We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cavalaire”
Review of Cavalaire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cavalaire Hotel
Ranked #5 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This place was amazing, the accommodation was excellent, the bed was extremely confutable. Lots of local shops and lots to do. 5 minute walk down to the pier. The owners made us feel very welcomed. Breakfast was excellent and very filling. We will definately be going back again soon. Loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe72233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (942)
There are newer reviews for Cavalaire Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 942 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2014

This is a really lovely, comfortable guest house with lovely decor and wonderful hosts in a great location. I hope to go back again and again. The owners, Garry and Derek, are both very hospitable. They make you feel very welcome and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast was excellent. The proximity to the beach and the centre of Brighton means we could ditch the car all weekend - and they even arranged parking next to the hotel at a reasonable price - which is an added extra bonus and meant we didn't have lug bags for miles. We simply arrived, ditched our stuff and got on with our weekend, leaving with plenty of tips on things to do and places to eat. The perfect stay with the perfect hosts - what more can I say guys - well done - we'll be back!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alj149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Stayed in this lovely bed and breakfast on a girlie weekend.Spotless room everything there to make life comfortable,iron hairdryer umbrellas ect.The bed and pillows were so good .Breakfast was superb with lovely service.Our room was a little small but that was our fault when we booked we booked for a single person and all the other rooms were taken.You could not ask for better hosts nothing was too much trouble from greeting us with a glass if wine when we arrived to booking restaurants whenever we asked.Definately worth another visit.

Room Tip: If two of you check room size although bear in mind this is a house lovely at that
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 108gretchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

What more can I say ? Everything about the hotel was indeed superb. Spotlessly clean room. Great location. The hosts Garry and Derek are really friendly funny guys. This was our first (but not last) visit to Brighton and we were pointed in the right direction. Cannot wait to re-visit and Garry cooks one mean breakfast !!!! Loved it x

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alitern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner had never been to Brighton so booked this for 2 nights as it looked lovely. The owners are lovely and the service was amazing. Our room was beautiful! Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay! Will definitely book again!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Becca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Cavalaire. Derek and Garry were very hospitable and and warm. We enjoyed the terrific breakfasts and the beautiful room. It was the perfect base for our weekend in Brighton. Derek also gave us some very good restaurant recommendations. We had a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

From the first phone call to departure we found Derek and Garry the most considerate of people. The accommodation was of a very high standard and obviously thought through in great detail. The décor was warm yet fresh, with personality - nothing corporate here!
Generous breakfast and an abundant supply of tea, coffee and (fresh!) milk in the room.
Breakfast time conversation was relaxed with Derek a most welcome and engaging presence throughout.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank F e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
825 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#18 of 43 in Brighton
2,203 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 43 in Brighton
2,240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Brighton Blue
Red Brighton Blue
#2 of 94 in Brighton
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalaire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalaire Hotel

Address: 34 Upper Rock Gardens | Kemp Town, Brighton BN2 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: $131 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavalaire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Four Star Guest Accommodation. Deluxe, stylish Bed and Breakfast Boutique Guest House in a central location. Built in 1888 this Victorian House refurbished to a very high standard. Gold Award from Visit Britain / Enjoy England for the past 8 years. Breakfast award from Visit Britain / Enjoy England for the past 6 years. Individually styled rooms with contemporary furnishings and fabrics. Each room has an en suite shower room with basin and wc. All our rooms also offer the following facilities: Luxury toiletries • luxury hand towels and bath sheets • extra large duvets to lose yourself in • Mini-Fridge • 32 inch flat panel television with freeview and radio (22 inch in Standard room) • DAB Digital/FM Radio with iPod Docking Station radio alarm clock in some rooms • professional hairdryer • Luxury Beverage tray • iron and ironing board • free wireless internet access • non-smoking • breakfast optional • discount for single occupancy on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cavalaire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing