We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another Great Review!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Garden Flat

Patio area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Patio area
Kitchen and dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Patio area
Kitchen and dining area
Bedroom 1
Outside seating / patio area
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Outside seating area access from lounge
Bathroom
Cycle accoss downs to county town of lewes.
South downs way.
view of brighton from the south downs
On the South downs
The Royal Pavillion, Brighton
Regency Architecture, Brunswick Square.
Brighton seafront
Brighton Seafront
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Brighton, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Pirate207...
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Another Great Review!”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I spent two weeks at the flat after Christmas, with my two daughters. A great flat, comfortable, attractively decorated and spotlessly clean. Inclusions were all good quality and beds comfortable. In spite of the freezing, wet weather it was warm and cosy and on arrival the fresh flowers and Christmas tree were a thoughtful touch. The area is good and away from the sometimes noisy, unpredictable, centre. There is a Sainsbury’s just down the road and a small selection of shops at Fiveways nearby. The kitchen is well equipped and easy to cook in and the local pub does good food and is just a short distance away. It takes about 20 minutes to walk into Brighton centre, but we liked that and if you don’t want that much exercise, several buses leave regularly from the bottom of the road and are there in less than ten minutes. The owners live upstairs and were charming and helpful. All in all, a great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of amenities
Liked least: Patchy wifi
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 20, 2014
Thank you, so glad you enjoyed your stay here and it was a pleasure to meet you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LadyDilbe...
Duxbury, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
“We'd Be Proud to Own It”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

This is the nicest rental property of our long travel history. It is a tastefully-decorated mostly white light and airy welcoming lower-ground floor Victorian conversion including a private patio with a Weber barbecue and a relaxing seating area set in an abundantly landscaped garden. Inside there is a beautifully-fitted kitchen equipped with everything you could need. The bedroom is large, light and comfy with two large wardrobes in addition to dresser drawers. The respectful owners have thought of everything down to the glassware, pottery and lovely curtains that make each room feel like home. And they were always available to answer questions and offer suggestions.

Parking is on the street but we never had to walk more than a few metres. However car not necessary as you can get everywhere in Brighton by buses which are frequent, and several bus stops are within a few minutes' walk of the flat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: walking in :)
Liked least: nothing comes to mind
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 3, 2013
Hi, Thank you so much for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay in 'Halcyon'. Bruce and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate1267
Oxfordshire
1 review
“A fantastic garden flat, immaculately presented and warm and friendly owner.”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

My daughter and I spent a wonderful 3 days in this garden flat. It was very spacious, beautifully decorated and had everything you could possibly need for a truly comfortable and effortless stay.
Bruce was very welcoming and friendly and we immediately felt at home there. We really didn't want to leave but now we have discovered this little gem we will return for future stays in Brighton.
Many thanks Bruce and Julie.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout and decor.
Liked least: not applicable
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2013
It was great to meet you both and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here and that the flat was comfortable for you both. Thank you for reviewing the flat, we very much look forward to meeting you again next time you stay in Brighton.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jokiernan
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful flat in a lovely location, away from the hustle and bustle of the main strip but still central!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Bruce was extremely accommodating to our short notice requests which was refreshing! Flat is beautifully presented, surprisingly spacious and has a lovely small but perfectly formed garden! Situated 10 mins by car/bus from Brighton Pier and only a 5 min walk from Preston Park, the location is ideal, giving you the feel of Brighton but away from the craziness of the city centre! We would definitely recommend this rental for a getaway and we hope to visit again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The interior and garden
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 12, 2013
Thank you, We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay here, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacquiAnt...
Antrim
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect Holiday Retreat”
Reviewed January 30, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Staying for two nights in Brighton to meet up with family I found the perfect apartment. Booking was so easy and the owners done everything to accommodate me. The apartment was more than I expected after a long day sightseeing in Brighton it was the perfect place to come back to so clean, spacious and elegant . Myself and my family could not have asked for more and will be returning. Thank you guys for helping us have a great weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen and Bedrooms
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aitch61
Sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Practically perfect near Preston Park”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We were looking for a base for a two-week stay in Brighton and frankly we couldn't have made a better choice. The flat is lovely - fresh looking, clean and warm, with everything you could need. It was such a pleasure to stay there. The location is good - very handy for buses into the city centre and with Preston Park just one street away. Best of all, the owners, Julie and Bruce were so friendly and helpful. We would recommend it without hesitation and can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having a clean, comfortable, lovely place to stay.
Liked least: The wi-fi and mobile phone reception wasn't good but this isn't unusual in Brighton.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 4, 2013
Thanks Howard, so pleased you had a good stay here, we look foward to seeing you all again.

Regards Bruce
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 15, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2012
Thank you, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing