closer than this. Facing the sea, it's right at the heart of the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing