We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of The Grand Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Brighton
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We have just returned from the most amazing weekend in Brighton. Myself and 46 friends stayed for two nights to celebrate my forthcoming wedding. The rooms were spotlessly clean, the breakfast was lovely and the atmosphere was amazing. The Grand had a real fun feel to it. The bar area was buzzing with people and the lovely bar snacks were superb. The beds were lovely and comfortable. Air con would have been good.. The best thing of all though was the staff. Absolutely everyone we spoke to was friendly and couldn't do enough for us. We were all saying this on the way home on the bus. David on the door was a scream and such fun. Good staff make a trip memorable and the staff at the Grand certainly did that.
Only one negative point. - the shower in the room wasn't very powerful.
Really want to return especially as they take dogs. X

Room Tip: The rooms with a sea view were perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saradavies2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you for your recent review.

I am delighted that you selected to stay at The Grand Brighton for your pre wedding celebrations. It must have been wonderful to get together with so many friends and family.

Thank you for your kind feedback on breakfast, the overall atmosphere within the hotel and the comfort of our guest rooms. Above all, it was a pleasure to read your comments relating to customer service. We are very lucky to have such a passionate, professional and personable team and it is always very rewarding to pass on positive feedback. I will make a special note to thank Dave, he is a really character and an asset to the concierge team.

I have noted your comment on the shower and the maintenance team will address this feedback.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back again in the future, perhaps with the dogs next time.

Regards
Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,602
    2,127
    1,080
    503
    239
See reviews for
1,328
3,972
208
787
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,144)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rangiora, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed my second afternoon tea here, took my mother who was on holiday here from New Zealand and we had a great time. Lovely seat overlooking the sea, fabulous service, amazing food and equally brilliant cup of old fashioned tea. Will definately be returning!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MistyW79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you for your recent feedback following your recent visit for afternoon tea.

I am pleased to hear you and your mother had another great experience. Within the last year we have added to our Afternoon Tea offering by introducing new teas, bespoke blended options and a new sets of crockery/stands, so it is wonderful to receive great feedback in this area.

I am particularly pleased you were able to enjoy the sea views in the terrace area, this really does add to the experience

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand Brighton again in the future.

Regards
Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Dunmow
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for a short break over 2 nights. We had booked a standard inland room, but were offered a sea view for an extra £23 per night. As the weather had suddenly taken a turn for for the better, we decided to take advantage of the sparkling sea view! The check in was busy, but the girls there were very efficient and friendly. Our room was spacious, clean and bright. It looked to me as if it had bern recently refurbished. However, I would have expected to have bathrobes and slippers supplied - neither of which were.apparently the robes were supposed to be in the wardrobe but presumably Housekeeping had not checked this. Slippers are 'available' on request from reception. Very strange! Why are they just not left in the room? The bathroom was large and clean but there was a complete lack of shelves or any other storage facilities. Where is one expected to put toiletries? In the shower there was absolutely nowhere to place the shower gl, except on the floor! The bedroom itself had a separate wardrobe/dressing area, which was lovely, but the main area lacked any drawers whatsoever, so everything had to be left on show, which made the room rather untidy. The bar area was extremely busy and we only managed to find a seat on one evening. However, it was lively and again the staff were excellent. Our room was very quiet, being at the end of a corridor, but I must say The Grand is one of the quietest hotels I have ever slept in! Breakfast was a buffet style, which is not to my liking, but the food was of a good standard and plentiful. Pleasant staff served tea and coffee. After checking out, we left our cases with the concierge whilst we had a few hours around Brighton. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: 5th floor at the front, but to the corner, seems like a very quiet option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wildhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you for your recent feedback.

I am pleased that you had a great stay and took the opportunity to upgrade to a sea view room. The views over the seafront really do add something special to a stay at The Grand and we are lucky that over 1/3 of our bedrooms offer sea views.

I am very sorry that the room was not prepared as it should have been. We will ensure this is addressed as these items should have been in place. Your feedback on the bathroom is also noted and these comments do help us to gather information on what is important to our guests.

Thank you once again for your kind compliments and I am pleased to hear that you would return in the future.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Regards
Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newhaven, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Went for a lovely afternoon tea yesterday with my wife for her 30th, along with her and my M&D. Lovely selection, lovely ambience and lovely environment. Very pricey at just under £30 each, but genuinely worth the cost for a wee bit of decadence!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewJHarvey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you for your recent review.

I am very pleased you enjoyed your partners 30th birthday celebrations at the hotel. Afternoon is definitely a wonderful option for special occasions.

I will pass on your kind words to our pastry chef and the lounge team, who will be delighted to hear your comments. The Afternoon Tea experience is very important to us and is one our most iconic and traditional luxuries.

We look forward to seeing you back at The Grand again soon.

Regards,
Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

To celebrate our 40th (Ruby) wedding anniversary my wife and I agreed that we would take a break to Brighton and treated ourselves to a stay in the Grand Hotel. The whole experience was was superb, the hotel was fantastic and our room first class with breathtaking sea views. Without doubt this was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in and if the opportunity arose again we would certainly return. The breakfast served each morning was delightful as was the meal we had in the hotel restaurant on one of our nights there. The Grand is a great hotel in a fantastic location and the staff are only too willing to offer assistance and help.

Room Tip: Although they can be expensive the sea view rooms are superb and well worth the extra expense, they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you for your recent feedback following your stay.

Firstly congratulations on your anniversary and I am delighted that you selected to celebrate such an occasion at The Grand Brighton.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay in one of our sea view rooms, the views really do make the difference.

Your compliments on the service, breakfast, dinner in GB1 restaurant and the overall experience will be passed onto the staff, who will be delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay.

We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Regards
Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

The bar is very grand at the grand and the prices are not for the faint hearted! Although they were not on the bar menu, the bar staff made me an expresso martini. And what an expresso martini it was. Ok it was £10 a pop but it was simply gorgeous, smooth and cheeky-the best in town

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Calamity999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you for your recent feedback following your recent visit.

I am very pleased you enjoyed the Espresso Martini’s in our Victoria Lounge and Bar. The whole lounge experience from the ambience and sea views to the table service and the delicious bar snacks included, really do add to the experience. You may also be interested to know that we offer a cocktail hour on Sun-Thurs from 5pm - 7pm, where a selection of our classic cocktails are just £5.

We have a very extensive drinks menu and our mixology team are very passionate in particularly about the cocktails we serve. The staff will be delighted to hear your kind words, which I will pass on to them.

We look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Regards
Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Datchet, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

I have been to the Grand Hotel before for a private visit but this time I was attending a conference near by so this was the best if not the cheapest option. Rooms are very tidy and clean. I did not have a sea view this time but could have upgraded if I had wanted to but chose not to. Decent bar if a bit too busy for the size of the hotel and excellent restaurant. Brighton has hundreds of restaurants so you don't have to dine there but it is great especially on the very wet nights we experienced during the conference.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArtRamirez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am pleased to hear that you had a good stay. We are lucky to be located so prominantly and the hotel is a fantasic base for both leisure and business guests visiting the Brighton centre.

Thanks for your feedback on the lounge and restaurant. We are very proud to be able to offer guests the option to spend their evening in the Victoria lounge and bar, as well as dine in GB1 Restaurant. The restaurant in particular has received fantastic reviews following its opening last year and really is a forerunner on the Brighton restaurant scene.

Thank you once again for your compliments. We look forward to seeing you back at The Grand again soon.

Regards
Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 43 in Brighton
2,162 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 43 in Brighton
2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Brighton

Property: The Grand Brighton
Address: 97-99 King's Road, Brighton BN1 2FW, England (Formerly The De Vere Grand Brighton)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Brighton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#4 Business Hotel in Brighton
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a truly remarkable hotel. An iconic Victorian building, it stands centre stage on the vibrant Brighton seafront and is a local landmark. Magnificent, imposing and the epitome of luxury. This is The Grand, Brighton. Following a recent extensive refurbishment, The Grand experience is one you will never forget. It's in the splendour of the 123 step sweeping staircase, the exquisite textures in the bedrooms, the delectable cuisine in GB1 restaurant and the sumptuous surroundings of The Spa at The Grand. It's in the stunning seaviews and the warmth with which you are welcomed. It's in its innate sense of style. The magnificent Grand is a popular location for films and television shows. Coronation Street, Eastenders and Only Fools and Horses have all shot episodes in the hotel. For the complete Brighton experience, it has to be The Grand, Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The De Vere Grand Brighton Hotel Brighton
De Vere Grand Brighton
De Vere Grand Hotel Brighton
Brighton Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing