We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
Ranked #40 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
ashford, kent
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Never Again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Just spent 3 nights at the Royal Albion. Reception staff slow, sent to room (420) which hadn't been fully prepared. Evidence of water ingress over window with deeply stained wallpaper. Terrible smell in bathroom and corridors. Carpetpet torn. No view from window and constant noise from ducting outside of window which went on all night. Tried to change room but no luck. Website describes rooms as eloquently furnished, so can only guess we were at wrong hotel. Breakfast arrangements were chaotic with guest having to wait for tables to be freed-up. Choice limited with dirty cups and saucers. Wouldn't stay here again or recommended to anyone.

Room Tip: Not sure there is one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyAshford_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickWright715, General Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is unfortunate that we did not provide the level of service usually afforded by our hotel on this occasion. Your comments have been forwarded to all heads of department in order that the issues you have reported can be investigated and any remedial action taken, immediately regarding rothe rooms.

The restaurant is our largest room in the hotel. We do spread the breakfast time over 3 hours (7am-10am) to give our guests a chance to go at different times. As it turns out occasionally guests will head down at the same time, hence it gets slightly overcrowded.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointment and discomfort you experienced, but thank you for taking the time and trouble to write to us with your very useful comments.

Yours sincerely,

Nick Wright HCIMA
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    495
    579
    492
    1,054
See reviews for
347
1,195
146
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (762)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bolton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed there for 5 days in October. Excellent location - walk out onto the promenade, pier. Is so close to the Royal Pavilion, Art Gallery, the Lanes, shops etc. Food was better than just acceptable - chef provided plenty of variety for dinner buffet, breakfast buffet always good. Staff polite and helpful. It is a listed building. Large airy lounge. Quieter room to sit or tv bar. Bedroom - ours was perfectly acceptable, clean etc. If Britannia spent loads of money refurbishing it, you'd be talking about spending 3or 4 times more to stay there in a prime location. I for one would prefer shabby chic and VALUE FOR MONEY!! Stop moaning about it or go somewhere else costing a lot more. Why expect 5* luxury? You get what you pay for in life.

Room Tip: Think rooms on back are near a night club, we weren't effected by it but think others were.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jwi45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickWright715, General Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Here at Royal Albion hotel, we strive to provide an exemplary level of customer satisfaction.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope that you choose Royal Albion during your visit to Brighton.

Thank you for taking the time to write to me regarding your recent stay with us.

We value all feedback we receive, both positive and negative, in order that we can improve and maintain our product and service.

Yours sincerely,

Nick Wright HCIMA
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel over the past 18 or 20 years and simply love it - the location is the best in Brighton and the hotel is huge and spacious with very good staff. I don't know what some others who review this hotel want for this sort of money because this place is a true bargain and what it lacks in squeaky clean newness it more than makes up for in character and location. Be honest, if this hotel was as luxurious and new as you would want it to be, you wouldn't be able to afford to stay there! You can't beat being able to walk out of the front door of the hotel and stroll along the prom or the pier within minutes - or if the weather is bad, sit in the lounge and watch the sea and the people from the comfort of the best and busiest corner in the whole town. Love this hotel for what it is and appreciate being able to stay somewhere so lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view for a few quid extra - the view is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickWright715, General Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for your kind comments,
We strive to provide the best possible service to all of our guests.
Im am pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Kind Regards

Nick Wright
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ammanford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Hmmm . . . . We booked a 3 night wine & dine special here from the 26/10/12 to the 29/10/12 and for the price paid we felt it was very good value, we booked an executive double sea view room ( 317 ) with jacuzzi bath which was great !.The restaurant is little more than a self service canteen however we felt all the food was of a reasonable quality with enough choice for us.

As other visitors have noticed - this hotel is a little tired & could do with some reinvestment but overall it's functional & good value, we found all the staff helpful & welcoming.

The major attraction of this hotel is undoubtedly its position - practically opposite the pier with all of Brightons attractions within walking distance, the only downside to the position is that the sea facing rooms overlook the A259 which is a busy road with some road noise is noticeable from the room, although this didn't really bother us.

In conclusion, for a short break to Brighton - this hotel fulfilled our needs.

Room Tip: Book an executive sea facing double with jacuzzi bath !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickWright715, General Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent comments.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Royal Albion.
We strive to provide an exemplary level of customer service to all our guests.

As a city centre hotel we are in the heart of Brighton’s night life. We have rooms which are on street level and I can appreciate that disturbance would have been caused by the neighbouring bus station and the public.
We hope you choose Royal Albion hotel during your next visit to Brighton.

Yours Sincerely

Nick Wright
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Basically at the end of Brighton pier! The shore end! Have stayed here on numerous occasions and have never been dissappointed......of course if you pay such a low price you cant expect much! Down side is that the hotel is gradually falling apart and looks sad both inside and out. Rooms are not great but comfortable and cleanish. the carpet cleaning in rooms leaves alot to be desired ! Staff are helpful and breakfast is really good. reading the other reviews its clear people go expecting the 4* treatment but if thats what your looking for you will need to pay alot more and stay somewhere else. However we stay there because of the seaview and view of the pier plus its so close to the shops so we put up with the downsides and therefore never dissappointed!.

Room Tip: ask for the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gezspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickWright715, General Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent comments.
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Royal Albion.
We strive to provide an exemplary level of customer service to all our guests.
Your comments have been passed to the heads of each department so as the staff members involved are praised.
We hope you choose Royal Albion hotel during your next visit to Brighton.
Yours Sincerely

Nick Wright
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

dont go there the air conditioning only aloud and set when it works 6pm to 7pm each day, the place is dirty needs new carpets or at least a very good deep clean. The furniture is very old and some bits broken. I stayed with my new Husband for a few days honeymoon, we got there to be told could not check in until 3pm when the papers said 12 noon. We got in a room after compaining, it was like being in a fridge it was warmer outside the hotel. We were told we could have an elecric heater as we cold not use the aircon, we got upgraded free to a room with a spa bath the room was warm but the fixtures and fittings were as bad.
Staff were pleasant which was nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carpdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickWright715, General Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
I would first like to apologise for any delay in responding to your complaint; we take complaints made to the hotel seriously and value the time it takes to make such a complaint

It is regretful that on this occasion we were not able to offer the room type booked. Please be assured that this is not the usual standard of service provided at our hotel and we are deeply sorry that your enjoyment of Brighton was impacted.
Please be assured that the comfort and experience of our guests is our priority.
As a city centre hotel we are in the heart of Brighton’s night life. We have rooms which are on street level and I can appreciate that disturbance would have been caused by the neighbouring bus station and the public.
Thank you for taking the time to write to me regarding your recent stay with us.

We value all feedback we receive, both positive and negative, in order that we can improve and maintain our product and service.

kind regards

Nick Wright
Operations Manager (HCIMA)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

chichester
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

This must have been a great hotel in its time but sadly not now . Once you accept that we found it ok staff were great food in the canteen ok but noise from sea view room not good . We must have been above club but still managed to sleep after bottle wine . Room large and clean but tired . What the hotel has is good staff who looked after us well .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clint58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickWright715, General Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

As a city centre hotel we are in the heart of Brighton’s night life. We have rooms which are on street level and I can appreciate that disturbance would have been caused by the neighbouring bus station and the public.

Thank you for your recent comments.
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Royal Albion.

We strive to provide an exemplary level of customer service to all our guests.

We hope you choose to stay at the Royal Albion hotel during your next visit to Brighton

Yours Sincerely

Nick Wright
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#21 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hostelpoint-Brighton
Hostelpoint-Brighton
#39 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
#27 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton

Property: Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
Address: 35 Old Steine, Brighton BN1 1NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Albion Hotel in Brighton is a Regency Style Hotel built in 1826 which offers a warm and friendly environment in a premier position directly opposite Brighton Pier. So, if you are looking for a seafront hotel in Brighton, you won't get much closer than this. Facing the sea, it's right at the heart of the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing