We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel, great locations, superb service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Grand Brighton
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, great locations, superb service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

Stayed for five days in the Josephine Suite on the top floor of the hotel. Very quiet room with excellent amenities and huge living area. The chambermaids do an excellent job of maintaining the room and refreshed all the relevant areas. Everyday, we had fresh water, biscuits etc. The hotel itself, although old and starting to look a little tired (but nowhere near ready for a refurb), is lovely. The grand staircase is a wonder. The staff and service levels are superb and the breakfast is one of the best we've had for a long time - there's just about everything available. The only disappointment was the evening dinner. Food was okay, nothing exciting, but the menu presentation was uninspired and it just didn't feel very luxurious. Everything was an optional extra – chocolates with coffee, hot bread on arrival, even a vegetable with your main course (seriously, no green at all on the main course plate). Still, plenty of great restaurants a short walk away (lovely Greek one called Stakis – turn right out of the hotel, past the Hilton and there it is, down some steps). Jamie Oliver’s Italian is also less than 200 metres away. Please note, if you haven’t been to Brighton before, it only has a pebble beach – not a grain of sand in sight. That said, there’s a free kids play area around 200 metres away from the hotel which has a shallow pool and huge sandpit, slides, climbing frames etc.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NottmLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,110
    1,892
    996
    457
    221
See reviews for
1,146
3,519
178
691
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,104)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chesterfield
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Grand in Brighton for 3 days after we got married in July 2010 and had the most wonderful time! The staff were really friendly and helpful and always smiling, the room had everything you needed and was really comfortable. We didnt have a seaview but were out of the hotel most of the time. We had breakfast each morning and there was something to suit everyones taste. Great selection of cereals, yoghurts, dried fruit, fruit salad, followed by whatever you like from the full english section or choose from smoked salmon with eggs benedict etc etc from the main menu then danish pastries and muffins to finish!! wow!!! The evening meal on the first night was also delicious, we had a £25 pp allowance in the deal we booked and were able to choose from about 4 different things. The cheapest bottle of red wine was about £30, nice but a little expensive but for the standard of the hotel, this is about average. We really had a wonderful time and would definatly return!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank verypink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

We had a dinner bed and breakfast package for our one night stay at The Grand. The dinner was in The King's Restaurant, which I have reviewed on their page, http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Restaurant_Review-g186273-d1381224-Reviews-The_King_s_Restaurant-Brighton_East_Sussex_England.html

We were welcomed at The Grand by a very loud piano, which was being played by their resident pianist. This made hearing the front desk staff difficult. We were allowed to check in thirty minutes early without fuss.

The hotel, as the name suggests, is very Grand in stature. With all that you would expect from an old style building such as this.

We had a sea view room. It was a little scuffed in places, but this should not detract. The bed was rather big, and very comfortable. The bathroom was modern, clean and of a very good size (in fact the toilet was in a room within the bathroom). A coffee table with two chairs were in the bay window overlooking the sea; the bay window also gave access to the balcony. Free wired internet. The TV was a little dated, but supplied PS2 and movies on demand as well as the five TV channels, with Sky Sports and Nick. The room had a fridge, but corkage fees apply

Breakfast provided a very good selection of both continental and cooked styles (a chef was on hand to fry your eggs while you waited), with smoothies and juices. Plenty of tea and coffee was brought to our table. We ordered breakfast from the table menu, although a little slow to arrive it was definitely worth the wait. One poached egg with haddock, and one egg Benedict with salmon did not disappoint.

When we checked out, the concierge was more than happy to look after our bags for a few hours.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rjs6Pint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

Our stay was a Grand disappointment from start to finish. Arrived at 13.30 to be told check in is at 15.00. Have checked the web site and can not find this anywhere. Kept waiting right up to 15.00 before we were given a room! Then the air con was broken but when you opened the window the plant for the entire hotel was right outside. Engineer came to repair the air con but not able to. They said we would be moved to another room and apparently checked 5 more rooms and all had broken air con. Finally after we went to the reception we were given a room at the front that also had a broken air con unit so the noise of traffic kept us awake all night. When I spoke to Sandra Flannigan, a Customer relations manager, she was very unfriendly and said that we "should not expect air con in a five star hotel". That we were kept waiting until 16.20 to actually get to our final room was according to her our fault. The room we did get was very outdated with broken tiles in the bathroom peeling wallpaper in the bedroom and faded brown furniture that only added to the gloom. Plus I am sure the jumble of wires knotted together behind the desk must be a fire hazard. Bumped into Ms Flannigan again in the morning and pointed this out to her when she asked only to be told that again this was our fault and we would have been happier if we booked to stay after the hotel is refurbished! Found her attitude rather rude and baffling. Enjoy your trip to Brighton by staying away from this hotel, I know I will.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gerardoshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branksome
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2010

Everything about this hotel and our stay was fantastic, relaxed and more well worth the extra money to stay in such a fantastic hotel, no more to say.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SPMBranksome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2010

This trip was for my mum's 50th birthday and everyone at The Grand made it so perfect for us. Sandra Flannigan, the manager, could not have done more for us. The concierge Colin and Sean were so lovely and helped us out so much - bags, taxis, advice on where to go for meals. Sandra called thr restaurant we were at to let them know it was a special birthday and they had a cake ready! The man that cleaned our room was lovely and so polite. Thank you to The Grand!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eve000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2010

We booked two nights on the special offer rate and our room was something from the 1980s, with chipped bath enamel and stained old tiles on the bathroom floor. The dark old wood gives an outdated feel, and some of the paintwork is chipped and worn looking. The rooms we had (2 x ) would be lucky to get a 3* rating. Clearly other rooms in the hotel are a lot better, but I am sure we could have done better for the 100 pounds per night elsewhere. On the plus side the staff are very helpful, and the breakfast was good but not stunning. This hotel needs a serious revamp to keep up with competition in the market. Take care of the 25 pounds per day parking charge also - if you add all this up its not good value.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oxford_UK_CO2Burner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#14 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,996 reviews
0.7 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Brighton

Property: The Grand Brighton
Address: 97-99 King's Road, Brighton BN1 2FW, England (Formerly The De Vere Grand Brighton)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Brighton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#4 Business Hotel in Brighton
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a truly remarkable hotel. An iconic Victorian building, it stands centre stage on the vibrant Brighton seafront and is a local landmark. Magnificent, imposing and the epitome of luxury. This is The Grand, Brighton. Following a recent extensive refurbishment, The Grand experience is one you will never forget. It's in the splendour of the 123 step sweeping staircase, the exquisite textures in the bedrooms, the delectable cuisine in GB1 restaurant and the sumptuous surroundings of The Spa at The Grand. It's in the stunning seaviews and the warmth with which you are welcomed. It's in its innate sense of style. The magnificent Grand is a popular location for films and television shows. Coronation Street, Eastenders and Only Fools and Horses have all shot episodes in the hotel. For the complete Brighton experience, it has to be The Grand, Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Grand Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The De Vere Grand Brighton Hotel Brighton
De Vere Grand Brighton
De Vere Grand Hotel Brighton
Brighton Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing