We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter eggstavaganza at The Cavalaire!!!”
Review of Cavalaire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cavalaire Hotel
Ranked #5 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at The Cavalaire during easter bank holiday.
On arrival we were warmly greeted by a very cheery and cheeky Derek who immediately put us both at ease whilst helping with our bags and assisting with the parking directly outside.
(Which they kindly organised a day prior to our arrival via a phone call)
We were taken to our room (room 3) which was wonderfully charming and full of exotic character. On a table in the centre of the room were some fresh flowers which I was informed were mine to enjoy for the duration of the stay and to take home with me when we left. There were also two Lindt chocolate bunnies for us to enjoy due to it being Easter.
What a wonderful touch!
The room itself was very clean and tidy, spacious and had every amenity you would expect in a 4 star. Hair dryer, iron and board, fridge, tea and coffee making facilities (with a very extensive range of teas), iPod dock and tv.
The ensuite bathroom was again spotlessly clean very modern with a double walk in shower. Shampoo, conditioner and general bathroom essentials were all provided.
The hotel itself had a very homely cosy feel to it, with a sunny breakfast room and snug area.
The award winning breakfast was definitely award winning! A full English was had on day 1, and wow! I've never seen a plate so full of excellently cooked fresh and good quality produce.
The poached eggs were the best I've ever had.... Full credit to Garry the chef!
There was even a bunch of little Easter eggs under our coffee cups..... Again another wonderful touch that makes your stay here very memorable.
Nothing was too much trouble for either Derek or Garry, they seem to have already thought of everything to make a stay here an enjoyable one.
What lovely people.... Lets not forget Buffy the dog too!
We were greeted with a chilled glass of wine and a lovely chat with Derek and Garry after a long afternoon out and about in Brighton one day. They have thoughtfully provided a map of local restaurants, bars and cafes that they recommend. The bustling St James Street is literally just around the corner and this will take you directly into the town centre. Just a mere 5 minutes walk away.
The sea front is even closer..... The location was perfect!
All in all we had a wonderful stay here and would absolutely return.
Highly recommended

Room Tip: Room 3 excellent sized double with four poster bed and ensuite bathroom with large double walk in sh...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charleygardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (942)
There are newer reviews for Cavalaire Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

443 - 449 of 942 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at The Cavalaire in April 2014, where we were greeted with a very warm and homely welcome by Garry, who made us a lovely cup of tea and chocolate biscuits on arrival - a great start to our stay in Brighton. He then gave us lots of useful information about places to visit, restaurants and events happening that weekend.
Our room was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed - a lovely, comfy bed and modern en suite. Nothing was too much trouble for Derek and Garry, who were the perfect hosts.We will definitely go back here again! Take the risk out of the accommodation lottery and book here for peace of mind. 5 minutes walk to sea front and pier.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Just got back from a lovely weekend here. We were made very welcome by Derek and Garry and were upgraded to a room with a 4 poster bed, which was so clean and comfortable, as was the whole place. Breakfast is perfect with loads of choices for every taste. The location is great, 5 mins to seafront and Pier and the Lanes 15 mins. Would definitly stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7, it had a4 poster bed and was spacious.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed at the Cavalaire Hotel for two nights in a really nice room. The welcome from Derek and Gary, including chocolate biscuits, was much appreciated. The hotel is tastefully decorated, the room was lovely, quiet, clean and comfortable. Very well positioned for the seafront or shopping. When visiting Brighton, we haven't yet gone back to the same hotel twice but we would like to stay at the Cavalaire again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Had a lovely stay here, from the moment we walked in until the moment we left. So welcoming. Breakfast was amazing. It really is home from home, well presented and very very clean. Gary, Derek and Buffy are lovely. Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenhlj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Cavalaire in September for two nights in a standard room. We arrived after a very stressful journey from Manchester to a warm welcome from Derek and a glass of wine.

We then wanted to go for dinner so Derek presented us with a map of Brighton with all the restaurants, bars etc highlighted and gave us some great recommendations. We then had a great nights sleep and an amazing breakfast!
The location is perfect, a short 5 minute walk to the sea and all the shops and restaurants. I felt as if we were staying with friends not in a B and B. Derek and Gary were wonderful hosts and I will definitely stay there again next time I'm in Brighton.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Derek and Garry made my Mum and me feel at home and were very hospitable during our stay. Our room was clean and had everything we needed and more for our stay. The beds were very comfortable and the breakfast superb. The location is excellent - just off St James's street. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kath A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
827 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,246 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#18 of 43 in Brighton
2,212 reviews
0.0 mi away
No. 27 Brighton Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalaire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalaire Hotel

Address: 34 Upper Rock Gardens | Kemp Town, Brighton BN2 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: $132 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavalaire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Four Star Guest Accommodation. Deluxe, stylish Bed and Breakfast Boutique Guest House in a central location. Built in 1888 this Victorian House refurbished to a very high standard. Gold Award from Visit Britain / Enjoy England for the past 8 years. Breakfast award from Visit Britain / Enjoy England for the past 6 years. Individually styled rooms with contemporary furnishings and fabrics. Each room has an en suite shower room with basin and wc. All our rooms also offer the following facilities: Luxury toiletries • luxury hand towels and bath sheets • extra large duvets to lose yourself in • Mini-Fridge • 32 inch flat panel television with freeview and radio (22 inch in Standard room) • DAB Digital/FM Radio with iPod Docking Station radio alarm clock in some rooms • professional hairdryer • Luxury Beverage tray • iron and ironing board • free wireless internet access • non-smoking • breakfast optional • discount for single occupancy on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Cavalaire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing