We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
Ranked #40 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spent short weekend at the Royal Albion , on arrival showed to room which looked like it had not been cleaned for months nevermind days hair all over the room stagnated water in kette etc.Managed to get moved straight the way and it was bought to our attention this was a regular occurance by one of the staff. The hotel was very cold through the night . In their defence the breakfast wasn,t too bad . Wouldnt rush back .

Room Tip: Top floor where possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickWright715, General Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

Unfortunately due to the age of the building we do sometimes have problems with heating; however if you had reported the problem to reception at the time they do have portable heaters to offer in these circumstances.

Once again I do apologise that you did not enjoy your stay with us and you encountered issues with heating. The hotel central heating system is on a timer. I have forwarded your complaint to our Maintenance Department in order that they can look into this matter and address any issues with the control panel in this room.

Thankyou for taking the time to write to us regarding your stay and the issues you have encountered.

Yours sincerely,

Nick Wright HCIMA
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,009)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,004 - 2,010 of 3,009 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Stayed with a big group of friends and found an amazing deal online, 2 people one night including dinner breakfast and wine for £55 overall! Location couldn't be better, could see the pier from almost all of the rooms we had between us. Although traffic was noisy at night, a lot of sirens! Our room didn't have a hairdryer or biscuits although all of our friends rooms did. We also didn't receieve the same amount of keycards as them. For dinner theres a choice of about 4 meals, quite low quality food but as it was free we didn't complain! Breakfast was worse, buffet was regularly empty and our eggs were green. Staff were very nice except the receptionists who were slightly unhelpful and rude. Security at night time on the hotel entrance. Balconies and Jacuzzi bath were great. Hotel is absoloutely huge, old fashioned and abit rusty, could do with redecorating. Would definitely stay again if I can find a similar deal, although I wouldn't eat there if I had to pay extra for that.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickWright715, General Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stays at The Royal Albion Hotel Brighton.

I am sorry that you did not find the food satisfactory. We rarely get complaints about our food. I will however pass on your comments to our Head Chef and Restaurant Manager.

We are able to upgrade rooms for a charge of £10 per night although this is subject to rooms being available.

Thank you once again for your comments; we do value all feedback at the hotel both positive and negative. We continue to work hard to maintain and improve standards at the hotel.

Kind Regards,

Nick Wright
Operations Manager (HCIMA)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Having stayed at the Royal Albion some years ago, I was pleasantly surprised with the standards at the hotel now operated by the Britannia Hotel group. Our long weekend break can be best described as excellent value for money. The restaurant, although chaotic did serve up delicious menus all the time, and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Full marks to the staff, you will not find a more helpful and friendly group of people anywhere. Thanks for a very enjoyable break, and we will defiantly make another return visit.

Room Tip: keep to lower floors if you need the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cljabr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickWright715, General Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent comments.
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Royal Albion.

We strive to provide an exemplary level of customer service to all our guests.
Your comments have been passed to the heads of each department so as the staff members involved are praised.

We hope you choose Royal Albion hotel during your next visit to Brighton.
Yours Sincerely

Nick Wright
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Just spent 3 nights at the Royal Albion. Reception staff slow, sent to room (420) which hadn't been fully prepared. Evidence of water ingress over window with deeply stained wallpaper. Terrible smell in bathroom and corridors. Carpetpet torn. No view from window and constant noise from ducting outside of window which went on all night. Tried to change room but no luck. Website describes rooms as eloquently furnished, so can only guess we were at wrong hotel. Breakfast arrangements were chaotic with guest having to wait for tables to be freed-up. Choice limited with dirty cups and saucers. Wouldn't stay here again or recommended to anyone.

Room Tip: Not sure there is one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyAshford_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickWright715, General Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

It is unfortunate that we did not provide the level of service usually afforded by our hotel on this occasion. Your comments have been forwarded to all heads of department in order that the issues you have reported can be investigated and any remedial action taken, immediately regarding rothe rooms.

The restaurant is our largest room in the hotel. We do spread the breakfast time over 3 hours (7am-10am) to give our guests a chance to go at different times. As it turns out occasionally guests will head down at the same time, hence it gets slightly overcrowded.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointment and discomfort you experienced, but thank you for taking the time and trouble to write to us with your very useful comments.

Yours sincerely,

Nick Wright HCIMA
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed there for 5 days in October. Excellent location - walk out onto the promenade, pier. Is so close to the Royal Pavilion, Art Gallery, the Lanes, shops etc. Food was better than just acceptable - chef provided plenty of variety for dinner buffet, breakfast buffet always good. Staff polite and helpful. It is a listed building. Large airy lounge. Quieter room to sit or tv bar. Bedroom - ours was perfectly acceptable, clean etc. If Britannia spent loads of money refurbishing it, you'd be talking about spending 3or 4 times more to stay there in a prime location. I for one would prefer shabby chic and VALUE FOR MONEY!! Stop moaning about it or go somewhere else costing a lot more. Why expect 5* luxury? You get what you pay for in life.

Room Tip: Think rooms on back are near a night club, we weren't effected by it but think others were.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jwi45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickWright715, General Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear Guest,

Here at Royal Albion hotel, we strive to provide an exemplary level of customer satisfaction.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope that you choose Royal Albion during your visit to Brighton.

Thank you for taking the time to write to me regarding your recent stay with us.

We value all feedback we receive, both positive and negative, in order that we can improve and maintain our product and service.

Yours sincerely,

Nick Wright HCIMA
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel over the past 18 or 20 years and simply love it - the location is the best in Brighton and the hotel is huge and spacious with very good staff. I don't know what some others who review this hotel want for this sort of money because this place is a true bargain and what it lacks in squeaky clean newness it more than makes up for in character and location. Be honest, if this hotel was as luxurious and new as you would want it to be, you wouldn't be able to afford to stay there! You can't beat being able to walk out of the front door of the hotel and stroll along the prom or the pier within minutes - or if the weather is bad, sit in the lounge and watch the sea and the people from the comfort of the best and busiest corner in the whole town. Love this hotel for what it is and appreciate being able to stay somewhere so lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view for a few quid extra - the view is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickWright715, General Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thankyou for your kind comments,
We strive to provide the best possible service to all of our guests.
Im am pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Kind Regards

Nick Wright
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Hmmm . . . . We booked a 3 night wine & dine special here from the 26/10/12 to the 29/10/12 and for the price paid we felt it was very good value, we booked an executive double sea view room ( 317 ) with jacuzzi bath which was great !.The restaurant is little more than a self service canteen however we felt all the food was of a reasonable quality with enough choice for us.

As other visitors have noticed - this hotel is a little tired & could do with some reinvestment but overall it's functional & good value, we found all the staff helpful & welcoming.

The major attraction of this hotel is undoubtedly its position - practically opposite the pier with all of Brightons attractions within walking distance, the only downside to the position is that the sea facing rooms overlook the A259 which is a busy road with some road noise is noticeable from the room, although this didn't really bother us.

In conclusion, for a short break to Brighton - this hotel fulfilled our needs.

Room Tip: Book an executive sea facing double with jacuzzi bath !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickWright715, General Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent comments.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Royal Albion.
We strive to provide an exemplary level of customer service to all our guests.

As a city centre hotel we are in the heart of Brighton’s night life. We have rooms which are on street level and I can appreciate that disturbance would have been caused by the neighbouring bus station and the public.
We hope you choose Royal Albion hotel during your next visit to Brighton.

Yours Sincerely

Nick Wright
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.2 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
2,316 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
846 reviews
0.7 mi away
West Beach Hotel
West Beach Hotel
#36 of 43 in Brighton
360 reviews
1.3 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#28 of 43 in Brighton
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton

Address: 35 Old Steine, Brighton BN1 1NT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: $52 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Albion Hotel in Brighton is a Regency Style Hotel built in 1826 which offers a warm and friendly environment in a premier position directly opposite Brighton Pier. So, if you are looking for a seafront hotel in Brighton, you won't get much closer than this. Facing the sea, it's right at the heart of the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing