We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B house Cavalaire”
Review of Cavalaire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cavalaire Hotel
Ranked #5 of 93 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Petrinja, Croatia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great B&B house Cavalaire”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Such a good experience in that B&B with great hosts by Derek and Garry, breakfasts are best and rooms are clean and like at home :) Thank you for everything, Brighton was a such a great experience and trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VedranCRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    828
    71
    5
    3
    10
See reviews for
100
578
29
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the Cavalaire this past weekend and I can honestly say it was arguably the friendliest hotel I have experienced. Garry and especially Derek were truly wonderful hosts but with that certain 'je ne sais quoi' extra! The rooms lacked nothing and the breakfasts - well, what can I say? - delicious! The hotel is very central to all the amenities and what is more, has parking spaces to rent by the night. I shall be returning to Brighton in the future and The Cavalaire will be my first stop!. Deb B

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deborah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandeilo, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed recently for a weekend and greeted by Derek and Garry, Found them to be be very friendly ,good humoured and informative about the surrounding area.Helped with bags to our room and overall a great start. Its difficult to be critical as they are both very nice people who are passionate and proud of their business and rightly so. But the overall feeling regarding the rooms were that we felt they were a little overpriced. But the bed was very comfortable and i'm fussy! Breakfast was perfect as was the attention you receive from Derek. He tends to hover a lot but his intentions are always best placed!! And overall he's the type of guy you would be happy to have as a friend. I would recommend the Cavalaire as it is miles ahead of some of the rat runs i've stayed in at Brighton.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anton e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Returned home last weekend. What a fantastic week we had. Want to say a massive thankyou to Derek and Garry for making it so worthwhile. We couldnt have picked a nicer place to stay. The room was lovely, we had the one with the four poster bed. Breakfasts were amazing, cooked to perfection, presented beautifully and nothing was too much trouble. When we first got there Derek sat us down, gave us a map, and marked on the map places that he suggested to eat, which was very helpful. The sun shone all week which just completed the holiday. We would definately go back again, and recommend the hotel to others. Thanks again Derek, Garry and all the other staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at Cavalair hotel with my colleagues for four nights. Hotel is located 15 minutes from city centre and is very easy to reach. Derek and Gary are really nice hosts and we were very satisfy with hospitality. Rooms are clean and nice only bathroom is small. Internet connection was great. Breakfast is THE BEST. If you visiting Brighton you should take this hotel

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magalor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2012

just returned after 5 days at the cavalaire.we had a great time.derek and garry were fantastic hosts.and could not do enough for us.the room was clean.and bed very comfortable.breakfast excellent the hotel is close to the beach and shops and restaurants.will defiantly be going back there.its the best hotel we have stayed in brighton......

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2012

First time back to Brighton in 48yrs,thoroughly enjoyed it.
Hotel is clean and comfortable,on arrival we were met by Derek who gave us an upgraded room at no extra cost (the 4 poster bed room 7).
Derek,Garry and their staff are a credit to their dedication for customer satisfaction and nothing was too much trouble.
Derek pointed us in the right direction for all the good restaurants.
The Breakfast were excellent with good selections of cereals,fruit and cooked food.
The Hotel is 2mins walk to the beach and a leisurely walk to the shops.
We would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants good old fashioned great service with a smile.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
804 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
7,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,578 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 44 in Brighton
2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalaire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalaire Hotel

Property: Cavalaire Hotel
Address: 34 Upper Rock Gardens | Kemp Town, Brighton BN2 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavalaire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Four Star Guest Accommodation. Deluxe, stylish Bed and Breakfast Boutique Guest House in a central location. Built in 1888 this Victorian House refurbished to a very high standard. Gold Award from Visit Britain / Enjoy England for the past 8 years. Breakfast award from Visit Britain / Enjoy England for the past 6 years. Individually styled rooms with contemporary furnishings and fabrics. Each room has an en suite shower room with basin and wc. All our rooms also offer the following facilities: Luxury toiletries • luxury hand towels and bath sheets • extra large duvets to lose yourself in • Mini-Fridge • 32 inch flat panel television with freeview and radio (22 inch in Standard room) • DAB Digital/FM Radio with iPod Docking Station radio alarm clock in some rooms • professional hairdryer • Luxury Beverage tray • iron and ironing board • free wireless internet access • non-smoking • breakfast optional • discount for single occupancy on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Cavalaire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing