We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Hotel That Time and Manners Forgot” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
Ranked #40 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Hotel That Time and Manners Forgot”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2008

I could not believe what we had let ourselves in for, 1st room,you wouldn't keep skunks in it, 2nd room, non smoking, that stank of smoke, 3rd room not too bad, but considering we paid £20 pn extra, for a sea view, we expected more than a postage stamp window. As I have stated in my letter to the manager, they have taken self service to new hights, that B&Q could only dream of, the totally non existent table sevice really came into it's own on christmas day, the meal would not have been deemed good enough for assylum seekers, never mind paying guests. I particularily liked the Idea that in the hotel fried eggs were not part of a standard breakfast, they had to be requested, from the laughingly called chef, amazingly only 1 lift in a hotel with 185 rooms, total caos, morning and evenings.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank Victor5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    491
    572
    489
    1,045
See reviews for
342
1,184
144
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (754)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sourdeval, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2008

Lobby intially enticing but upholstery stained and torn, plastic statue with a missing arm, carpets everywhere in hotel need urgent steam cleaning. Room on 4th floor with NO lift working. Promise of repair, but nothing happened during our stay. Try walking up and down to the 4th floor for days. No one seems to care or be in control . Staff friendly and try but management defensive and rude. Mattresses in both our rooms had springs sticking up throught the top with questionable scotch type horse blanket and bedspread. Windows need cleaning and painting. Furniture old and varnished finish almost non existent. No water pressure 8.30 am for shower on 2nd floor. Breakfast Buffet is ample. Dinner buffet was like eating barely warm leather with overcooked vegetables. NO parking. NO elevator. No value for money. No fun.

  • Liked — location only
  • Disliked — everything except location
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Harry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2008

The reviews say it all. Don't bother staying here- it is grim beyond words. I usually use trip advisor and on this occasion I didn't. Never again!

  • Disliked — needs to be knocked down and rebuilt
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ian_in_bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2007

We booked this hotel with my boyfriend via our travel agency just two days before we went. We were really looking forward to go in Brighton for some "early Xmas!" We stayed there one night - a wonderful one! In the reception the staff was really helpful and friendly. Our room was in the third floor. A tight and clean room. Big and with all the facilities. The tv was working perfectly and generally i liked the sound of cars in the street late at night. The bathroom was clean and with 3 different kinds of soap, shower and gel etc. The bath and shower was working absolutely well. I think the only problem was that the room late at night was a bit cold. But they had extra blankets. The morning of the next day we went for breakfast. The breakfast was just ok. Not poor but not perfect. The Albion Hotel is in its own a very beautiful old building (look photo) ! At night is a real beauty! Generally, our stay was fantastic, especially if you consider the value of money! :)

  • Stayed December 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AndinaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagshot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2007

Unfortunately didn't check this site before I stayed at the weekend. Breakfast was particularly poor, with miserable, unhelpful and stroppy staff. Any sense of customer service was completely absent and the general atmosphere pervading the place seems to be that the paying guests are just a pain in the neck. I assume this stems from poor management as it was the general attitude throughout rather than specific staff.

It was also quite shocking to see how badly decorated and furnished the place is - especially as it must have been done fairly recently as they had a major fire a few years ago. Shame really, as its well located and could be a very nice building with a bit of care and attention.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no understanding of customer service
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank f-in-ada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2007

We booked the so called 'Superior Double Deluxe room' in this hotel under lastminute.com, it was so bad that we wonder what other non-deluxe rooms looked like. The 1930s decor looked like it hasnt been cleaned since 1930s and the breakfast was like dog food.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank lemonjuiceLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2007

If only I had found this site before I booked the hotel! The place is a complete shabby mess, and the staff are useless, rude and unfriendly. The breakfast was rubbish, and our room was drafty, had a broken window and damaged mattresses. Better to sleep in your car than pay to go there!! DON'T BOOK IT!!

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank halo_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#15 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,088 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#22 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
#27 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#18 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton

Property: Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
Address: 35 Old Steine, Brighton BN1 1NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Albion Hotel in Brighton is a Regency Style Hotel built in 1826 which offers a warm and friendly environment in a premier position directly opposite Brighton Pier. So, if you are looking for a seafront hotel in Brighton, you won't get much closer than this. Facing the sea, it's right at the heart of the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing