We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venue for a networking function”
Review of The Grand Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grand Brighton
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2014

I attended a two part networking meeting at The Grand Brighton earlier this week. The meeting was in the conservatory on one of the hottest days of the year so far. With all the blinds and shutters closed to block the glare and heat and with the doors open to encourage a through draft we managed. The venue is fabulous with sea views and a lovely set up in terms of flexibility in use of the room. The Grand is a lovely, prestigious venue and has recently become an independent hotel (not part of a chain or group). The Ladies Powder Room deserves a mention - gracious and spacious (an advantage of the big rooms in an old building). We had a great workshop in the morning and the hotel staff quickly turned the room around in half an hour flat for an afternoon tea - impressive. I found the staff we worked with were excellent in their responsiveness to requests for various things such as an extra table for the projector and more cold water, etc. I enjoyed my time there, thank you!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,965)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6,038 - 6,044 of 7,965 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights 11th & 12th June 2014 - what a mistake. While the rooms are ok and the location perfect the rudeness of everyone of the staff on the front desk was astonishing. First they messed up my reservation without an apology, then they simply refused to help me locate a travel plug adaptor (I'm from Australia) and then they put me in a different room meaning we had to wait for our bags to be relocated. In contrast the staff in the bar and restaurant were perfectly fine. Hotels must realise first impressions are important - and it would be a good idea to put staff on the front desk who understand basic English. Not recommended.

Room Tip: Avoid the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Well have to say that my wife booked this as a surprise and what an enjoyable one it was. We had a lovely room with very comfortable, king size bed and a nice sea view. The room was very comfortable and spacious with tea and coffee provided and a lovely bathroom with a very deep bath and 2 separate sinks and towelling robes provided. My wife had also booked us an aromatherapy massage in the hotel spa which was an amazing relaxing experience. Breakfast the following morning was great with a full range of cereals, fruit, toast, yoghurts, cheese, ham and usual English breakfast items as well as different fruit juices, tea and coffee. We hope to return to this hotel.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Previously staying at the grand ,I thought I and my wife would return for a one night break. It was a hot July day last weekend and the room given was like a sauna! On request for a room with air conditioning I was informed that the hotel had no air con rooms at all ! The window in the room only opened about 2 inches, the bed was hard and the pillows too soft . The door had a electronic key recognition system which I had to go down to reception 3 times because I couldn't access the room. And to top it all the hair dryer didn't work! Not a problem to me my made my wife moan. After mentioning all of this at checkout manager not really interested even left my email address but no contact from hotel staff. In all an overpriced establishment and as a regular to Brighton we have stayed at a lot better hotels on the seafront for less money and better stays

Room Tip: Try the Hilton metropole!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Wayne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel feels as if it carries a grandeur that has been engrained for years. We went there for an afternoon tea with family and it was a great location. There was a pianist, discreet service and a lovely view over the ocean. On a critical note it feels a little jaded in places from a bedroom/ breakfast pov, or perhaps it's because it's a chain rather than independently owned, but for an afternoon of bubbly with a soft couch and some classy live music it ticked the box.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank Jeremy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We visited Brighton yesterday and as usual our first stop is the bar in the Grand Hotel. As always the service was excellent and very friendly. We have stayed in the hotel on many occasions and would thoroughly recommend it although it is not the cheapest place it is well worth the cost.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

My boyfriend and I have just come back from a two night stay at the grand. There's lots to love about this hotel, the cocktails (made by the amazing paddy!) were the best we have ever had. The restaurant is superb .The breakfast is really good & the staff are some of the nicest we have ever met. Unfortunately the room was not, for £200 per night it was so small & closure phobic. It was hot & all we had was a fan on the desk. We tried opening the window but it didn't really do anything. So didn't really sleep very well, I'm going back to Brighton for a few nights with some girlfriends at the end of the month. And although I will defiantly take them there for the cocktails & warm welcome. I can't say I would recommend to them us staying there tho.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
2,314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Brighton

Address: 97-99 King's Road, Brighton BN1 2FW, England (Formerly The De Vere Grand Brighton)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Brighton
#4 Business Hotel in Brighton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: $129 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a truly remarkable hotel. An iconic Victorian building, it stands centre stage on the vibrant Brighton seafront and is a local landmark. Magnificent, imposing and the epitome of luxury. This is The Grand, Brighton. Following a recent extensive refurbishment, The Grand experience is one you will never forget. It's in the splendour of the 123 step sweeping staircase, the exquisite textures in the bedrooms, the delectable cuisine in GB1 restaurant and the sumptuous surroundings of The Spa at The Grand. It's in the stunning seaviews and the warmth with which you are welcomed. It's in its innate sense of style. The magnificent Grand is a popular location for films and television shows. Coronation Street, Eastenders and Only Fools and Horses have all shot episodes in the hotel. For the complete Brighton experience, it has to be The Grand, Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Grand Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The De Vere Grand Brighton Hotel Brighton
De Vere Grand Brighton
De Vere Grand Hotel Brighton
Brighton Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing